We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Shimbashi Geisha dancing festival

We were lucky enough to be in Tokyo at the time of the Shimbashi Geisha dancing festival. So we... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2018
jeanfran_oist800
,
Montreal, Canada
Great place to see Kabuki

This theatre is conveniently located just around the corner and about 10 minutes walk from the... read more

Reviewed February 4, 2017
brixtontrev
,
london
Read all 85 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chuo
from $56.14
More Info
from $61.76
More Info
from $119.82
More Info
from $123.29
More Info
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
16
48
17
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
48
17
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This is the place to go to catch a real, legit, non-touristy kabuki. They don't even have an English guide. If something like that turns you off, stay away, but if you love performing arts, you'll be so glad you came. Incredibly well done performance with a great environment. Make sure to buy a bento box for the intermission as the performances can be quite long.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017

This theatre is conveniently located just around the corner and about 10 minutes walk from the Kabukiza theatre and Tsukiji Fish Market. Kabuki performances are often put on here and the theatre is comfortable and has great access. They sell plenty of Kabuki souvenirs when the plays are on and there are food outlets as many people eat at their seats during the main break, an old practice called Kabesu. Rumours have it that food is banned at some theatres but not here thankfully as Kabesu is an intrinsic part of the whole Kabuki experience

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank brixtontrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I enjoyed a musical, "Tanuki Palace" (A tanuki is a racoon dog) with my wife. There were many actors and actresses we know about, including Kizuki Minami and Chika Midori from a TV Show, "Karaoke Battle." There was their singing battle scene as we expected. The show itself was a mixture of musical, Kabuki, opera, a bit of "Phantom of the Opera," samba, Japanese drums, and whatever they can think of. By the way, having bento boxes during an intermission is a Japanese tradition, Unfortunately, choices and the number of bento boxes available are very limited around Shimbashi Enbujo Theater unlike Kabukiza theater with many stored on its basement. I suggest that you first get bento boxes at Ginza Mitsukoshi where there are abundant choices of bento boxes and then walk over to the theater. Do not forget to get something to drink, too. Drinks from the vending machines inside are mighty expensive.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 175ryusukem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

went to see shota totsukas 戸塚祥太 play here on may the 24th
netorare sosuke
i went alone and dident really know what i was doing but the staff were freindly and helpful.

i waited 10 years to see my idol and my dream came true that day.
my first trip to japan and it was my last day that day,..
what a day to end it.
wish i could of met him personaly though, would of been amazing.
Hope to see 戸塚祥太 agen some day.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2016

Here to watch February Classic Comedies with my wife. This theater used to put traditional Kabuki often while Kazukiza was being renovated, but not any more. Lunch boxes are sold around the theater, but they get sold out quickly as the opening time gets near. A couple of tips: it is okay and actually customary to eat lunch boxes between performances. Each curtain has its sponsor. Unlike kabuki performances, there is no English translation provided. Drinks from vending machines in the theater cost you a fortune.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank 175ryusukem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews