We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've stayed in a number of Mandarin Oriental properties across the world, and still think this is easily the quintessential MO. Certainly not a budget option, but in return you get amazing rooms, unbeatable views, and impeccable service. Whoever is responsible for training the staff should be commended as they are a delight. My go-to location in Tokyo, no question.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms are gorgeous and spacious with expansive views. But why, with all that space, is there no privacy in the bathroom? Smokey glass separates the shower from the toilet and the sink area from the bedroom. Yes, it can be sexy but kind of weird if you embarrass easily. Also, just one tiny sink...really? There's plenty of room for 2 nice size sinks. Otherwise, service is fabulous, concierge is totally concerned with whatever problem you need to solve and spa is magnificent. I disagree with previous review about breakfast. There's nothing more that you could possibly want that wasn't available. Lunch and dinner is very pricey but you are getting top quality for everything. A reminder to take everything you need with you when you leave the room. It takes several minutes to get downstairs using 2 separate elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights for my business trip. The staffs are helpful and room is fantastic. Mandarin is the best hotel in japan

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank N3i3k3k3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I decided to go further afield and go long-haul this year...So Japan it was!
First stop Tokyo. We looked at most of the "best" hotels and decided that the Mandarin Oriental was the best suited to our taste. and we were not disappointed. This place has the WOW factor in spades! Views from every window and service that the world should envy. (Take note uncle Sam!!)
We are not the type who will look for faults but we are fussy and usually notice them! Nothing to find here......Faultless, Our only problem was only staying three nights before moving on to Hakone and Kyoto. we could have happily spent our whole holiday here and still only scratched the surface of Tokyo. The same goes for the Hotel which has three amazing restaurants. to my eternal regret I could not find a way to fit in the sushi restaurant. Luckily we did the Molecular Bar which is so unique even in Japan!
I can go on, the BAR was fabulous - and nice to smoke in a bar again!! but the air quality is fine for non smokers I was on my second drink the first evening before I noticed people were smoking. The rooms with that view wall to wall floor to ceiling...Quite special! and Boys the lobby restroom is a surprise!
This is a no brainer Book here! especially if you want to avoid a corporate hotel. They made us feel welcome and that we were important to them not just a guest. and that's hard to do.
I have no plans to return to Japan in the near future but if ever I do I know where I'll be staying....

Room Tip: Don't stress about the view every room has one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great location, outstanding views, very high quality rooms and really friendly service. Bar is a bit smoky and I'd have liked a bit more choice at breakfast. But this is a hotel to be enjoyed; I'll have no hesitation in coming back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The MO Tokyo is a classy hotel located on the top floors of a modern office building in the financial centre of Tokyo. The lobby of the hotel offers breathtaking views of Tokyo and on clear days you can even see Mt. Fuji.
We had a room on the 31st floor and the room was well appointed and quite large and had a large bathroom as well. The amenities provided were high class and there was not much I could fault as everything was as expected from the MO.
The hotel is connected to an underground shopping alley with some restaurants and is connected to the Subway which makes it convenient to get around. However since it is in the business district the area is not very happening in the evening.
The gym was located on the same floor as the lobby and was small but well equipped. The spa offers the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for free to hotel guests before 9AM. After 9AM there is a 7000 JPY charge per person which I find a bit much as a five star hotel should offer these amenities for free.
Staff was in general very pleasant and professional and gave a very good impression.
However something which dissapointed me slightly was the fact that our curtain did not open properly on one side (the electronics were faulty) and this was already the case when we were shown to the room. However this was not fixed even the next day when we called housekeeping to check this again. In a MO I first of all expect things to work and if they do not it should be fixed immediately.
The hotel is pricey but this is Tokyo so do not expect a bargain here.
I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are in Tokyo but do also give other properties some consideration as five star properties in Tokyo are in general stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel: best view in town. Excellent in house restaurants and bar! Very well situated for shopping, walking, city tours and nigh-out dinner.
Spa: good
Room: spacious, modern with a breathtaking view of Tokyo!
Service: excellent
Value for money


Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rinako14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,106 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#3 of 82 in Chiyoda
1,238 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 82 in Chiyoda
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: $582 - $1,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing