We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in the World!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best Service in the World!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Outstanding service is hard to pull off. Many top rated hotels try too hard with service and it comes off as forced or fake. The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo has the best service of any hotel we have ever stayed at... Here is why: Every member of the staff goes out of their way to be helpful without going over the top and making you feel uncomfortable or crowded. The check-in was flawless. We had ordered baseball tickets from a third party service and they were sitting on the desk in the room when we got in. The concierge was extremely helpful. We had the same server at breakfast for the 4 days we were there and it is hard to call him a server. By the end of our stay, I wanted to call him a friend! Whatever training Mandarin is doing is cut above the rest. The staff make you feel at home and meet every need while making the whole experience feel genuine.

As far as the hotel itself, the views are incredible, the restaurants are great and overpriced, and the location suited our needs very well. Let's go to the pros and cons:

Pros:

1. Service Service Service- we covered it above!
2. Stunning Rooms and View- We got a slight upgrade at checkin for being Platinum American Express members(see more below on that) and the view was awesome! We looked directly toward the Tokyo Sky Tree and had some amazing scenes day and night. The room was large and the bathroom was awesome. Although I haven't stayed at any other hotels in Tokyo as of yet, I cannot imagine a hotel with better rooms.
3. Location- The hotel is in Chuo, which is the heart of Finance in Tokyo. Some people complain that the location is not ideal, but we thought it was ideal. There is a Tokyo Metro station directly below the hotel which makes life easy. Tokyo is huge and we were concerned before going about the location, but having a close metro station makes life easy. We could walk to Ginza in 10-15 mins. There were some great close restaurants. You must go to the basement food court in the Mitsukoshi department store which is a 2 minute walk for the hotel. My wife died and went to Heaven in that place!

The best part about the location is this. Some parts of Tokyo never sleep or relax. It is hard to relax in a hotel that is in the middle of the action all the time. This location is relatively calm at night, which makes it very relaxing. A relaxing location is a premium in Tokyo....

4. Good Deal- this is not a cheap hotel by any stretch. Yet, we did get a fantastic package from American Express. For staying 4 nights, we got the 4th night free. Included with this deal was breakfast everyday and a $100 food and beverage credit for the stay. If you are staying for 4 days, check this offer out on the Amex website.

Cons:

Very hard to find any fault with the hotel. If i were to nitpick, I would say the breakfast buffet was a tad skimpy compared to other hotels of such a high level. The service at breakfast, however, was so good that is is very hard to find fault with it. They could improve selection, but the quality was high.

Awesome travel experience and my wife did not want to leave! I don't blame her one bit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    240
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
381
727
151
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed one of our best hotel stays at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. The level of service was exceptional, our room was all that we could have asked for and the quality and choice of restaurants was so good that we didn't eat outside the hotel during our stay. Each department of the hotel performed immaculately and left nothing to be desired.

A very satisfying experience, I wish I could say the same for other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is my second stay here , the first stay was 2 yrs ago and now two years later , i still say the same - Top class and one of the best

I travel a lot and i do frequent the finer Hotels and establishments . I have been to many beautiful and well built Hotels around the world. But the service levels at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo is beyond compare. I have said this in my previous review and i say this again

Quick overview :

Check in was a pleasure and a breeze.Assisted by Ms Asami Kikuchi .

Rooms - perfectly appointed and rather large , even by Asian standards

Bathroom - Clean and good with high quality toiletries. Large Tub . Everything you need is there . You could go there without any personal toiletries !! Combs , brush , tooth brush , razor , everything provided complimentary

Concierge
A great team to help you out during your trip . Without the concierge i would have spent hours on the computer trying to find my way around town . The Concierge was well staffed with knowledgeable ladies ,

i was usually served by Ms Masumi and Ms Sato , and their support was exemplary , thank you.

Just to give an example of the quality of service , ..... i asked them to buy me some tickets for the Kabuki show , so when they delivered the tickets to me , they provided me with the tickets , accompanied by a map to the theater , directions in Japanese , a 2/3 page write up on the story of the show ( downloaded from the internet ) , a print of the theater seat layout with our seats marked on it . All in an envelope - very professional - they think of everything


MOST IMPORTANT - Drinking water - they provide unlimited number of Mineral water bottles, in the room , at the reception , also at the bell desk on the ground floor hotel entrance , gym etc . I drink a lot of water and most other top hotels just provide one or 2 small bottles everyday in the room . Some do provide additional bottles on request , but in Mandarin Tokyo they somehow make it very easy to access

Bell Desk:
When you walk out of the Hotel the bell boys on the ground level are always willing to assist with bottles of water , or umbrellas depending on the type of weather . They advise you on what to expect from the weather today . The greatest assistance i received from them was giving directions to Taxi drivers ( many of which do not speak English ) , so all i had to do was sit in a cab and pay at the end , Also as you step out of the Hotel they will hand to you an address card of the Hotel , which they recommend you use to get back at the end of the day

4G Wifi Router
The hotel rents out a 4G wifi router which can connect upto 6 devices. This was very convenient for us to stay online all day wherever you are . Lot cheaper than paying for roaming charges

Wheelchair
My father - travelling with me , needed a Wheelchair . I called in advance and the Hotel reserved a wheel chair for us . The wheel chair was in our possession all through our stay in Tokyo , and hence we could wheel him all around town . This made the trip better for him since he could now keep up with all of the rest

Breakfast and Restaurant - K'shiki
The breakfast was something we looked forward to , each morning. Great service and great layout .
Breathtaking views from the breakfast room windows.
The restaurant management was very very cooperative and proactive , everyday morning they helped to arrange some Indian vegetarian dishes for my parents .
We dined there a few times too , and the Food was always fresh and great tasting .
The restaurant manager Mr Shioji was concious of our special dietary needs and the whole at K'shiki team was very courteous and friendly .

Had a nice evening at the Oriental lounge , where we took dessert one evening - Great desserts and Rose tea .

Must make a mention of Mr Takeshi Takeichi , front office manager was great talk to , and he always helped with some advise and tips whenever we passed the front desk . he made us feel welcome at time of check in and every other time

Sushi Sora - great restaurant for Sushi

Check out and billing had a few hiccups , but nothing worth a mention . The Mandarin team resolved it soon after check out and emailed me the confirmation the very next day . Thank you

I will stay at Mandarin Oriental - Tokyo whenever i am back

Room Tip: Nice views from most rooms due to the height , but you could request the room facing the Tokyo Skytr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo really get what hotels are all about. A fantastic stay for 3 nights. Room layout, service and amenities are brilliant. The hotel understands the small things make for a great stay. If you can find a good rate, do not hesitate to choose this hotel in a Tokyo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mphtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

One of the best hotel experiences. Rooms are big, nicely decorated and clean. Staff's English is excellent. Location is great.

Especially recommend the Sushi Sora, great Sushi and the Chec explains every fish and there is a pictured book explaining the sushi as well. Skip the fish market, this is much better way to experience sushi.

Concierge extremely helpful and professional.

This not only one of the best hotel in Japan but world wide.

Only thing missing is a Pool. We did not care, since we do not have time to Swim anyway. But if you require it during your stay, it will surprise you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yidingyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at a few Mandarin Oriental in different countries and I must say that the MO Tokyo's service beats every single one hands down. Here you get what you'd expect from the famous MO high standard service And More. It could just be the Japanese hospitality at their best that made it so special. Every single staff is amazing. We were checked in quite quickly and brought to our room and our luggage were already waiting for us in our room. Not the most impressive lobby but extremely spacious room (and bathroom) with the magnificent view of the Tokyo sky tree. Gym is cozy but it has good equipments - would recommend the hotel to install thicker blinds as the sunlight was blinding ! Conveniently located as well right above a metro station. Highly recommended !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatTemplar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo on our honeymoon and it was our first stop. I'd been told this was an amazing hotel but it really lived up to its reputation. The service and setting are stunning.

From the moment we arrived until when we left the service was impeccable and we loved every minute. We ate in two of the restaurants for dinner - at Sense and also the Tapas Molecular Bar - and both were very memorable. We also had breakfast in both K'Shiki and the Oriental Lounge and both were very good.

The staff continually remembered our names and we were greeted with complimentary champagne and an upgraded room as it was our honeymoon... what a way to start our trip in Japan. The concierge also went halfway across Tokyo to get Sumo tickets for us!!! Excellent all round and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhunt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,118 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,934 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing