We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sense

Sense
Ranked #24 of 7,962 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $126
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Virginia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Magnificent View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the Cantonese restaurant on the 37th floor of the Mandarin Oriental in downtown Tokyo. There are $200 dinners to be had here, but if you show a little restraint, you can have a very satisfying dinner for two down to a tad over $100. The preparation and service are elegant. We had turnip soup for a starter, and grouper, and all was delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    46
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fancy tea hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great time whatching a beautiful sun set behind Fuji. We went for a tea hour in Mandarim without knowing what to expect. First we were going because the name of the hotel and to see the view. Well, the food was more than enough and the staff is great. At the end we had a relaxing time there tasting different types of tea and enjoying every thing. I would like to add that it's much too sweet foodfor a person who doesn't like that much sugar or for a diabetic person. And take yor camera while going to the restroom as the view from inside there is awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank GigiBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Amazing food with great service you must try the Peking duck

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank skipAussieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Best Chinese restaurant in town with excellent service. I felt so respected and appreciated when dining here. The food was flavorful but not too oily or greasy which I liked very much. The view was also too good to be true.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank transformer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I don t know what are all others saying about this restaurant since everything is written in Japanese, but I need to say it was fantastic! Watermelon Pure with Lemon Jelly and Collagen of Basil Seed and Mint Fragrance all together with Pork Spare Ribs were absolutely fantastic. We really enjoyed visiting and having food in this restaurant. A memorable experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter22109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sense also viewed

 

Been to Sense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing