We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but not the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely but not the Best”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice hotel, as you would expect, but for me not quite the Top hotel in Tokyo. The staff were fantastic, but somehow the views didnt seem quite as nice and the rooms a bit old fashioned in style. Dont get me wrong, they are very very nice but felt a bit bland. Food was great and love the location. No pool and it seems a bit cheap to ask you to pay to use the whirlpool (you can only use for free if you pay for a spa appointment or get there really early). Also no pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    237
    54
    16
    18
See reviews for
369
718
146
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. The view of the city is amazing and the staff are top notch. You just can not fault it. The sushi restaurant that takes 8 people is a memorable experience - not cheap though. In fact my wallet still has a hole in it. Such is life. There is little more to say than this the go to hotel in Tokyo.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the place to stay in Tokyo ! Fantastic rooms, Mount Fuji view and an upgrade after requesting a smoking room !
The bar is very stylish, great service and Cocktails.
Highlight was the Sushi Restaurant, only 8 seats served by 2 Sushi Masters and 2 Waitresses, again great view and delicious food !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is really lovely! The rooms were spacious and the views over Tokyo were simply amazing! The staff were also very pleasant. The food in the hotel was also very nice. We loved our kimonos provided to us in our rooms aswell.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've stayed in other "5-Star" hotels, some that do rate such and some fall short. However, The Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, far exceed our wildest expectations. Imagine being greeted, by name, without any introduction by either of us, in what we thought was the lobby. The ground entrance was stunningly beautiful and had numerous staff members available to cater to us. "No, Mr. McCrary, the lobby is on the 38th floor, your bags will be delivered to your room, let me escort you to our lobby." That was just a precursor. The "real" lobby's check-in desk (three desks, each with at least two staff persons) fronted two story windows overlooking fabulous downtown Tokyo. After our efficient check-in, we were escorted to our room on the 32nd floor. As we walked into the door, shades drew up, curtains pulled back, and beautiful Asian music began to play. The entry's drama was matched by yet another breathtaking view of Tokyo with Mt. Fuji looming in the distance. Our luggage arrived and after a "tour" of the room, we just stood there dumbfounded as we took in the view. But, no, our reception was not yet complete. A few moments later, we heard our doorbell. A gentleman brought in a spectacularly beautiful bento box of delicious fresh fruit and luscious chocolates (see photo). Our entire stay mirrored those fist few minutes after we arrived. The decor is Architectural Digest quality. The views, from the room to the lobby and restaurants to the bar, are like an observation tower. The huge, efficient staff was multilingual and responsive beyond belief--anytime we were headed towards and elevator, a staff person would run in front of us to push the call button, then enter (after us) to push the floor button! The room amenities were top shelf. We even had a choice between at least a half-dozen pillow types. I could go on... Actually, I'm surprised we ever left the hotel to see the rest of Tokyo. It was that good!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is such a thing...they all appear to be great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is top notch as well as the amenities. Within our room we kept finding all the small details that helped make the stay. We also were fortunate to get a view of mount Fuji one night. Definitely recommend and if back in Tokyo definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the understated but elegant lobby to the incredible view from the reception area, the beautifully appointed rooms and exceptional service this is a classy hotel by any standard.

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for four night in August 2012 and found it to be an excellent experience. Everything about the hotel oozes class and sophistication, even though we are quite un-sophisticated, the staff were warm, attentive, welcoming and were always thinking a step ahead. The service from the lobby to the maid service was always exceptional and came across in a genuinely friendly manner.
We stayed with a 1yo and the staff tripped over each other to make sure she was comfortable and attended to, including rushing a high chair and kiddies cutlery and dinnerware to our table when we ate.
The breakfast buffet was abundant and of very high quality, from the juice to the pastries to the eggs prepared to order.

There are two small gripes/irritations I had whilst staying here.
1. the restaurants are very good but expensive, the food is not too badly priced but the drinks are bit too much... mineral water $12 aud per bottle.
2. the hotel is located in a predominantly business area, so bad luck if you're a foodie or like shopping, you'll need to catch a taxi.

Overall I'd recommend it to anyone who can afford it, and... even if you can't, it's a great experience and worth flexing the fantastic plastic for.

Room Tip: They're all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,096 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,813 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,869 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Rakuten, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing