We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, stay there if you can... afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow, stay there if you can... afford it”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the understated but elegant lobby to the incredible view from the reception area, the beautifully appointed rooms and exceptional service this is a classy hotel by any standard.

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for four night in August 2012 and found it to be an excellent experience. Everything about the hotel oozes class and sophistication, even though we are quite un-sophisticated, the staff were warm, attentive, welcoming and were always thinking a step ahead. The service from the lobby to the maid service was always exceptional and came across in a genuinely friendly manner.
We stayed with a 1yo and the staff tripped over each other to make sure she was comfortable and attended to, including rushing a high chair and kiddies cutlery and dinnerware to our table when we ate.
The breakfast buffet was abundant and of very high quality, from the juice to the pastries to the eggs prepared to order.

There are two small gripes/irritations I had whilst staying here.
1. the restaurants are very good but expensive, the food is not too badly priced but the drinks are bit too much... mineral water $12 aud per bottle.
2. the hotel is located in a predominantly business area, so bad luck if you're a foodie or like shopping, you'll need to catch a taxi.

Overall I'd recommend it to anyone who can afford it, and... even if you can't, it's a great experience and worth flexing the fantastic plastic for.

Room Tip: They're all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    225
    54
    15
    16
See reviews for
355
683
137
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is a very modern hotel with top facilities and quite good location, the service is great as everything else there.
My room had a nice view, really good bathroom with a round bath. Go there if your company pays!;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Trust the reviews, and stay there. You'll be writing like other reviewers when you come back. In addition to what have alreayd mentioned, I would stress how 'unique' their service is. By that I mean they don't have arrogance and snobbish attitudes that you sometimes find in hotels of this level. Simply the best. Seriously!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank catsinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The climax of my trip came when I stayed here. I can't believe it was that good!

The services were professional. I didn't speak Japanese and they helped me reserve a table for the restaurant and a seat for my train. They also gave me the maps to go to these places, I felt so warm. The stationery was very useful as I had to use to wrap my gifts for my family and friends.

Just one thing, the mirror was opposite to the bed and i could see the reflection from the bathroom. It was just a bit scary...

Room: Deluxe

Decor: wonderful! the room was just super large

Bed/ Sleeping quality: good

Bathroom: the bath tub was just very big, I believe I could swim there...

View: Magnificent city views

Location: above the metro (三越, 10-min walk to Tokyo main station)

Staff: professional customer services

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I'm a brutal reviewer, and yet I can hardly find a fault in this hotel. I travel everywhere and yet have never experienced service like this hotel; perfect and yet very naturally friendly. The views are amazing, and they have a great bar below the lobby.

The ONLY thing I didn't like is that the location requires you to taxi to see anything; there's literally nothing worth seeing in that neighborhood.

Otherwise, it was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peneloperose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 925 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

All Mandarin Oriental Hotels should be measured against MO Tokyo as the MO standard. Excellence redefined and they certainly know the true meaning of "attention to details". Apart from the stunning views, spacious accommodations, top-notch housekeeping, legendary service, and making each guest the center of their attention, not much else can be said about this faultless stay. We arrived in awe and left in awe... This is how the legendary MO way should be defined, but surprisingly, not all MO hotels are made the same.

A truly impressive and most memorable experience... Congrats and two thumbs up to MO Tokyo!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foodietraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

8 nights in Mandarin Corner room with Skytree and Ginza view

PROs:
Excellent location (15 mins walk) to Tokyo station, the main hub for the Shinkansen, close to Ginza, the Imperial Palace and Akihabara.
The bedrooms have 2 large glass walls with excellent views over Tokyo.
And surprise: another glass wall just near the bathtub, enabling a similar view of the Tokyo skyline, especially sweet while relaxing in the evening.
Modern, elegant rooms, nice design.
Dining: Sense is a good chinese restaurant, again with panoramic views. The Peking duck is remarkable.
Sora sushi: a minimalist modern sushi counter with around 10 seats, serving the best Edo-mae sushi I've ever tasted thanks to the mastery of sushi chef Yuji Imaizumi. Thank you again.
K'shiki is probably not in the same class yet again you should spend an enjoyable evening there as well thanks to the views and good service.
Haven't tried Signature restaurant which I regret now.
Haven't tried breakfast.
The bar, with a nice design, is also excellent in atmosphere and vibe, serves a wide variety of cocktails, single malts, etc and is located in the middle of the floor below the reception, again with great views over Tokyo. Staying at the counter however is also enjoyable.
The lobby design is an example of superlative modern japanese design.
Outstanding service throughout the entire stay. Never heard the word "no". All the staff did their best to provide the best assistance and quality service possible. Concierge, reception, restaurant staff, ground floor team, everyone deserves a praise.

CONs
The corner rooms are not very large. If not for the feeling of space provided by the glass walls, I'd say they are quite small.
This place is not recommended for visitors with a budget. Expect 500EUR+ for a 2 persons dining experience and approx. 20 EUR minimum price tag for a drink at the bar.
Everything is quite expensive even compared to similar establishments around the world.
Really missed a nice swimming pool in the hot summer months of Tokyo. This is probably the single, most evident flaw of Mandarin Oriental Tokyo.

All in one, I'd recommend anyone who has the opportunity to experience the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo. Having also stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore twice, I would recommend the Mandarin group as an example to follow in the high class hotel industry. One of my favorites, at least in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,040 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
2,745 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing