We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yen for Yen, the best sushi value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Sushi

Daiwa Sushi
Ranked #5 of 7,726 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
washington, dc
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yen for Yen, the best sushi value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Like most of the best restaurants in Tokyo, the place is tiny - 2 rooms side by side, each with a counter that seats maybe 10 people. We had a short wait in line -- only about 20 minutes (unlike the hour or 2 that many people report, but it helps to get there early, e.g., 7 am). The set menu at 3500 Yen is a great deal. Everything was delicious, but we had without a doubt the best uni I've ever tasted. By far. It helps that we were there during the short Hokkaido uni season. You can taste the difference. The toro was also outstanding, but it usually is in Tokyo. Although Tsukiji has become overrun with tourists, still worth rising with the sun and heading there for a great sushi breakfast washed down with an ice cold Sapporo beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    109
    35
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mind blowing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This tiny, 12-seater restaurant is in the heart of the Tokyo fish market. The line was long (about 2.5 hours), but the fresh-from-the sea sushi was well worth the wait. This is a great thing to do first thing after an overnight flight especially when jet lag is working in your favor, besides, watching the morning bustle of the fish market helps pass the time along. There are two set menus (7 pieces and 11 pieces). The sushi is chosen by the three chefs who treat the sushi preparation as an art. Make sure to listen to them about how to eat each piece - some are meant to have flavor added and others not.

If you can, go with a group so that someone can hold your place in line while others shop the little stores. Dishware, teas and other things are available at very decent prices. Do bring your own coffee, though, it is a rare an expensive commodity once you get to the market.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Just Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say: it's just sushi, fresh but forgettable sushi. The two of us had the set menu plus two more pieces of sushi and tea and paid AUD$86. We sat and the chef immediately asked us what we wanted and suggested the menu but unfortunately we couldn't know what we were eating exactly as the chef's English was very limited. There is not much time to talk or enjoy the atmosphere because there are tons of people waiting so the chefs want you to leave as soon as possible and you also are aware of that people in the queue, so the "experience" lasted about 25 minutes.

We initially wanted to go to Sushi Dai but the waiting was about 3 hours and God no way! We got there at about 6 am and the queue was already very long, I guess some of them were lucky to see the auction and once finished, they started to queue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Probably the BEST sushi bar in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When the old matser chef greeted us and choose for us what to eat I knew there would be nowhere to go wrong...it was simlpy sublime. Percetion. He didn't speak English nor did it matter. When he asked what we want to repeat, I wanted to should; ALL. simply trust him to feed you the best, fresh, and eqixtuite sushi ever!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stood in line for an hour to eat at Daiwazushi after a morning visit to the Tsukiji market. Really, we don't understand the fuss over this place. Yes, the fish is fresh but we've eaten just as fresh - and better - in other Tokyo sushi restaurants at half the price and without the hour-long wait. Save your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RedstoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daiwa Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Daiwa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing