We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most interactive and delicious dining experience ”

Tapas Molecular Bar
Ranked #1 of 10,003 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $177 - $253
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Description: With only eight seats, our one-Michelin starred Tapas Molecular Bar offers an exclusive dining experience celebrating the art of innovative molecular cuisine. Situated within the chic Oriental Lounge on the 38th floor, the bar serves a range of delicious dishes in the traditional sushi-bar style.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

This review is very long overdue. We came here 2 years ago to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and it was nothing short of innovative and memorable. Chef Ping is truly a master of his craft. Not only did he give us a view into the world of molecular gastronomy with his very immersive dining experience, but each course was quite spectacular. Loved the toll box and “measuring tape” menu...it really adds the appropriate touch to the style of the meal. The duck cigars, lamb lollipops were only two of several courses that were unlike anything I have had before. A true experience for any foodie wishing for a change of pace & preparation of one of the best culinary cities in the world.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ShaanS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Tapas Molecular Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ShaanS74

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments at Tapas Molecular Bar.
Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 562 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

We were in two minds booking this as it was so expensive, but as we aren't planning on going back to Tokyo any time soon, we decided last min to we would go and am so i glad we did.
Located on the 38th floor (with an incredible view of Tokyo), it was a very intimate setting with only 8 of us. We sat just behind the head chef Ping, and it was fascinating watching him work on each dish. He was very friendly and explained each course perfectly.
We both loved how interactive the experience was, including the little tool box you were provided with to use on the various courses. I won't go into too much detail about what you do, but it was great fun! The food was amazing, especially the truffle croque monsieur that I could have eaten about ten of.
We both had so much fun and it was a perfect ending to our amazing stay in Japan.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Pinkiestlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Tapas Molecular Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Pinkiestlady

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments at Tapas Molecular Bar.
Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

An amazing culinary journey with chef Kento. 14 magical bites in an exciting and fun performance. Creative ideas.. Great food.. Great ideas..

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank KJbahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Tapas Molecular Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear KJbahrain

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments at Tapas Molecular Bar.

Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

An intimate 8-seater serving 2 performances a night with an expansive view of downtown Tokyo. Attention is focused behind the counter, however, as the amenable Canadian Japanese chef assembles his fascinating formulae. Focused on flavour and texture, where nothing is quite as it appears, Chef provides a fluent narrative of his inspiration, production method, and handling instructions. The result is masterful and accessible, without the obsequiousness of some pre-eminent establishments in the molecular gastronomy universe. Accomplished yet unpretentious, this is a great experience, timed to a modest 2 hours and a fair chunk out of your wallet. (The wine flight pairing, was disappointingly mediocre, however)

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MCMLXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Tapas Molecular Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear MCMLXIII

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments at Tapas Molecular Bar.

Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Spectacular dinner at HK-born Chef Ping's Tapas Molecular Bar at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo this evening. Been a while since I've enjoyed a performance dinner so much. The Peking duck cigar and chicken roulade are simply out of this world.

Michelin gives this 8-seat restaurant one star. It's a travesty. This place runs rings around the fantastically overpriced, 3 starred Per Se in New York (which served deep-fried soft-shell crab in green curry with rice as part of their degustation menu).

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank SheldyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Tapas Molecular Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Dear SheldyC

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have given careful consideration to each of your comments at Tapas Molecular Bar.
Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Molecular Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tapas Molecular Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing