We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding Kobe beef. Good atmosphere and efficient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gyuan

Gyuan
Ranked #8 of 7,723 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Description: Shop close. Sunday &. National holiday Lunch time Last order. 1:45pm Dinner time. Last guest. 9:00pm Reservation (only dinner). 5:30pm - 8:30 pm
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Kobe beef. Good atmosphere and efficient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

While expensive (Kobe beef and salad around 85 USD) but was just remarkable and divine. Small portion but wonderful. Must try while in Tokyo. Need to remove shoes so have socks. Have low style or higher tables. Wonderful experience. We did not have our younger kids but there were some in the restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    76
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best beef I ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I can't really compare to other Kobe places since this was the first Kobe Beef I've had. Still, this was the best beef I've ever had in my life.

Very expensive, but totally worth it. You have to take your shoes off and you get a choice of high or low table. We picked the low table, and there's space for your legs underneath (basically a hole under the table) even though you're basically sitting on the floor.

One of the waitresses spoke English very well. We had some trouble paying by credit card at first (because it required PIN code), but they figured it out eventually.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elqueffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Delicious beef in a traditional restaurant (you have to remove shoes but there are some western tables!). Not cheap and the meal was served quickly but a very enjoyable evening if you want to try Japanese beef in a more local setting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great food and service. Kobe..... mind blowing :). Me and my girlfriend had syúkyiaki kobe biff and it was soperb :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with an old world atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great Kobe beef steaks at very reasonable prices.

This restaurant is in many travel books and the majority of the guests are non Japanese guest enjoying a great steak.

I was there with 2 Middle Eastern friends and they selected the largest cut of Kobe beef (300 gms). The meat was cooked to perfection and cubed before it was served. Making it perfect to handle with chop sticks.

Its a great restaurant with friendly staff and an English menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Imtiaz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyuan also viewed

 

Been to Gyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing