We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ginza Capital Hotel Main
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rather poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is in need of a make over, even as little as a fresh coat of paint and new carpets. It somehow feels dingy, ok for 1 night stay but not more. Otherwise, as expected, small rooms, cleanleaness OK and service also OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cromos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    58
    74
    13
    2
See reviews for
20
11
35
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed a night hear at Ginza Capital as a friend had a wedding at a nearby place in the Tsukiji Fish Market.
The place is not modern at all but the staff were polite and helpful enough.
There are wifi mini routers you can borrow at the front desk if you need a wifi connection.
The rooms are relatively small with and they still use keys as opposed to room cards like most hotels now-a-days.
Stayed in March so no air conditioning was not a problem, but I could imagining that would be tough in the summers.
Overall nothing over the top, but nothing overly much to complain about considering the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flames89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a good hotel if on a tight budget, as it is on a good location with the 2 metro station close by... The downside is no air conditioning , you have to open the windows especially at night.
Staff very helpful and polite .No wifi in the room , you have to rent out a router. But otherwise, a good and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 103lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room is small but it is clean, comfortable & equipped with adequate amenities such as a small TV, 80's bedside radio-control embedded, a water-mug boiler, & a small fridge. The bathroom is small but I do not mind as it is clean & still comes with an extra small bathtub & a Japanese-made hi-tech toilet bowl. Their conventional metal room key gives a nostalgic feeling.
Front Desk Receptionists are friendly & speak good English. There is free high speed Wi-Fi available at the lobby. The hotel has a strategic location which is very near to Tokyo famous Tsukiji Fish Market, about 15 mins walking distance, &it is also very near to one of the subway train station.
It is indeed worth the money & perfect for budget travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is close to the Tsukiji Fish Market, about 15 mins walk. They have a well drawn map to go to the fish market from the hotel. Ask the staffs about it, and yes, they do speak in English.

We travel on budget and because this hotel is close to Tsukiji Fish Market, we booked it and I would consider this hotel something close to luxury to us. Oh, it's kind of hard to locate the hotel at first. I actually walked pass the hotel twice because its English signage is small. If you walked and reached Chuo's Ward Office from the subway, it means you have passed it. Walk back 1 min and its main entrance is grey in color if my memory didn't fails me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Brand new and extremely modern hotel. Beautiful and sleek lobby. Unique rooms with excellent views. Best hotel pool I have ever used. Several excellent Asian and Western restaurants. Top notch service. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Ginza Capital Hotel Main is a basic 2 star hotel. Clientel mostly local Japanese tourists with a couple of foreigners including me and my friend. English speaking staff adequate. Twin bed room is small but as I expected because all things in Japan are small size. Being American of Japanese ancestry I'm small anyway so the room was enough for me to get by. However the bathroom was a little too small for my taste.
I like that the hotel was just less than 5 minutes from subway station & 10min walk to Tsukiji Market. The hotel also sells a subway 1 or 2 day pass good for 9 Tokyo Metro lines. So it was very easy to go all over Tokyo if you have the subway map/guide. The hotel also offers a free bus shuttle service to Tokyo Station every morning. We took advantage of that when we checked out and bought a JR rail ticket from Tokyo Station to Narita Airport. So much cheaper than using the limosine bus service.
Highly recommend the Ginza Capital Main Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laxlady2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Amanek Ginza East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
#14 of 91 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
#15 of 91 in Chuo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginza Capital Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginza Capital Hotel Main

Property: Ginza Capital Hotel Main
Address: 2-1-4 Tsukiji, Chuo-ku, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginza Capital Hotel Main 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginza Capital Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginza Capital Hotel Main Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing