We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While you're in the neighbourhood...”
Review of Sushidai

Sushidai
Ranked #6 of 7,942 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“While you're in the neighbourhood...”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

... and if you are very patient and willing wait in the loooong queue... you will be rewarded! You cannot get any fresher sushi than this, almost straight out from the water and directly to your plate - although all sushi is supposed to be super-fresh in Japan.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloiseEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    133
    44
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
recompose
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“For Tourists”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Sushi Dai got internet famous a many years ago because they got reviewed by a few English speaking bloggers right around the magical time when food blogging and traveling to Japan was just becoming the popular it-thing to do. The rest is history. Nowadays, its just weebo circle-jerking hype.

The sushi was good, but it's nothing special compared to the surrounding area. Omakase is pretty common throughout Japan. Having limited seating in small shops is also the norm, not a statement in exclusivity. The young chef here at Sushi Dai furthest away from the door is green at best when compared to the rest in the Tokyo sushi chef scene.

Given that you are in Tsukiji, there are lots of other sushi options. Even sushi served edo-mae styled, which is what they do here at Sushi Dai. Although I doubt anyone comes here specifically for the edo-mae sushi. The vast majority of those who waits in the stupidly long line to eat sushi at Sushi Dai probably has no idea what edo-mae styled is.

If you are a tourist who don't know jack about sushi, don't know how/don't have the guts to explore, and is only coming to Sushi Dai because of all the great internet reviews that you have read, you will love it here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank recompose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brutal Wait... You'll Be Glad You Did It”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

So the wait is no joke at all... I got there just before 6, after doing the tuna auction (another long wait). Was seated just before 9 so three hours on the dot. The wait sucks as you're outside in the sun for most of it. The last portion you're crammed up against the windo which makes it worse because you're staring at people eating the delicious food and you get even more hungry. BUT THEN YOU GET INSIDE! It's a tiny place, 12 maybe 14 seats with three sushi dudes and two hostess/waitress. They greet in the typical sushi fashion (shouting hello and welcome) and are very nice. The hostess gets you set up outside so you're all set when you get in. Only two options, small or large omakase. Go for the large, after the wait you deserve it! Comes with 10 chef choice nigiri (you can tell the hostess if you don't like anything, but try it all!), one 4 piece roll, miso soup, and the best tamago I've ever had. So sweet, right in the middle of the sushi rounds. Then at the end you get to pick you're favorite and have it again! Each piece hits you one at a time and they explain how to eat it (I.e. No soy sauce for this one). Take their advice, it's all part of it! Not gonna lie, I've had better Toro (go to Midori in Shibuya for that), but the quality and variety was all top notch. The lean tuna was the most red I've ever seen and so tasty. We had some type of crab that was still moving when it hit the plate. Scary, but super tasty. I thought 4,000 yen out the door was perfectly priced and would happily suffer the wait again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Logan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh man.....”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Oh man this place is unbelievable! 1st you have to wait up to 3 hours until you get seated ( well there are only 12 seats!), once it's your turn, you think you'll have your sushi plate...wrong, the chef prepare one by one and poses in front of you...it took me only few seconds to finish my 1st ( 12 total)... But the that moment lasts very long... I can't even explain how tasty, how fantastic it was... It's a great experience in a tiny place.
It's absolutely worth waiting ( we waited 2,5 hrs in the sun, they will help you with an umbrella and usually with water)... Wait, wait, wait....you'll get everything back...the price is great value ( 4000 for the chef's choice + beer)...
My problem is, once back to Milan , whee am I gonna eat sushi?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sezgin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever, worth the long long wait”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

By far the best sushi I've ever had and I say this as a savvy nyc girl who has been to every high priced sushi restaurant in town. The sushi pieces look a little scary but the flavor of each one was just amazing- they did not even need soy sauce. Even strong fish like mackerel had a subtle flavor with great depth. Apparently the wait is generally 4 hours but I waited 2 1/2 on a weekday that was fairly slow. All I can say is it's worth it.

They have two price fix options $26 and $40. I got the $26 thinking that I wasn't hungry enough to get the $40 but I fully regret it. The $40 option is only marginally more pieces than the $26 but the quality is much better than the $26. If you only go to one restaurant in Tokyo, this should be it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushidai also viewed

 

Been to Sushidai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing