We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy and satisfied”
Review of Ukaitei

Ukaitei
Ranked #11 of 7,967 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy and satisfied”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Best teppanyaki in Japan! The only Michelin-Star teppanyaki restaurant in Japan. Ordered the set meanu. Super generous portions, probably gained 10 pounds after this meal but so worth it! Everything was so delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HKPrincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife made the booking and we went for a teppanyaki lunch. We were seated at the teppanyaki counter of course where we can see how each course was made. The course we selected was plenty and the service was absolutely amazing, will go again if I visit Tokyo. The waiting area before seating is like a personal museum by the owner.

Helpful?
Thank occasionshucchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Sat at the bar. Enjoyed the art of cooking which was displayed in front if me. Absolutely delicious and extremely refined. Very expensive too!

Helpful?
Thank Desmaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toluca lake
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at Westin and the lunch was an amazing experience.The food was meticulously prepared and the chef and staff were very attentive.
If you are in Tokyo even for a day don't miss on this experience.you will not regret.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagopyouredjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perfect Service”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My Tokyo guide suggested this Teppanyaki restaurant as I had a sudden craving for the best Japanese beef whilst walking in Ginza. I had no prior knowledge of this venue.

Teppanyaki is not just about great food - it is the atmosphere, the service as well as whether the chef is skilful in both cooking and conversation. Our chef was excellent - very experienced cook with just the right amount of communication.

One could be excused for thinking that we are in an exclusive antique shop as we walked through the entrance. The wooden beams on the ceiling were an unusual red colour and design. We were served a welcome tea in the lounge, before our coats were collected and we were taken into the main dining room.

As we walked along the corridor, I stopped at the glassed wine cellar and was surprised by the great collection of French red wines. The main dining room had a special French atmosphere mixed with oriental ambience.

Waiter service was excellent. The menu is not extensive and we ordered the special Chef menu even though it was lunch time as it was not a big meal - the quality of the abalone and beef was excellent. I immediately asked my guide to make a reservation for dinner 2 nights later so that I could sample their wine.

I rate this restaurant by a combination of service, ambience and food quality - though I must say that Nadaman Restaurant in Hong Kong also provides the best quality products in the Teppanyaki section of their restaurant - it lacks the rare atmosphere of this venue.

Ukaitei makes sure that clients enjoy exclusive dessert service by providing exquisite small tables away from the Teppanyaki cooking plates. One can enjoy an after-lunch dessert and coffee in a different section.

It was a most satisfying experience and we are certainly looking forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ukaitei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing