We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for family of 5”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in the junior suite B (the A suite is a smoking room). We are a family of 5. 2 adults and 3 kids aged 10,8 and 5. They let us all stay in the suite which is for 4 normally as the 3rd child was only 5 so went free. I think this changes at aged 6. Anyway after hours internet searching many other hotels in Tokyo there was no other hotel that did this and I paid the same for the suite that other hotels were charging for one room with max 2-3 occupants. The hotel was in an ideal location. We flew into Narita and got the train to the main station. Short walk to hotel with clear directions. We travelled around mostly using the underground trains. Station round the corner from hotel. We went to imperial palace and did open top bus tour. All walking distance from hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. With kimonos for us all to wear which was good fun and a pair wooden slippers for the little outside deck which was a nice place to have breakfast. They gave us a little welcome pack for the 5 year old with tiny slippers and toothbrush in which was a nice touch. In the reception on the 15th floor with great views the kids loved making us adults pots of tea which you weighed out the tea on little scales. The staff were lovely and helpful. Their English wasn't always great but with patience and cultural understanding on a guests part, you couldn't fail to get good service as they were very thorough in helping us with all our sightseeing requests. We didn't eat there so can't comment on that. It was a great base for us and we had a great time. Next time we go to Japan we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sparing the time to leave us such a wonderful review! Your feedback means a lot, and we were delighted to know that you will come back to HOTEL RYUMEIKAN TOKYO. We also happy to hear that you enjoyed Japanese night ware (Yukata) and wooden slippers. We are always thinking how much our guest enjoy our Japanese service ("OMOTENASHI") . We look forward to welcoming you again and to feel more Japanese culture!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    369
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
243
501
158
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Located in a very convenient, central part of the city, providing easy access to all the highlights of Tokyo. The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained, and all the staff very helpful and courteous. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for you taking time to write your recent review and for your recommendation.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at HOTEL RYUMEIKAN TOKYO.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at the hotel during holiday. Location was fantastic...walking distance to Tokyo station, imperial palace and you can catch a direct bus right in front of the hotel, which is very convenient. Family mart is also just a stone throw away.

The hotel service is excellent. Although there are only about 2 - 3 staff at the receptionist (no concierge), they are all very helpful and speak good English. They helped me to book restaurants and the tickets for the bus transfer to airport.

The hotel provides all the essential amenities and more, such as kimono. It also has laundry machine and vending machine for drinks, which can be very handy.

Room though is a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalan2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience with us at HOTEL RYUMEIKAN TOKYO. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights while seeing the sights in and around Tokyo. We booked a basic room which was a great value for the Tokyo Station area. Our only compliants were the minuscule size of the room which barely accommodated 2 average large Americans and the fact that the room lacked a closet or any type of drawers which made it necessary to live out of our suitcases, not an easy task given the size of the room. I may have had a smaller room once in a hotel on the Left Bank in Paris many years ago but I really think this one was smaller. Otherwise, what the other reviews say about the positives of this hotel are pretty much reflected in our experience. A 10 minute walk from Tokyo Station where you can get the JR Rail circle line around the city to connect to any subway line in the city (buy tickets based on the fare to your destination at the automated ticket machines which have a large map in English and Japanese above the machines), a bullet train, or the express train ( reserved seating train or unreserved seating train, but tickets at the JR Rail office in the station) to Narita. There is also an express bus to Narita right in front of the hotel ( buy tickets in the Family Mart store). The streets across from the station and adjacent to the hotel are full of cafes,, a Starbucks, bars, and Karaoke places. It was bustling after work and during the dinner hour. On the other side of Tokyo Station (Marunouchi side) you can see the architecture of this beautiful but mammoth brick building and there are several upscale shopping malls with great places to dine. the hotel room was spotless, had a firm but comfortable bed, a high tech bathroom, slippers, robes, all the nice little touches. The front desk staff mostly were partially English speaking and were wonderful in helping us make dinner reservations, book a tour to Mt Fuji, get a cab at 3am to the tuna auction, or recommend places to visit. We used the coin laundry which was handy. Did not eat in the hotel restaurant on the top floor but there is an English pub on the first floor which was a nice happy hour place. I woul certainly stay here again but I would request a larger room for more than an overnight stay.

Room Tip: The basic room is very small and lacks closets or drawers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your taking time to share your experience.
We are all delighted to know that we were able to make your short stay enjoyable.

About the room we are trying to help you the nice rooms when we are bale to up grade the room.
Please understand the up grade is need to pay extra.

I hope you will come and stay with us soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ryumeikan for the last night of our honeymoon through Japan during cherry blossom season.

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly with directions and suggestions.

The room was clean and comfortable, although small and with no view, but as it was for one night we didn't mind.

As mentioned by many other reviewers, the hotel is incredibly close to public transport and all the main tourist areas.

If I was ever to stay again in Tokyo for a short period of time, I would happily stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking time to share your experience. We are all delighted to know that we were able to make your short stay memorable. We hope you will stay longer on your next visit to Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for my first night ever in Japan. The location was fantastic, right near Tokyo Central Station. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I speak only English, and that did not get in the way. The room itself was also extremely clean and in fantastic working order. Even the bathroom mirror seemed to have a de-fog section where after a shower I could see my face in it.

The room was also well sound insulated, and had a great view at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking time to share your experience. We are all delighted to know that we were able to make your short stay enjoyable. I hope you will come and stay with us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is just across the road from Tokyo Station and is extremely good value for money. My room was smallish (normal for Japan) but very clean and had everything you would expect including free WiFi. The staff were very helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
予約代表 ホ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We appreciate the time you spared to share your feedback. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at HOTEL RYUMEIKAN TOKYO. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Property: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing