We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms but loved the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami
Ranked #78 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The room I stayed in at the APA Hotel Tsukiji was TINY. The width of it was literally the length of a long double bed, which itself took up 3/5ths of the room. The bath was also TINY. However, for someone who was on a business trip and only used the room to store my small cabin-luggage in and to sleep, it was more than adequate. If you were travelling with larger luggage, then space would be a real problem and you may find yourself having to step over your luggage to get out the front door.

I loved that there was a coin-operated laundry machine on the premises. And free trousers-press that you can borrow from the common area.

A great 5-mins walk from the Tsukiji station on the Tokyo Metro line, 2 convenience stores just a few doors down for getting emergency anythings, and a delightful bakery just at the entrance to the hotel, which I sometimes bought from for breakfast instead of the (delicious but severely limited option) traditional Japanese breakfast set the hotel provides.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 132 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night (~AU180/night through Rakuten travel last minute)

Good:
- short walk to Tsukiji market for auctions, close to Tsukiji station
- comfortable bed
- free WiFi

Not so good:
- small room - no room to open suitcase
- bathroom not very clean

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icecreammochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A typical small size hotel room in japan but well equiped with amenities, i really like the design of the room, its near the tsukiji fish market if you want to see how they sell fresh tuna at early morning, many restaurant nearby, a bit far though from the train station, but its affordable

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcheeweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My usual caveat: I speak pretty fluent Japanese so your experience might be different if you don't know Japanese.

Even so, this business hotel does a passable job at catering to foreigners. I stayed here with a colleague for about a week for a work trip. My colleague did not know how to speak english so I translated for him mostly, but the staff at the counter made a valiant attempt at communicating with him in English, and there are handy english instruction sheets in the room for how to use the amenities in the room (phone, wireless, TV etc).

First big warning: the rooms are SMALL. Very small. We took a double room each (and the reception asked us twice in two different languages whether it was just one of us in each room) and it was still pretty small for us. My colleague estimated that the entire room including the corridor and the bathroom was around 3 queen sized beds next to each other.

Second big warning: the beds are really soft. I was a bit worried about it given the previous reviews, and indeed it was a LOT softer than I was used to. The pillows are amazingly sturdy though. I ended up sleeping without a pillow under my head (the sturdy pillow + soft bed would mean my neck would hurt) and on my side with pillows acting as a bolster to help maintain the right posture. My colleague, on the other hand, really loved the soft bed, so I guess it's a hit and miss?

Other points of interest: The room is actually pretty well equipped, what was glaringly missing was 1. space, 2. a safe and 3, an actual closet. You get a bed, a TV with multiple (Japanese) channels, alarm clock, hair dryer, a pretty good desk, mirror (half and full length), mini-fridge with ice box, really good wireless and LAN cable, phone with automated wake up call, electric kettle (more like an air pot), mugs and tea and coffee, two hooks on the walls with four hangers (in lieu of a closet), toiletries (including full sized shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, razor, toothbrush and paste, comb and brush), a fully equipped bathroom (with bathtub and one of them really high tech toilet bowls).

There's also a coin washing machine and ice machine on the second floor. No iron though, do be warned, though they have these trouser presses on each floor.

The area around the hotel is actually nice and quiet, almost residential I would say, but a good spread of cheap and moderate hole-in-the-wall restaurants and food places. There's a bakery just next door which sells the most amazing bread, they close at 7.30PM so we usually finish our meeting, grab a taxi back, and then pop into the bakery before going back to our rooms before they close. Highly recommended. We also, under the recommendation from the front desk, popped into a hole-in-the-wall yakitori restaurant just a few doors down, amazing stuff. There's a 7-Eleven just opposite, a Lawson 100 (convenience store that also sells 100yen store stuff), a genuine mini-supermarket (with fresh produce), a 24-hour make-your-own-bento store around the corner, and if you walk down to the main road, ramen places and yoshinoya. Very convenient for food, and I'm not even talking about Tsukiji Market just nearby.

It's also about 5-10 minutes walk from the subway station Tsukiji which is on the Hibiya line, which gets you to Ginza and to further connectivity.

So I would say if you don't mind it being a little cramped and don't mind your beds a little soft, it's a pretty good and reasonable hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for at least the double bed to avoid getting claustrophobia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricepapergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at APA hotel. It was a pleasant and comfortable stay. The beds were a little too soft for our liking but nevertheless, had a great night sleep due to all the walking ard in Tokyo.
The staff do not speak much english but good enough to understand each other. The location is great! just 10 mins walk to Tsukiji station (Hibiya Line) and 15 mins walk to Shintomicho station (Yurakcho Line). This hotel is very near to the Tsukiji fish market for those who wants to go there for the early morning auctions.
There is a coffee house just next to the hotel, friendly owners of the cafe serves pretty decent coffee and toast. There are Lawson 100 and Family mart located along the street which sells the most delicious Japanese Bakeries for just 105 yen!! its a steal!! I loved the Cheese Chiffon Cake that i bought abt 20 of it back home!! hahaha~

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there! - affordable without compromising comfort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naeema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It sounded too good to be true... good rate, new hotel, great location to subway and Tsukiji Fish Market and even Ginza.

The beds were the only disappointment, but a major one. It felt like a water bed, very soft and sank right in when you sat or lay in it and I'm no giant!! (110 pounds/50 kilos) Couldn't sleep a wink, and felt too knackered to do anything from lack of sleep... it was a miserable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurydice78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night only, the last night on my 2013 Japan-Trip. I wanted a hotel (somewhat) near Tokyo-Station & didn't want to spend a lot of money, 'cause it was only for sleeping.

So I got a single room on the 2nd floor for 10.800 Yen, good price.

"Near" to Tokyo-Station is relative ... you have to walk 5-7 minutes to get to the Tsukiji-Subway-Station ... go 2 stations with the Hibiya-Line and then 1 station with the Marunouchi-Line until you're at Tokyo Station (if you choose public transportation, of course). So: All in all, from the Hotel to Tokyo-Station (e.g. Narita-Express plattform) you have to calculate 20-30 minutes.

Heard the Hotel is near to the Fishmarkt, no info about that, haven't been there.

Hotel is located in a rather small street in a nice little neighboorhood, with a Lawson-supermarket 1 minute away, a bakery nearby and some very good Sushi-restaurants as well (thanks to the fishmarkt nearby I suppose the Sushi is pretty fresh around here in the most restaurants).

@Internet: There is free WiFi available in the lobby AND (!) in the rooms!

The Hotel was the ONLY (!) hotel on my 3-week-trip through Japan that DIDN'T have a power-adapter (european vs. japanese). Didn't have a scale to weigh my luggage as well ... didn't expect it, but would have been handy.

Also: 3 of the 4 receptionists could barely speak english ... "Hello" and "Good Bye" was around 80% of their vocabulary.

The room was pretty small, nice large TV, very small bathroom/shower as well.

I think if you are in Tokyo for the fishmarket, it's a pretty nice choice (I guess).
If you're here for general sightseeing, I would recommend another hotel, one closer to a popular subway station.
If you're here for just one night (like I did), and get the room for a nice price, I think it's good choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suffix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
#19 of 97 in Chuo
222 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Viainn Higashi Ginza
Viainn Higashi Ginza
#21 of 97 in Chuo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Nihombashi Hamacho Eki Minami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami

Address: 7-10-11 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range: $47 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line "Tsukiji Station" No.1, No.2 exit, 5-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line "Shintomicho Station" No.6 exit, 7-minute walk From Toei Oedo Line "Tsukiji-Shijo Station" A1 exit, 10-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, Toei Asakusa Line "Higashi-Ginza Station" No.5 exit, 10-minute walk ■ 5-minute walk to the Tsukiji Fish Market ■ About a 10-minute train ride to Ginza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing