We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Kobe Beef” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza

Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza
Ranked #39 of 7,834 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kobe Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best steaks I have ever had. The service was excellent, the pricing as with many restaurants in Tokyo was high but definitely worthwhile.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EPTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    15
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal ever. Period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I thought I had eaten great steak before. I was wrong. Everything else is McDonald's ground beef compared to the kobe beef at Kawamura. The meal my wife and I shared at the Ginza location was the most memorable part of our trip to Tokyo.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RayrayHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of the Kobe beef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent place to try Kobe beef in Tokyo. They do take their beef seriously in this teppanyaki restaurant which is devoted to the Kobe beef. The place is a bit difficult to find as it is on the upper floor of a building in Ginza. The place feels like an American steak house but that is the only similarity it has with it's American counterpart. We had a full course dinner starting with carpaccio of Kobe beef followed by foie gras and then oxtail soup. The Kobe beef itself was amazing. It was worth all the hype and dollars. I have had nothing like it in the US.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Memorable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the things I love about traveling are trying local foods, meeting new people and learning about different cultures, so I really enjoyed my meal here. This is a teppanyaki restaurant and the chef spoke English so was able to tell us about the Kobe beef while he was preparing our meal. This was a great experience as I didn't know very much about authentic Kobe beef before dining here. The food was amazing and I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. We were also shown the cow's certificate at the end of the meal, complete with nose print (which did make me feel a little sad... but at least she was appreciated). Definitely worth a visit if you are in Japan as true Kobe beef is only available in Japan, Macau and Hong Kong, and apparently this place is one of the best Kobe restaurants (it came highly recommended by the Conrad, Tokyo where we were staying). The American "Kobe" beef is not authentic and does not come from Japan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Kobe Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We got the manager/chef that speaks very good English and he was such a great "tour guide" for our first Kobe experience. He told us all about the certifications of Kobe beef and was so friendly and fun. The food was beyond our expectations. We tried the bottom tier grade and the top tier grade and they were both amazing but you could tell a slight difference but no matter which one you choose you will be completely satisfied. Definitely want to go back on our next trip to Tokyo!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza also viewed

 

Been to Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing