We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location, Location,Location”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. It is an absolutely great location in Ginza, one of the top shopping districts in the world. As pointed out by other reviewers, the rooms are small, but very clean. As recommended by other reviewers, we requested the 13th floor. Other reviewers complained about the quality of wi-fi, but we found it excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel web site. I was able to get a rate $50.00 less than on one of the travel sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    417
    150
    35
    12
See reviews for
160
243
137
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We spent three nice in this perfectly located Hotel in Ginza. The staff was very nice and attentive to our needs. Be hold, the room are rather small but very convenient. The mattress was harder than the floor but amazingly I slept as a baby. Nothing to say about the cleanliness of the room. This hotel has a very good good quality/price ration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nights in this hotel in early November. The hotel was a great find especially considering the price we paid ($110 Canadian per night). The hotel is close to everything - Ginza shopping is just 3 short blocks away. Tokyo Station is within 1 km. We managed to walk from Tokyo Station to the hotel on our arrival with luggage. On the way back (burdened by all the spoils of shopping) we took a cab and it cost as ~700 Yen. The hotel is on a quiet side street so there was no noise issues.

Staff was very helpful. They helped us make a few reservations for various events around Tokyo. Their English is good and if they have problems communicating they have a lot of written material prepared for your convenience - maps, subway tickets, event brochures, etc.

The room we stayed in looked recently renovated. It was small, but clean with a very nice bathroom (deep tub with a shower). The furniture is basic, but functional. But please remember, this is Japan, not North America so rooms are small. There is no safe in the room, but the hotel has a safe at the reception. Japan is very safe anyway...The only complaint I have about the room is the bed - hard as a rock with hard as a rock pillows.

Hotel has an overall French theme (there seems to be some sort of French cultural invasion happening in Japan with all the french bistros, restaurants and cafes). Wedding receptions seem to be happening on the regular basis. The hotel is surrounded by number of restaurants, so finding a meal (especially a breakfast) is not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkulpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for five nights for attending conference. The internet connection is decent, except the wifi reception is a little bit difficult in the hotel's public area (such as the breakfast place 2nd floor, and receptionist). Perhaps, they want to limit non-guest to use their internet. Anyway, inside the room, signal is strong.

I stayed at the 13th floor. At one night, a colleague who stayed on 4th floor came to my room, and he said that it was better than his room (more spacious). I didn't go to check how is his room, but it can be a tips for you who plan to stay in this hotel. Ask for 13 floor !!

Hotel is centrally located in Ginza. Many shops, restaurants, shopping centers, and attractions. Two metro stations are in very close proximity from the hotel. Since it's Ginza, the street will still have people walking on it, even at 12 AM. So, if you enjoy Tokyo so much, don't be afraid to go home late to the hotel.

The hotel also sells 1-day and 2-day ticket for unlimited metro use. You can get them at the receptionist for special price (usually only sold at airport). The 1-day ticket is JPY 600.

I found some good places to eat around this hotel (check the photo section of my review for the restaurant name). Sushi is around JPY 1600, tempura is around JPY 680. IMO, the tempura taste is better than the ones in Asakusa (so which one is the authentic one?).

Room Tip: Ask for 13 floor !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundulgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel. Its in the heart of Ginza so great location! and there were 2 metro station extremely close to this location.
price was great, the washroom was clean. decent size room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggs_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 2x (Oct 30-Nov 1 & Nov 2-4) in one trip to Japan breaking midway to spend the weekend overnight out of town.
Like most Japanese hotels, it has small rooms but very clean (On our 1st leg they put us on the 13th fl w/c has newer rooms that are a bit more spacious! On our 2nd leg they put us on the 9th fl where rooms were older, tighter, but still very clean) Not too good service though, no one helped w/ our luggage, front desk not always helpful with directions nor with just calling a cab!?! Even at breakfast, the staff kept on reminding us (to hurry us up!) that it ends at 10! (Always had a wedding reception after) LOCATION though is what saved them, 3 min walk fr main st of Ginza where Mitsukoshi, Wako, Uniqlo, Zara, H&M are (abt 5-10min walk); Family Mart & Sunkus convenience stores across the st, an Ippudo (ramen) & Yabaton (miso katsu resto) down the st. All in all we would still want to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jms2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Being my first time in Tokyo, I was expecting a closet as a room. Was pleasantly surprised, as the rooms are comparable to North American room sizes - I don't know if I lucked out or this room is standard. There is a double bed that could easily fit 2 adults, with a foyer area for luggage. Buffet breakfast is quite expensive and not very good, I don't recommend eating here - there is a cafe very closeby with coffee and pastries. Wifi is terrible, signal is in and out so hard wiring computer is a must to get any consistent connection, LAN cable is provided in the desk drawer. Water bottle from the mini fridge is only a dollar (100 yen) so they are not trying to rip you off. Overall, great place. Would recommend to visitors of Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyeleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Ginza

Property: Hotel Monterey Ginza
Address: 2-10-2 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monterey Ginza is a classic boutique-style hotel nestled in the heart of Ginza. The location is ideal for shopping, sightseeing and business, while from the moment you enter the relaxed interior of the lobby you will be able to forget the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. We hope you will take advantage of this "little hideaway" in the middle of Ginza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Ginza Chuo
Hotel Monterey Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing