We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boutique sized hotel perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“boutique sized hotel perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is superb, thanks to Mitsui's total rejuvenation of the new business area. The service is impeccable, which is par for the course for Mandarin properties. The fitout topnotch. The gym, while not huge, is well thought out and equipped to cater to exercise/fitness needs (the complimentary health smoothies should not go untried!).

The F&B in-house faces stiff competition from the greater Ginza area. That said, the jazz bar is a nice scene in the evenings, enjoying good music, ambience, and views of the city from the high floor in the building.

What should be a top priority is to visit the abundant food halls nearby, whether above ground or via underground walkways: Coredo Muromachi (some of the best Tsukemen can be found on the 3rd floor at Tosa no Otoko ga Tsukutta Tonkotsu Ramen Ore-shiki), Mitsukoshi(s), among others. It is a complete foodie feast.

Room Tip: Rooms with western and southern exposure have the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigyam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    227
    54
    15
    16
See reviews for
355
684
140
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. Beautiful, spacious room and luxury bathroom. Location is great for shopping. Great city views at night. The service was wonderful: we came in late the first night and wanted dinner. The informal restaurant was booked, but they were able to make a place for us with minor delay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Conveniently located in the heart of the city, Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo enjoys a bird’s eye view of the breathtaking city skyline. Surrounded by the chic shops and offices of Nihonbashi, the hotel exudes crisp, cutting-edge style with state-of-the-art technology, a renowned spa, award-winning restaurants and impeccable service.

With a covetable Nihonbashi address, they are closely located to some of Tokyo’s most prominent business addresses and attractions.

•Walking distance of Tokyo's main shopping and entertainment destinations
•8 minutes from Tokyo Station
•Basement entrance to “Mitsukoshi-mae” subway station
•Easy access to the city’s most famous sights including the Imperial Palace gardens
•Five minutes from Tokyo Stock Exchange

90 min from Narita Airport the Shuttle Bus service is effortless

Check-in is on the 38/F overlooking Tokyo's Skyline, what an amazing way to arrive

They up graded us to a "Premier Grand Room" and the room didn't disappoint

The luggage was already within the room once we arrived

A welcome amenity with a hand written Birthday Card from staff was a nice touch, the amenities changed daily and seemed to out do one another each time

The room was spacious to say the lease, with ample wardrobe space

The bathroom was sectioned with shower area, bathtub & toilet

Bathroom amenities & products all by "Apivita" with nice touches like Lip Balm, Mouthwash, shaving foam & real hairbrush

Mini Bar was well stocked with Premium Products

The food & beverage options was endless, breakfast located within K'shiki with jawdropping views of the city while you sip your morning coffee is the only way to start your day.

Every detail of the hotel from arrival to departure has been carfully reviewed & perfected

Personalised service is the aim & achieved at every turn

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KWSKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and these are our best experience staying in a similar hotel so far. The location, room, lobby and restaurants were perfect - with a specially pleasant breakfast buffet - but most of all, service was specially attentive, personalized and aiming to make our stay even better. Mandarin Oriental is renowned for the good care it's staff takes from guests - but we really experienced it in Tokyo as never before. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 483Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here late in 2012. Occupies the top half of a commercial building in Tokyo and so check in is way up in the sky.....

Everything achieves the highest level in terms of service... which is tough in a market where services levels and expectations are already so high. We asked for food from the sushi restaurant to be served in the cafe.... no problem. Help from the concierge to locate the japanese toy for the kids...... no problem..... Even have a fluent Japanese speaking Italian waiter working the service in the breakfast room.

A top quality property that really makes you feel very special for every minute of your stay. Bear in mind the location.... not the easiest for tourists, but great for the business traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KOBinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Spent two nights here on business. Staff were very helpful from arrival through to departure. The room was luxurious and well equipped with great views over the city from the 30th upwards. The gym is very good and the bars and restaurants were lively. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the MO to start our short break in Japan and, armed with high expectations, were not disappointed. The rooms and decor are just as you would expect from a property of this standard. All the comfort and amenities you could wish for and some stunning views - particularly from the higher floors (we were on 36) - which were a sight for jet-lagged eyes.

We found the hotel ourselves having braved the JR Express from Narita Airport and then 1 subway stop from Tokyo station to Shin-Nihombashi and a 5 minute stroll. We later discovered that the hotel is directly above another subway station (Mitsukoshimae on the Ginza line) but the bottom line is it's remarkably easy to find considering how daunting the Tokyo transport system might seem to the first time visitor. It's actually very easy and good fun too - grab a JR East 'Suica & Nex'deal at the airport and you'll be zipping around the place like a local in no time. But back to the hotel.

The layout is a little upside down because you travel to the 38th floor for Reception and then back down (using different lifts) to the rooms but you soon get the hang of it. All the public spaces make the best use of some eye-popping views that look fantastic by day or night. We enjoyed a stunning meal at the Molecule Tapas Bar one evening (you really need to try this but with only 8 seats you need to plan for it in advance) and wound up spending too much time (and money) in their bar on both nights, drinking in the views and some interesting concoctions. If I had a gripe about the MO it would be that the bar prices are at the high end of what could be considered tolerable - the cocktails are probably the best value options because at about £15 a pop they compare favourably against a draught beer for £8 or a gin for more than double that. This is not a place for happy hours or penny pinchers and I was also surprised to be charged handsomely for WiFi in one of the worlds most technically advanced countries in the 21st century. These are however minor gripes in the scheme of things.

So where does the MO really excel? Japan sets the bar extraordinarily high for Service and the team here are are amongst the best that we have ever experienced. To be fair, the service began a couple of months before we even arrived, when I reached out to the Concierge team (via e-mail) and asked them to sort out some restaurant reservations. They were more than happy to clarify my requirements and engage in a lengthy e-mail conversation across time zones. They ended up giving me some options to choose from and for one day that will live long in the memory, managed to secure us a lunch booking at the 6 six seat, 2 Michelin Starred 'Sushi Sawada' and dinner at the 18 seat, 3 Michelin Starred 'Ryogin' - a gastronomic experience that was as expensive as it was enjoyable. Not only were the restaurants booked, dietary requirements confirmed and so on well in advance (as they need to be for places like that) but on check- in we were presented with individual confirmations and maps with directions/journey times for getting to them via various means of transport. This was an incredibly thoughtful/helpful touch and I doubt we would have ever found the Sushi restaurant without it, tucked as it was on the 3rd floor of a tiny building tucked down a side street in Ginza.

Overall, we got the sense in our all too short stay that nothing would have been too much trouble for them and I actually felt quite guilty on check-out knowing that we were going to be 'checking out' The Peninsula Hotel in a few days for our last couple of nights in Tokyo. When I mentioned this to them they took no offence and said it would be nice for us to try somewhere else. I don't for a minute think this sentiment was anything but genuine - we shall see how their illustrious neighbour compares in a couple of days and whether, at the back of their minds, they felt we would ultimately miss their 'sanctuary in the skies'. Yes it costs a lot to stay (and play) here but we would be back in a heartbeat....

Room Tip: For the best views - the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing