We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I paid $118 for a room in this hotel. The rooms are so small, that you can't fit anything in there, not even your lauggage. there isn't even a wardrobe or colset to store anything that you might have brought with you. the bed is very unconfortable. it was way too hot in the room and the AC didn't really worked. for what you get, not worth the money,

Room Tip: be sure to verify room and bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is located fairly close to a few subway stations for easy access throughout Tokyo. The cubicles, I mean rooms, are very small but extremely efficient. At least two of the rooms on the fourth floor had a gorgeous view of a wall, but if your on business who cares. The beds are soft, the rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean except for a little dust around vented areas up high. If you are an American you will find the rooms smaller than you ever experienced. All TV channels and literature are in Japanese. My large luggage had enough room to lie flat and open at the end of the bed, but hanging clothes is very limited.

The price for this was the least expensive found around Tokyo that seemed decent over the internet. You can include breakfast, but it is Japanese only and opted out. I tried it one day and didn't eat and Americans may not appreciate the food. My colleague and I usually dined across the street at the 7/11, which I have never been to one ever before this trip and I will say it was convenient, saved me from starvation and took credit cards (It is very difficult to find establishments to take credit cards in Japan, bring cash).

I stayed in Chinese hotels that were larger and more expensive, but not nearly as clean. I would pick this hotel every time. It would be nice if the Chinese would adopt the cleanliness standards of the Japanese. This is a perfect hotel if you in on business for a few days.

Room Tip: I am not sure if you go to a higher floor if you see anything. Windows only open about six inches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Generally we're shy of Tokyo and its big city prices. So we were happily surprised to find this small place at the last minute. Under $100 for the night, it was very close to the Tsukiji Fish Market, the Ginza shopping district and yet tucked away in a quiet pocket. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms quiet, clean and comfortable if small. I would definitely stay here again. There was free WiFi in the lobby, but not in the rooms though they did have modem jacks.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I needed a hotel close to Haneda for an early morning flight and was pretty tired after just flying into Narita, so I didn't want a lot of hassle. APA hotels are ubiquitous around Japan and offer low cost quality (still it was around $350, the cheapest I could find in the area). All the airport hotels close to Haneda were booked; and this hotel is walking distance to the fish market which is a bonus.

Some fun tips:
1. Rooms are tiny even by Japanese/Euro standards, but clean and comfortable. The beds are western style.
2. I got lost walking from the subway station to find the hotel, which is no fun lugging my roller bag through the streets at night by myself, cranky after a long flight. And, apparently the lines of cabs parked on the side of the road are not in service. I had to ask several that were stopped (they would motion to me that they couldn't take me, I still don't know why?) and one cabbie got out and helped me find a cab, most likely because I was about to cry at the thought of wandering around all night looking for a place to sleep. It was then a 10 minute ride.
3. The restaurant across the street serves excellent udon. The european bakery next door is unfathomably delicious and are open really early baking fresh croissants and pastries.
4. Breakfast is included. I opted for the Japanese breakfast, which consisted of a lot of fish and rice and tea, but was fresh and well appointed.
5. Plan ahead to see if the fish market is actually open. I woke up at 5 am (the time difference made it easy) to walk over to the fish market and it was closed. It is a 5 min walk to the market and still interesting to see and take photos.

Despite my logistical issues due to lack of planning, it was a fine experience. The hotel staff are helpful and nice, and speak English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is very clean and functional, athough the rooms are very, very small. I had a single room, and you get only about 50cm between the bed and the wall.
Having said that it is very good value for Tokyo and a 5 minute stroll to Tsukiji Fish Market, but in a very quiet location.
The hotel staff are very friendly.

(There is a free detailed area map at the Metro station with the hotel highlighted, pick one up to avoid getting lost!)

Next door to the hotel there is a lovely bakery

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satyavrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well-located, room was perfectly nice and service reasonably helpful. Modern and clean. A fairly typical business hotel but very good quality for the price. Especially recommended if you want to visit the Tsukiji fish market in the early morning.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Traveler3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Need to find a low cost quality hotel experience in the middle of Tokyo/Ginza/Chuo
High recommendation for any APA hotel. With some 100 hotels across Japan these high quality hotel offers small rooms that are well appointed, comfortable and have touches of class and convenience. Ideal for a business man.. costs are around 40-70Y or $50-100 a night. The boutique stylish, clean, comfy, safe, secure feel of this hotel 2 blocks from St. Luke Medical Center Towers is nestled in a quaint and clean Tsukiji side street.

First you notice the burned orange "shrine" style entrance to this 11 story hotel.
The young attractive professional front desk staff is always on duty and notices who is coming and going. It requires a room key to get in the elevator which never is crowded even when the hotel is full. There are about 6 rooms on each floor. The electronic key swipe lets you in a Japan style tiny carpeted room which is about 8 ft wide enough for bed, desk and just enough room at foot of bed for luggage.. nice.. 24" flat screen HD TV, free wired internet, slim phone all elegant and stylish.. reflecting the taste and feminine touches of the APA chain owner.. a woman.

The bathroom is small but larger than other business hotels hotel toilets that look like airplane toilets. They are clean, bright with an eco tub, big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body soap. It has a Japanese toilet with bidet and heated water that washes your bottom..I just love that America is third world in this respect.

There is a large mirror. Comp razor, toothbrush, toothpaste. Towels are thick and the tiled walls are clean. IF you shower and forget to put on the fan.. there is a none fog section of the mirror over the sink.. attention to detail is spot on. Did I mention that the toilets washes your butt with warm water shower and soft music? I stayed a week and loved this hotel and made a travel video for youtube. The Kimono robes are cleaned daily and come with tiny origami paper cranes. The clock is sylish, the fridge is big enough for sake and large cans of Yebisu.

The bed is so comfortable.. down filled white comforter and pillows with buckweat on one side and fluff on the other. The window have double curtains.. and opens allowing fresh air which is important to me as I live in Hawaii .. it is quite and big enough for 2 but then the rate is doubled. APA is not widely advertised but can be found via Ryoken booking system in Japan which favors Japanese traveler but I like not having loud foreigners in the hotel.. Even when I could not find a room of any kind on Saturday night, APA had a place for me and I will now be loyal to this hotel chain. The rate is also double on weekends when people come from the country to Ginza to walk down Ginza Dori to see and be seen.

I have stayed in all the best 5 star hotels around the world and some of the worst as well.. and for the price.. and comfort and being the best small hotel in Tsukiji a few minutes from the fish market, across Sumida bridge to Tsukushima monja street dining or Tsukuda island shrines, 15 minutes to middle of Ginza and a casual 25 minute walk to the Imperial Palace I was a tourist in Heaven. Arigato to the staff who always gave this traveler respect and a smile.

There is great small restaurant on the front street.. with Japanese breakfast for $12. There is a mom and pop restaurant 350Y for coffee and a cigarette.. and a french pastry shop next door. This is ideal hotel for anyone or even a couple who want to experience Chuo and dont need an expensive hotel to impress clients.

What more can I say.. there is a 7-11 across the street, all night food on the corner.. there are 3 parks close by.. there are many great little restaurants and bars on the sidestreets the Tsumida River is 2 blocks ..a 15 minute walk through the fishmarket to the Dentsu Bldg.

The cleaning staff is courteous, fast and miss nothing.

Room Tip: APA motto is "Best for the Guest," based on the concept of providing the warmth and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamakanuiahailono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
#17 of 96 in Chuo
216 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Viainn Higashi Ginza
Viainn Higashi Ginza
#28 of 96 in Chuo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Keikyu EX Inn Higashiginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami

Address: 7-10-11 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range: $52 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line "Tsukiji Station" No.1, No.2 exit, 5-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line "Shintomicho Station" No.6 exit, 7-minute walk From Toei Oedo Line "Tsukiji-Shijo Station" A1 exit, 10-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, Toei Asakusa Line "Higashi-Ginza Station" No.5 exit, 10-minute walk ■ 5-minute walk to the Tsukiji Fish Market ■ About a 10-minute train ride to Ginza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing