We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seamon

Seamon
Ranked #16 of 7,726 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The food and service is amazing at Seamon. The head chef takes so much time in preparing and then explaining each dish. For me the best sushi I have had. All staff are there to make your meal something to remember

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Maybe the best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've been eating sushi for 40+ years - long before it became popular outside the Japanese communities of our urban areas. I've had some really mediocre sushi and some off the charts sushi - traditional, upscale, innovative - you name it.

But I have never had better sushi or more expertly presented sushi.

My wife, foodie and apprentice sushi expert and I explained our love affair with this delightful way to eat to the concierge at the Conrad, Tokyo in Ginza. I had to emphasize several times that we "REALLY" knew sushi, we ate everything that swam in the sea, attached itself to rocks or burrowed in the sand, and price was no object.

Finally, he said - OK, I will send you to a special place - and he did.

We opted for the Omakase selection at 15,000 yen. We that given the ambiance, the presentation and the incredible quality and diversity of the offerings (and the fact that it was in one of the most expensive urban areas on the planet) that it was a bargain. We loved every dish and every minute of our Tokyo experience. Since we routinely spend $60 - 70 per person at our favorite Gardena, CA (just south of LA with a very large Japanese population) outstanding quality hole in the wall (without sake), $150 per person for this kind of experience in Ginza seemed just fine.

If high end sushi is one of your things and you find yourself in Tokyo - give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Amazing restaurant. You sit at the bar, with all the sushi being prepared right in front of you. Good explanation about all the different fish by the chef. Very very fresh, amazing taste!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1979sec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible service and sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful multi course set lunch menu that we thought was incredible value (35$/pp) given the quality of food and service. Very easy to find and a cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite restaurant in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We are sushi neophytes so we asked our guide to take us to her favorite place, and Seamon was it. Every course was prepared right in front of our eyes and was totally fresh and delicious. Standouts were sea bream, black-throated perch, Spanish mackerel, squid and fatty tuna. Also watching Sushi Master Ueoka Masaki peeling a radish into one long strip with a knife like Tony Perkins used in Psycho was an amazing sight.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seamon also viewed

 

Been to Seamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing