We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The "best" hotel I have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The "best" hotel I have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When choosing where to stay for a week in Tokyo, I went for the structure closest to the train station, considering good reviews and budget. And I can say with no doubt that Ryumeikan is the best hotel I have ever stayed so far!
...obviously I should say what I mean with "best": there are no beautiful scenary outside the window (to be true my window had no view at all!) or no opulent hall, but Ryumeikan has what an hotel should offer:
_ first of all LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, which is for sure a plus: 3 minutes from Tokyo station (and Chiyoda and Marunouchi subway line) and 2 minutes from Nihonbashi subway station on Ginza, Asakusa and Tozai lines...which means is the perfect starting point to explore the city and also beyond
_ second: structure itself: I booked a "forus" room: I had any kind of amenities I could have asked and the bed was great (it has a system - integrated with lights - which lulls you at nights and wakes you gently up in the morning) Useless to say that I slept really well!
_ third: service! Everything was perfectly clean, personnel was friendly and discrete, the structure was really quiet.

If I have to find a drawback, rooms are quite small, especially if you spend them a week like me, but I think is a common problem in Tokyo...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiccoloU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

We are glad to know that our location has been convenient for you.

Regarding room, as you mentioned, guests can't look outside view.
So we would like to make comfortable for our guests instead of which cannot see outside.


We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    321
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
215
433
134
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Izumo, Japan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My second time overnight stay at here in late July 2013 was very exellent. My stayed room with shower booth and cutting edge bed was wide, clean, quiet and absolutey comfortable excluding sight. Japanese breakfast buffet was outstanding delicious. I recommend with confidence the buffet is one of the best japanese breakfast in Japanese hotels. I am looking forward to stay next times.

Room Tip: I do not have any advives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobuhirokodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment for our accommodation and breakfast.


Our breakfast is Japanese foods.
We prepare some seasonal menu also.

We hope to see you again on your next visiting Tokyo.
ARIGATO GOZAIMASU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angwin, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I come to Japan every summer and we always stay at Hotel Ryumeikan while in Tokyo. The rooms are beautiful AND spacious, the amenities are wonderful, the service is excellent, and the location across from Tokyo Station is so convenient. The room-type choices are good and the 30-day advanced-booking discount gives us a great rate since we always stay several nights at Hotel Ryumeikan. I also appreciate that the hotel has wi-fi access in the rooms. We travel often and are still surprised to find that in an age of mobile devices, a number of so-called high-end hotels still offer lobby-only wi-fi or no wi-fi at all. In our opinion, Hotel Ryumeikan is Tokyo's best hotel value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate taking the time to share your comments with us.

As you mentioned, Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo has good location - it is only 3 minutes walking from Tokyo JR station and 1 minutes from Nihombashi subway station and there are so many shops and restaurants around our hotel.

And we have free Wi-Fi. You can use password in the room and lobby.

And there is laundry machine on 10th and 12th floor. Detergent come out automatically, so you do not need anything but coin! It is very convenient for long trip tourist.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and encourage us with your kind comment.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was one of the highlights of our stay in Japan, regarding its amenities.

The equipement is very classy and high-tech :
- you have a jack connector in the bed and integrated speakers in the room to play the music from your phone !
- you have a Nespresso machine ini the room
- the lobby is classy, with a nice view and the possibility to prepare your own tea

Location is good but not as good as you can expect : the hotel is close to the station (2 minutes away) BUT the station is huge, which means that it is not always convenient to enter the station from the hotel side, depending where you want to go.

Also don't forget that there is a bus service from/to the airport that stops just in front of the hotel !

Room Tip: Don't forget the bus service from/to the airport, it stops just in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapablancaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

As you mentioned,Forus Room has Nespresso Machine and jack connector for your music device - you can listen to your favorite music in the room!

And there is bus stop of Limousine bus for Narita Airport within 1 min walking.
It is very convenient for tourist.

Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent location and very friendly staff. Rooms are very modern and have lots of nice little extras (foot-massage pad, tasty tea and crackers, Nespresso machine, fancy sleeping-system). The room we stayed in (semi-double) is small, but this is very normal in Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPK558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.


We prepare many amenity items if guest forget something for trip.


Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!

ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in a triple room for several nights. Great accommodation and location. Beds very comfortable. Small but very good bathroom. Hotel has coin clothes washer and dryer on a couple of floors. Hotel is basically over the road from JR Tokyo railway station - Yaesu north exit. Bullet train part of the JR Tokyo station is on this side of the station as well. Very easy for doing day trips from Tokyo. We found the easiest way to remember we were using the right station exit was Daimaru is on the corner of the exit as you walk out of the station. Hotel very comfortable and quiet. Heaps of restaurants in the area - both in the station and in the side streets around the hotel. 7/11 in a street behind the hotel which does foreign card cash withdrawals. Noticed a Strabucks as well on a side street between the hotel and Tokyo Station.

Room Tip: Hint: If practical, book in advance. I got a great room rate by booking a couple of months in advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holaiyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate taking the time to share your comments with us.

As you mentioned,there are so many department store,restaurant and coffee around our hotel.
And it is easy to get to sightseeing or shopping spot - Asakusa,Ginza,Akihabara,Imperial palace and so on.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and encourage us with your kind comment.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The location across from Tokyo Station makes this immediately convenient, but its spacious rooms, polite customer service, and amenities make it special.

The four bottles of water (two in the fridge: two at room temp), Nespresso machine, snacks, tea, and large selection of quality bathroom items (Shiseido face products, hair gel, quality razors with shaving cream, bath salts, in addition to the usual items) makes this an extra special hotel for us.

The washer and dryer also make this a place we choose over more expensive options where laundry has to be sent out (soap comes with the washer). Those who want to send their laundry out have that option.

The breakfast is traditional (we haven't eaten other meals) and tasty.

This is our fourth stay here and we plan to stay here in the future when we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooglebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate taking the time to share your comments with us.

As you mentioned, Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo has good location - it is only 3 minutes walking from Tokyo JR station and 1 minutes from Nihombashi subway station and there are so many shops and restaurants around our hotel.

And there is laundry machine on 10th and 12th floor. Detergent come out automatically, so you do not need anything but coin! It is very convenient for long trip tourist.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and encourage us with your kind comment.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo.

ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#4 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Property: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing