We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake up early--this is worth seeing!”
Review of The Tsukiji Market

The Tsukiji Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.58*
and up
Private Asakusa, Tsukiji Fish Market and Sumo Stable Tour Including Water Bus...
Ranked #1 of 111 Shopping in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Great place to visit if you love to eat fresh fish or sushi. Choose from a variety of welcoming shops and restaurants. Fish is also sold in this market but be sure to arrive early as the best fish tends to sell out early in the morning.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wake up early--this is worth seeing!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We woke up at 0400 to get to see the famous tuna auction at 0530. The tour--which is free--only accepts 120 people and the auction ends at 0615. It was amazing to see the auction in action and also great to see the fish's progression from being purchased to being prepared at the table. Right after the auction, we had meguro and salmon (raw tuna and raw salmon) inside the market--it was delicious! This experience really sealed our appreciation for Japan and is definitely worth the early wake up and chilly jog to the train to see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,481
    1,719
    577
    95
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit but arrive by 4am”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Arrived at 5am for the Tuna auction, as all the places had been reserved, so get there by 4! Easy if you are jet lagged from Europe! Had fun anyway in the general market - very exciting to have tuna belly sushi for breakfast at 6 am! A couple of interesting places too to buy Japanese knives.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nothing like it anywhere!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Get there early, be prepared to get your feet wet, and be alert for all the equipment darting around! I had breakfast at one of the small sushi restaurants there, it was great, sushi and beer at 6 am. But I did develop a severe case of food poisoning that sort of ruined the rest of my day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Largest wet market indeed”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was my first time visiting the place and I did not have a hard time finding it. From the outer area,you can easily notice a lot of stands and vendors selling their goods. In the outside area ,there are lot of Ramen stands,most of them I would say are popular since the people don't bother to fall in line just to have/taste them. In terms of cleanliness, it's not that neat but who cares.Since it's a wet market so at first I expected it to be exactly a wet market. Anything you wish for (different kinds of seafood and fishes) can be bought here. Now if you want to go there just to hmm...,let say sightseeing,take some pictures,or just want to visit (like me hehe) then don't worry. Although the place is kind of narrow (especially in the inner part),you can still bring your camera and take pictures.Just take note that some vendors don't want their stores to be taken off picture,but that is a very rare case. Inside you can see free taste foods just to "endorse" their goods, and when I went there,there were two guys performing tuna slicing (and there was the other guy in that store/stand shouting "mou chotto mae itte mo ii desu yo! sasshin mo totte mo ii desu yo!" meaning you can still move forward and take some pictures). There were lot of "gaijin" or foreigners in the market.I think all of them went just for sightseeing. The prices at Tsukiji market compared with supermarkets are really cheaper (no doubt). Imagine you can buy here a 1000 Yen tuna which,in supermarkets,will cost you around 2000-2500 yen.Well if you can speak Japanese then you can still lower that price,maybe ^^,. Ah I almost forgot! When you are planning to buy let say fish,then worrying about how to carry it since you'll ride in a train (or maybe you just don't feel carrying it,or maybe worrying for its freshness),then you can ship it via frozen "Takkyubin" or frozen carrier service. I saw lot of buyers filling up some forms of Takkyubin to ship the goods they bought directly to their houses.I think it will cost you around 800 Yen ( quite expensive) if ship around Tokyo.To conclude with, visiting Tsukiji market is really worth it. It would be better if you go and try to buy something to really feel how wet market goes..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chef in fish market ”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow i could live haer best sushi as one would expect . Bought some knives and enjoyed the sights and sounds was like going to Mecca for a chef

Helpful?
Thank Warwicktheman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Tsukiji Market also viewed

 

Been to The Tsukiji Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing