We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumisho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumisho Hotel
Ranked #80 of 85 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sumisho was chosen based on other reviews. It was an excellent choice. While it is a bit of a walk from the station (and, thus, requires a bit of navigating), it is in a good, quiet location. We used Ningyocho station, and it's about five minutes or so; it's about ten minutes from Mitsukohsimae, and twenty or so from Tokyo. All of this depends on your walking speed, of course, and your luck in catching the lights.

The room was small, with three single beds, which is exactly as described to us when we made the reservation. We found the beds comfortable, and the heater worked nicely. Service was excellent; the staff were very professional and friendly. What we really liked about the hotel was that there was a public bath on the ground floor. Our room had a shower/tub (large tub, too), but having the bath on the ground floor gave the place the feel of a ryokan (inn), rather than a tourist/business hotel. There were Japanese-style rooms available, too, so I think the hotel has much older roots than it's modern facade indicates.

Overall, a great place for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worthj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
11
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were very happy of this choice. The location is very convenient. The bath very nice.
It is located very close to the subway station where the grey line passes. This line is one of the most useful to visit Kyoto. The neighbor quiet and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grife0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Sumisho Hotel, Nihonbashi, Chuoku, Tokyo it is a good staging area for exploring the east side of Central Tokyo. The hotel is a little difficult to find being located in a side street. The hotel is a no frills typical Japanese hotel, with windows but no view, with bath for men and women and a small restaurant with tatami mats. The triple occupancy room we occupied was a bit tight, with practically no place to walk after we opened our luggage. Yes, it took some serious space management to make room for 3 people. But we did not really care, after all we only used the hotel for sleeping as we were out most of the day. And yes, one has to shower sidewise to avoid elbows hitting the shower walls. Vendo machines and ice dispenser are conveniently located in very floor. The front desk staff speaks English and are all very helpful and courteous.
The hotel is located in an area with lots of restaurants, fast food and Japanese specialty restaurants, noodle houses, coffee shops and bars. The hotel is within walking distance of the Imperial Palace, the Tokyo Station and even Ginza for the more adventurous traveller. For trips far from the hotel (e.g. Akihabara, Harajuku etc), a subway station is about a block away, the Ninyocho subway station.
No traffic noise within the hotel being located away from the main streets. While smoking is not allowed in the rooms, it is allowed in the small lobby and smoke can seep into the room. The lobby has that stale cigarette smell.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed with a friend for three nights in Tokyo. Centrally located and a short walk to the subway and key attractions such as Imperial palace. we loved it so much my friend stayed back there at the end of our trip once I had flown out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotairwolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is our first trip to tokyo and we spent 6 nights in this hotel. We have a toddler and we booked ourself in a traditional japanese room. Three of us enjoy our stay there. The Japanese style room is bigger than western room. The staffs are helpful. If you want to experience the japanese life, you shouldn't miss the japanese style room. The hotel provides all the basic you need and we have no complaint about it. Well, possibly the hotel should prepare more teas. We love the experience to fold and unfold our futon everyday when wake up and go to sleep. I thought we will not get use of sleeping on futon, amazingly, it's very comfortable.

The hotel is close to everything. We took only the Tokyo Metro Hibiya line (Ningyocho station) to most of the attractions. You can buy the daily Tokyo Metro to travel around the tokyo city, cheaper than getting JR pass if you are not travel other areas in japan. In addition, there are heaps of foods nearby and it's cheaper than other places like Ginza or Shinjuku. If you need anything, staffs are very friendly to help. And, don't miss your trip to the Mitsukoshi shopping complex especially the food court. Those desserts and pre-packed foods are so fabulous and pretty. You would lost control and have difficult to make the decision which one to buy. It is so easy to stroll around the neighbourhood. There are 'treasures' and 'hidden jewel' in those alley. Dont miss it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stylishee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa2sea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Arriving after dark alone at the Tokyo JR station was all I imagined. The throngs of commuters increased to a crush as I neared the street level after ascending the 5 or so escalators rising from deep underground. Knowing no Japanese was a concern, but Japanese and English were both on many signs and maps in the station and on the streets. After a long look at the station map to orient myself to adjacent streets, I finally ventured out into what appeared to be a Times Square like cityscape. My goal was to find my lodgings for the night, a ryokan, less than ten blocks from the station. Walking in Tokyo was pleasant even at night. I felt perfectly comfortable. I found the Sumisho Hotel without much difficulty. It is a lovely Japanese-style, small hotel, although it has some small Western-style rooms too. I wanted a Japanese-style room, and I stayed only in ryokans throughout my 2-weeks in Japan, expect when I enjoyed homestays in Nagoya, Aomori and on Hokkaido. I returned to the Sumisho at the end of my trip for a final night and half day in the city. While I had little time at the start and end of my trip I enjoyed many of the most beautiful places in Tokyo. Every aspect of this visit was rewarding. Here is a sampling of the places I visited. Tokyo destinations: Ueno Park and its museums, the Ginza shopping area, the Imperial Hotel and its shops and restaurants (the Viking celebrated its 50th year), Emperor's Palace, Asakusa Temples and Meyoko market. All of these destinations were reached by foot or subways.

I felt compelled to visit Japan and Tokyo. My great-aunt traveled alone around the world in 1959 and she spent 2-weeks in Japan, so I wanted to retrace her trip 50 years later, hence the need to go in 2009. I also wanted to climb to the top of Mt. Fuji, and the closer offer to go, was to head north once there to help a friend build a strawbale guesthouse on Hokkaido near Ahasikawa. All of my goals were reached, and every destination was more beautiful and rewarding that the last. Even though this was my first trip to Japan and Tokyo, it will not be my last.

Helpful?
2 Thank wa2sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Sumisho Hotel and found it a very friendly place. The level of English at the Hotel was quite sufficient for our requirements. They staff made every effort to understand and accomodate us. We opted for the Japanese Style accommodation, just for the experience. This entailed rolling out your Futon mattress each night - this can be somewhat hard on the hips unless you have ample padding. The rates were quite reasonable. We didn't get to use their Japanese Baths, nor did we use the restaurant, so can't comment on these aspects.

Getting there from Tokyo Airport was not as difficult as I had imagined. We caught a Limousine Coach to the Tokyo City Air Terminal (TCAT) and a Taxi from there.

We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

  • Liked — Friendlyness of Staff
  • Disliked — Thin Futon mattresses
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank okbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Nishitetsu Inn Nihonbashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Smile Hotel Nihonbashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Kazusaya Hotel
Kazusaya Hotel
#77 of 85 in Chuo
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Toyoko Inn Nihonbashi Mitsukoshimae A4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumisho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumisho Hotel

Property: Sumisho Hotel
Address: Nihonbashi Kobunacho 9-14, Chuo 103-0024, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 85 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumisho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumisho hotel is in the center of TOKYO. We greet all guest with modern installations in all rooms.Here is conveniently located 5min by Taxi from Tokyo Central station and Airport highway bus station. You can go very easily to everywhere in Tokyo by Subway or JR Line.Please use Sumisho hotel which is convenient to go everywhere in Tokyo for a base of Tokyo walk and for your business. We offer Japanese and Western style rooms all of which are equipped with a bath, toilet,television, electric kettle and air-conditionner.All guests can use free Internet access from all roomsAnd we recomend to take a Japanese style big bathtub for relaxing. Reception opens for 24 hours, NO Curfew.We can keep your luggages before check-in and after check-out.Sumisho Hotel is a neat and peaceful hotel which has a traditional Ryokan flavour and is situated in a central of Tokyo, Nihonbashi-Kobunacho. Here in the Sumisho Hotel you can experience the traditions of Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, HRS, Rakuten and Orbitz so you can book your Sumisho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumisho Hotel Chuo
Sumisho Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing