We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowee!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wowee!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Basically I want to live here.

Quiet, understated. Perfection. The service is quit the food fantastic the conference rooms great and the staff exceptional.

Stay here once if you can. Great rooms amazing bathroom. Breakfast is great here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    240
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
381
727
151
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was absolutely incredible. We were upgrade to an amazing corner suite with incredible views over the whole city, a fabulous master bath with a rain shower, huge soaking tub with a picture window and impeccable service all around. The suite was very tastefully furnished and the amenities were outstanding. Every day, they brought us afternoon goodies, from various chocolates paired with exotic fruits to local cookies to delicious petit fours. The concierge personnel were extremely helpful and managed to get us into a couple of restaurants that are nearly impossible to get into. The buffet breakfast, which was included in our rate was outstanding and very high quality. We also had cocktails and snacks in the bar, which was a beautiful space and the ambiance delightful. After our experience here, this is the only property at which we would stay when visiting Tokyo in the future. It was truly a special, luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel has amazing views. Although we had a suite, which was almost 1000 sq. ft, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is actually built into an office building and has the top floors. You come into the hotel on the street level where there are shops, a train/subway station, a bakery etc and go to the 38th floor for the hotel reception area.This is the top floor and then you go down for the room. The rooms are a nice size, not too large but spacious. The views are spectacular...they take your breath away! The bathroom is roomy and contains all the amenities one would ever need. There is a sitting area , a king sized bed, a large screen TV and a bar. . Each day we got some delicious mandarin oranges left in our room by the maid. The weather was sunny but foggy or we would have been able to see Mt fuji from the hotel. The hotel is within a short stroll to the Ginza shopping area and the train/subway is under the hotel. We took it a quick few stops to Ueno Park one day! The hotel is immaculately clean and has a large staff who are always willing to answer questions, offer suggestions on things to do, rearrange your air when a plane is delayed or canceled, open the elevator for you, call a cab etc. We were able to walk all over from this location as it is very safe. The breakfast at the hotel consisted of made to order eggs, fruits, yogurt,meats, pastries and more and coffee was also made to order. Service was excellent and the main areas of the hotel : the bar, the tea/coffee area, the pizza bar were all excellent and the prices were not terribly inflated. Definitely a luxury hotel with great service and an excellent location.

Room Tip: There is no bad room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

A comfortable hotel in a great location,The staff was the best!!! They treated us like royalty. They always had smiles on their faces, always ready for recommendations for places to eat, how to get to various locations by taxi or train. I love Tokyo and would come back again and probably stay here just for the service that the staff gives. its simply the best for the short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Outstanding service is hard to pull off. Many top rated hotels try too hard with service and it comes off as forced or fake. The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo has the best service of any hotel we have ever stayed at... Here is why: Every member of the staff goes out of their way to be helpful without going over the top and making you feel uncomfortable or crowded. The check-in was flawless. We had ordered baseball tickets from a third party service and they were sitting on the desk in the room when we got in. The concierge was extremely helpful. We had the same server at breakfast for the 4 days we were there and it is hard to call him a server. By the end of our stay, I wanted to call him a friend! Whatever training Mandarin is doing is cut above the rest. The staff make you feel at home and meet every need while making the whole experience feel genuine.

As far as the hotel itself, the views are incredible, the restaurants are great and overpriced, and the location suited our needs very well. Let's go to the pros and cons:

Pros:

1. Service Service Service- we covered it above!
2. Stunning Rooms and View- We got a slight upgrade at checkin for being Platinum American Express members(see more below on that) and the view was awesome! We looked directly toward the Tokyo Sky Tree and had some amazing scenes day and night. The room was large and the bathroom was awesome. Although I haven't stayed at any other hotels in Tokyo as of yet, I cannot imagine a hotel with better rooms.
3. Location- The hotel is in Chuo, which is the heart of Finance in Tokyo. Some people complain that the location is not ideal, but we thought it was ideal. There is a Tokyo Metro station directly below the hotel which makes life easy. Tokyo is huge and we were concerned before going about the location, but having a close metro station makes life easy. We could walk to Ginza in 10-15 mins. There were some great close restaurants. You must go to the basement food court in the Mitsukoshi department store which is a 2 minute walk for the hotel. My wife died and went to Heaven in that place!

The best part about the location is this. Some parts of Tokyo never sleep or relax. It is hard to relax in a hotel that is in the middle of the action all the time. This location is relatively calm at night, which makes it very relaxing. A relaxing location is a premium in Tokyo....

4. Good Deal- this is not a cheap hotel by any stretch. Yet, we did get a fantastic package from American Express. For staying 4 nights, we got the 4th night free. Included with this deal was breakfast everyday and a $100 food and beverage credit for the stay. If you are staying for 4 days, check this offer out on the Amex website.

Cons:

Very hard to find any fault with the hotel. If i were to nitpick, I would say the breakfast buffet was a tad skimpy compared to other hotels of such a high level. The service at breakfast, however, was so good that is is very hard to find fault with it. They could improve selection, but the quality was high.

Awesome travel experience and my wife did not want to leave! I don't blame her one bit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed one of our best hotel stays at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. The level of service was exceptional, our room was all that we could have asked for and the quality and choice of restaurants was so good that we didn't eat outside the hotel during our stay. Each department of the hotel performed immaculately and left nothing to be desired.

A very satisfying experience, I wish I could say the same for other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is my second stay here , the first stay was 2 yrs ago and now two years later , i still say the same - Top class and one of the best

I travel a lot and i do frequent the finer Hotels and establishments . I have been to many beautiful and well built Hotels around the world. But the service levels at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo is beyond compare. I have said this in my previous review and i say this again

Quick overview :

Check in was a pleasure and a breeze.Assisted by Ms Asami Kikuchi .

Rooms - perfectly appointed and rather large , even by Asian standards

Bathroom - Clean and good with high quality toiletries. Large Tub . Everything you need is there . You could go there without any personal toiletries !! Combs , brush , tooth brush , razor , everything provided complimentary

Concierge
A great team to help you out during your trip . Without the concierge i would have spent hours on the computer trying to find my way around town . The Concierge was well staffed with knowledgeable ladies ,

i was usually served by Ms Masumi and Ms Sato , and their support was exemplary , thank you.

Just to give an example of the quality of service , ..... i asked them to buy me some tickets for the Kabuki show , so when they delivered the tickets to me , they provided me with the tickets , accompanied by a map to the theater , directions in Japanese , a 2/3 page write up on the story of the show ( downloaded from the internet ) , a print of the theater seat layout with our seats marked on it . All in an envelope - very professional - they think of everything


MOST IMPORTANT - Drinking water - they provide unlimited number of Mineral water bottles, in the room , at the reception , also at the bell desk on the ground floor hotel entrance , gym etc . I drink a lot of water and most other top hotels just provide one or 2 small bottles everyday in the room . Some do provide additional bottles on request , but in Mandarin Tokyo they somehow make it very easy to access

Bell Desk:
When you walk out of the Hotel the bell boys on the ground level are always willing to assist with bottles of water , or umbrellas depending on the type of weather . They advise you on what to expect from the weather today . The greatest assistance i received from them was giving directions to Taxi drivers ( many of which do not speak English ) , so all i had to do was sit in a cab and pay at the end , Also as you step out of the Hotel they will hand to you an address card of the Hotel , which they recommend you use to get back at the end of the day

4G Wifi Router
The hotel rents out a 4G wifi router which can connect upto 6 devices. This was very convenient for us to stay online all day wherever you are . Lot cheaper than paying for roaming charges

Wheelchair
My father - travelling with me , needed a Wheelchair . I called in advance and the Hotel reserved a wheel chair for us . The wheel chair was in our possession all through our stay in Tokyo , and hence we could wheel him all around town . This made the trip better for him since he could now keep up with all of the rest

Breakfast and Restaurant - K'shiki
The breakfast was something we looked forward to , each morning. Great service and great layout .
Breathtaking views from the breakfast room windows.
The restaurant management was very very cooperative and proactive , everyday morning they helped to arrange some Indian vegetarian dishes for my parents .
We dined there a few times too , and the Food was always fresh and great tasting .
The restaurant manager Mr Shioji was concious of our special dietary needs and the whole at K'shiki team was very courteous and friendly .

Had a nice evening at the Oriental lounge , where we took dessert one evening - Great desserts and Rose tea .

Must make a mention of Mr Takeshi Takeichi , front office manager was great talk to , and he always helped with some advise and tips whenever we passed the front desk . he made us feel welcome at time of check in and every other time

Sushi Sora - great restaurant for Sushi

Check out and billing had a few hiccups , but nothing worth a mention . The Mandarin team resolved it soon after check out and emailed me the confirmation the very next day . Thank you

I will stay at Mandarin Oriental - Tokyo whenever i am back

Room Tip: Nice views from most rooms due to the height , but you could request the room facing the Tokyo Skytr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,118 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,935 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing