We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,205)
Filter reviews
2,205 results
Traveler rating
1,817
279
65
22
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,817
279
65
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount fujiconcierge teampizza barbottega venetapark hyattgrand roomluxury hotelpillow menufloor to ceiling windowsfour seasonsamazing hotelmitsukoshimae stationmitsukoshi department storechinese restaurantsushirestaurant reservationsbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 2,205 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

impressive rooms, large bathroom with gigantic bath
delicious in room breakfast
service very delicate and discreet

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennyitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you are looking for the lap of luxury, this is it! I stayed there with my family in an adjoining room and it was fabulous. One room was on a corner with a gorgeous view of Tokyo and the other twin room for my children was spacious and also had an awesome view. I had stayed here before on business and had built up my family's expectations ahead of time. The Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo did not disappoint!

Room Tip: If you want connected rooms be specific.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I’ve been traveling to Tokyo on business and pleasure for about 15 years and I’ve stayed in most of the high-end hotels in town. I discovered the Mandarin Oriental about 3 years ago and this quickly replaced my previous favorite, the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku for a number of reasons.

First of all, and this may be obvious is location – Nihonbashi is a 5 minute cab ride from Tokyo station or a 10 minute walk. Its location also offers something else. There are plenty of restaurants nearby that are open on a Sunday night – important if you show-up late, jetlagged, restless and itching to explore.

A comfortable bed, complicated shower, multiple TVs and work facilities may have become standard fare for this class of hotel but the designers of these rooms seem to have hit the right balance between homely comfort and trendier-than-thou styling. The view from all the rooms is fantastic but avoid the lowest floor number (30 I think?) as the wrap-around balcony and machinery for cleaning windows somewhat obscures the edge-of-a-precipice view of the city (ignore this advise if you are scared of heights).

Breakfast is something I usually skip but jetlag does strange things and I often wake up famished. Other five star hotels in town often fall short, with a lack-luster buffet or itemized pricing which will make that sushi dinner in Ginza you were wondering how to expense look cheap. The Mandarin Oriental nails breakfast completely, regardless of your preference for Western, Chinese (dim sum) or Japanese style. Make sure this is included in your room rate as you won’t want to miss it.

The service in this Mandarin is nothing short of legendary. Nothing is too much trouble and many of the staff go to the extent of remembering names even if you are there for just a couple of nights. If you bring young children, expect the staff to engage with them too. Having spent months in another 5 star hotel across town where I was always anonymous this is a very pleasant contrast and never gets to the point of being overbearing or invasive. One other important point – if things do go wrong – like the wrong room type or room rate the management team are quick to resolve the issue quickly and amicably with follow-up. In my experience what often happens in other hotels in town is the staff will apologize profusely, but no actual progress is made in fixing the problem.

Other worthy mentions worth a visit are the bar (although the New York Bar at the Park Hyatt does win out as a destination) and the usually deserted but well equipped gym.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The concierge deserves a metal. She went above and beyond for us on several occasions, before and during our stay.

The property is beautiful, and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marktomaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fantastic rooms, Fantastic & Friendly Hospitality, Excellent & Good Value Food, Excellent location too! I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiaosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews