We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Tokyo”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights in the MO, Tokyo and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is literally a 5 to 8 minutes walk from Tokyo Station. For me the location was excellent: a subway line (Ginza) in the under ground of the building and close to Ginza--you could walk on a good day. The lobby on the 38th floor has stunning views of Tokyo. I got a room on the Mt. Fuji side, but didn't see the mountain as it was a bit cloudy during my stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff was attentive, referring to me by name most of the time, and made a last minute reservation for me a great sushi restaurant in Ginza where I had a delicious meal. The only draw back as expressed by others is the charge for wireless internet service--it is expensive. The hotel is a good choice if you can afford it.

Room Tip: If you opt for a room on the Mt. Fuji side, make sure your visit is a time of the year when the skie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    242
    55
    16
    19
See reviews for
384
732
155
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The verdict is in. After, the exceptional stay at MO- Macau, we altered our plans to stay at Mo-Tokyo. As the cartoons would say.... Wooomp! Womp!
The Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo was a bit of disappointment. Most of the shortcomings are in the service area as the facility itself was at least on par with others.

The positives: room size was adequate with the bathroom cleverly laid out. No door on shower yet no monsoon in the bathroom. Cute. The location on Nihonbashi was in proximity to Tokyo Station and a lovely department store, Mitsukoshi, that reminded me a bit of the English Sitcom "Are you being Served?"
The location was Not party central which is likely not what is being sought anyway.

Here are the concerns we have with the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo:

Service was Mediocre. met the minimum standard but certainly nothing extra. The rooms were sparsely supplied with basic amenities. Bottled Water was always in short supply. On several occasions, we had to call housekeeping because somehow, they forgot to leave complimentary bottles of water in the room. Bath soaps were not consistently restocked. A hotel of this caliber should note the unspoken preferences of its guests and adjust the routine accordingly. Noting that we never used the shower gel and consistently used the soap for the shower, even moving it from the face basin to the shower stall, one would think they would accommodate by restocking the soap. That may be too picky but at this altitude in the hotel hierarchy one expects fastidious attention to detail.

Perhaps our expectations were set high by the reviews and the positioning of the hotel itself.

The staff did not appear to be well informed about many standard things. If they were well informed, then they certainly could do a better job communicating that knowledge. When asked simple connection and location questions, we were automatically greeted with recommendations to take Taxis. We were advised to take a Taxi to meet a tour at Shinjuku. On the return the tour guide simply instructed us to stay on the train 4 stops further. Imagine the surprise, when we got off the train at Tokyo Station, to realize the hotel was about a 15 minute walk. Imagine the annoyance when we were told by the Information Desk that there was a FREE shuttle from the station to the Mitsui building. (where the hotel is). Now the concierge may very well have adjudged a taxi to be quicker, easier or better for whatever reason, the impression we were left with was that reason was.... easier, quicker and better for her.

Acknowledging guests by name is a common "punch list" item that 5 star hotels check to demonstrate their "5 Starness" We are a family of 3 and certainly are distinctive in certain parts of the world for a myriad of reasons. It usually takes 2 times to have even unaffiliated personnel recognize us. Another small but instructive point is we were not acknowledged by name once throughout the stay.

Concerns addressed with the staff yields sympathetic responses but the implications appeared lost on them.

A point that I noticed duplicated in other reviews but that certainly bears repeating. The amount of smoke wafting into the lobby from the bar area is egregious. My son who is asthmatic ate in the room most nights and was kept away from the lobby as it truly is overwhelming. I am unsure that much can be done by the hotel about this, but at minimum it should be noted by other travellers who may have respiratory/allergy issues.

Suffice it to say, the service we got came no where close to what we would expect from a hotel that had won 6 Star Diamond award many times. You will not be miserable here but don't expect to be blown away.
The staff have clearly been trained but are unable to consistently transmit the benefit of that training in a way that benefits the guest. The experience crystallized for us what we describe as "IN service rather than OF service"
We noted this particularly with the front desk and concierge staff as the restaurants SENSE and K'SHIKI were staffed with gracious, proactive personnel. An aside On the F&B front, The cocktails neded work both times we tried to have a nightcap though the Mandarin Miracle at Sense during dinner was well crafted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BucketListedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, セールス&マーケティング at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

It is with great concern that we learned about your unpleasant experience and please allow us to extend our deepest apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you and your family had experienced.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments. We assure you that we will continue to strive on providing better service. However, in order for us to appropriately follow up on the specific areas of concern, we would appreciate should you wish to discuss your experience further, to please contact us.

We hope that you shall allow us the opportunity to welcome you back so we may showcase the kind of hospitality for which Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo has become renowned.

Kind regards

Manabu Kusui
Executive Assistant Manager
Sales & Marketing
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Service is top notch. Surroundings are beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious and the food is amazing. They do Asian and Western food well: lots of choices. This is the best place to stay in Tokyo and truly one of the better hotels in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It just has what you'd want. Michelin starred restaurants (you can even get their food room service which is cool when you have a 13 months old), fab service and good location. Love it every time. When we booked restaurants ahead of arriving the hotels food and beverage manager even called us to make sure our little son would be ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_Taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here a week on business, everything is as advertised, service, rooms, dining, everything was spotless. If possible, request a room facing mt. Fuji, they book faster. Also the neighborhood was very quiet, not much to walk to, aside from imperial palace. If you are looking to be in the center of all the action, stay in Shibuya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What to say, it is perfect just very expensive! The rooms are very thought out, the spa is wonderful and dining is impressive and the views are amazing-mt fuji on a clear day! The service is second to none!

Room Tip: They all have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing! It's probably one of the only in this category i'm ok to pay this price. My second time there, and it was as impressive as the first. Stellar breakfast and dinner. Spectacular, complete room. My personal number one, I'm a fan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,136 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,966 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing