We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mandarin Oriental Tokyo: first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental Tokyo: first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo on our honeymoon and it was our first stop. I'd been told this was an amazing hotel but it really lived up to its reputation. The service and setting are stunning.

From the moment we arrived until when we left the service was impeccable and we loved every minute. We ate in two of the restaurants for dinner - at Sense and also the Tapas Molecular Bar - and both were very memorable. We also had breakfast in both K'Shiki and the Oriental Lounge and both were very good.

The staff continually remembered our names and we were greeted with complimentary champagne and an upgraded room as it was our honeymoon... what a way to start our trip in Japan. The concierge also went halfway across Tokyo to get Sumo tickets for us!!! Excellent all round and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhunt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    223
    53
    15
    15
See reviews for
349
674
134
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've been staying at the Peninsula across from the Imperial Palace since it opened, but I tried the MO on this trip and I'm sold. Unlike the Peninsula, where the lobby seems always to be so bustling that it's impossible to relax or have a pleasant conversation, the MOs lobby on the 38th floor is a thing of beauty, with panoramic views and restaurants that are pleasant even when crowded. The service is exceptional, the rooms are built to a flagship standard. The fitness center is open 24 hours and while it's a little small and the equipment a bit too close together, it's perfectly adequate and decent workout clothes are available. The location is convenient, and there's a subway entrance in the basement so anything is accessible quickly. There's a Mitsukoshi across the street, and plenty to do within walking distance. This is one of the very best.

Room Tip: It's hard to get it wrong, every view is a pleasure, but a view of the Sky Tower is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSS100NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

It's my first time to stay at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. Surprisingly the hotel is located at such a convenient location, it's just next to the main store of Mitsukoshi Department store, and surrounded by new shopping malls (Coredo). Just below hotel, you can directly access to very nice restaurants and shops especially the best fruit store in Japan is located on 1/F.

I specially enjoyed the breakfast at hotel, really very good and the view is gorgeous. I can see Skytree from my room or at the Gym.

No need to mention - you can always trust the best hotel service provided by Mandarin Oriental, and the staff are all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Very good hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The mandarin oriental always lives up to it's standards. Right when you enter the hotel you find the most helpful welcoming staff that automatically make you feel happy to be there.
Unfortunately you have to go through 2 elevators to get to your room as you need to pass by reception.

The concierge are patient and very helpful. The front desk also great!

The breakfasts were nice and well presented.

The service of this hotel is seamless and we stayed in suites so obviously they were spacious and comfortable.

We liked how this hotel was very close to ginza as well as well as the big department stores mitsukoshi and Takashimaya. And right next to the main station.

The other nice shopping area with good restaurants area which is quite far from here is odematedando. This is an area we would like to try to stay in next time we are in Tokyo, if only there was a mandarin over there!

In terms of service this hotel is probably the best as we were also considering the peninsula but felt this was definitely the right choice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CritiqueShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

WOW! What an amazing hotel! The staff are extremely helpful, courteous, sincere and unbeatable.
The room was amazing, with views of Tokyo Sky Tree. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, turn down service every night. Scented oil (for the vapouriser, bath etc) were left out for us to enjoy. Fresh fruit everyday.
The bathroom was large and beautifully decorated. All the usual amenities are there including bath salts, and bath pillows so you can soak away in comfort.
The attention to detail at the hotel was astounding - we had a package delivered whilst we were out and it was bought to our room with a bar of scissors next to it. Its only a small thing, but that completely blew my mind! Who trained the staff - big applause!!!!!

The hotel is right above a metro station and an amazing shopping centre (Mitsuoki) with the best food hall I have ever seen!! We went there to get food for our picnic in the Imperial East Garden on our last day in Tokyo.

I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everlong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've stayed in a number of Mandarin Oriental properties across the world, and still think this is easily the quintessential MO. Certainly not a budget option, but in return you get amazing rooms, unbeatable views, and impeccable service. Whoever is responsible for training the staff should be commended as they are a delight. My go-to location in Tokyo, no question.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms are gorgeous and spacious with expansive views. But why, with all that space, is there no privacy in the bathroom? Smokey glass separates the shower from the toilet and the sink area from the bedroom. Yes, it can be sexy but kind of weird if you embarrass easily. Also, just one tiny sink...really? There's plenty of room for 2 nice size sinks. Otherwise, service is fabulous, concierge is totally concerned with whatever problem you need to solve and spa is magnificent. I disagree with previous review about breakfast. There's nothing more that you could possibly want that wasn't available. Lunch and dinner is very pricey but you are getting top quality for everything. A reminder to take everything you need with you when you leave the room. It takes several minutes to get downstairs using 2 separate elevators.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing