We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
$211
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza(Chuo)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$907
$476
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$228
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$73
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,329)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveler rating
867
399
46
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
399
46
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyaesu north exitnespresso machineforus roomgreat hoteldaimaru department storenarita expresskeisei bustop floorminute walkaround the cornerimperial palacebus stoproom amenitiesexcellent locationsemi double roomcentral stationfamily mart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Initially I booked Shinjuku Sunroute but had chosen this hotel since it is only SGD80 more per night and saves me the hassle of changing JR to Kyoto. Stayed 2 nights and this is my 5th time to Japan so I hope I am able to give a fair review. Let me quickly touch on the important factors for choosing hotel:

1. Location

- is actually not 3mins walk from Yaesu North exit. Is about 5 to 8 mins with luggage. 15mins from your JR exit. Ensure you have a 4 wheel luggage unless you use a Taqbin (courier service). this is why I didn't rate this hotel location as 5*
- you can use an airport bus but I would advise N'ex since it is covered with JR pass or Suica card which saves you close to 6300yen.
- With location at Tokyo station (is a major interchange), it is great for travelers planning to visit Kyoto/Osaka/other places since is the first stop so you can get seats even on non-reserved trains during Golden Week like us! The Japanese train transfers are a challenge if you have a big luggage, trust me. You will have to walk from one end to the other unless you know the directions very well. This is the main reason why I choose to stay near Tokyo station. If you are just planning Tokyo, you can choose Shibuya or Shinjuku however they are not far from Tokyo station using the JR Yamanote line as well.
- very near Daimaru/shopping using the same Yaesu North/Central exit or entrance. You can easily get food there or Excelsior Cafe which is just 20m away and FamilyMart, 10m away.Starbucks is also just round the corner. There are many eating places around the hotel since there are many working crowds

2. Service
-typical polite Japanese folks
-provided maps whenever necessary but they do not have a proficient concierge who can advise properly especially when English is not spoken commonly but that's ok since we have been to Japan a few times
-they do not help you to put your luggage in the room which I found it appalling for the price paid -SGD 340 per night! Then again is Japan...everything is expensive in Tokyo ESP.

3. Rooms
- we picked a twin room with two standard beds. While it is small (approximately 28sqm), it is adequate for two with one big and small luggage.
- bathrooms are also good in size with a separate vanity area
- the beds and pillows are also right in firmness
- the only complain I have is the lighting, too dim and no way to
adjust it to be brighter
- cleanliness is top notch!

Others
- hardly any views, we had a view of the Tokyo station area only
- they provided a whole basket of vanity items like hairband, facial creams which I like since they are from Shiseido
-4 bottles of complimentary water which is from Kurobe area
- robes for sleep is provided as well
- we can't comment on their breakfast since the rate was without as we reckon we might be better off hunting for food elsewhere

We may choose other hotels in our next trip since there is nothing too outstanding about this hotel but it is still good overall minus the price. I can get maruonochi hotel at the same rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your comment.

Tokyo station is very big and complicated.So need to walk few minutes inside Tokyo station.
We are sorry for inconvenience.

There are so many department store and restaurant around hotel as you mentioned.
So good place for shopping and sightseeing.

We are looking for ward to see you again.
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ryumeikan located about 100m from Tokyo Station ( main station where the Shinkensen start n stops). For usd150 a night for a normal standard double room, its ok for Tokyo area n also infront of Shangrila Hotel .Once you are in Tokyo station,take the Yaesu North Exit , you will exit into the main road thru Daimaru shopping centre,turn left ,walk 50 m and look up for the signage.Reception is on the 15 floor , clean , nice atmosphere , english speaking receptionist , 5 star toiletries. Free wifi in your room , nice bed , nice view ( i stayed on the 14th floor ) Starbucks n other restaurants plentiful around . No complimentary coffee but you get green tea , black tea n organic tea , you want coffee........go to Starbucks !!

Room Tip: book a room on the high floor with a view .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

It takes 3 minutes to Tokyo station and 1 minutes to Nihombashi subway station.
Our hotel is located in good place for sightseeing and shopping.
Guest can use Wi-Fi in our hotel for free.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We liked this hotel because of the ideal location opposite Tokyo's central station and stylish modern character. We paid about 100,- euro per night and it was worth it. The room was small though but was fine for us for a couple of nights. Service is very good. Rooms have a typical Japanese toilet with buttons, a sprinkler and warm seat. Outside there are plenty of restaurants and shops, and it is right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.


We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
And please find out something interesting point by staying next time.


ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Forus Single Room through the hotel website and for advance prepayment, a 30% per cent discount was accorded. Room rate per night was JPY18,200 (without breakfast).

We took the Narita Express from Narita Airport and arrived at Tokyo station within 56 mins. Tokyo Station is a huge maze but we managed to locate the Yaesu North Exit through Daimaru and the hotel is just 3 mins walk across the road. Very convenient and accessible!

Reception is on the 15/F and the check in process was fast and Front Desk staff are friendly & efficient.

Hotel Ryumeikan goes out of the way to pamper female guests! The bathroom is well-stocked with toiletries like face scrub, ageing care lotion, hair wax, hair band, hair brush and a mini pouch containing Shiseido cleansing gel, lotion and moisturiser. Wow! On the 12th floor where our room is, is a vending machine and laundry room (washer & dryer). They are also very generous in providing 4 bottles of mineral water daily. There is also free in-room fast wifi connectivity. The only odd thing is that the safe deposit box is hidden in a drawer below the bed.

We had our breakfasts @ Cafe Excelsior which is less than 2 mins walk to the left of the hotel. We also found a very good Thai restaurant called Sukhumvit Soi Thong Lo @ Sakura-Dori St (diagonally opposite Starbucks) about 2 lanes away from the hotel. Portions are small but the quality is as good as those in Bangkok. Dinner for two costs Y3430. There are many eateries in the vicinity as well as within Tokyo Station.

If you are travelling on the Ginza line towards Asakusa, the station to head to is Nihombashi Station which is a 5 mins walk behind Ryumeikan Hotel. The Nihombashi station is located below Takashimaya Dept Store. The hotel scores high in service, room comfort and its wonderful location to Tokyo Station and to the many restaurants nearby! Will I stay here again? Yes, in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

There are so many kind of restaurants nearby.
Have you tried to eat anything Japanese foods?
If you have any request for your dishes, we can help you anytime.

Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Convenient location, super valuable under 40% discount off its normal rate.
Opposite to Tokyo station 八重洲 N Exit,
Airport shuttle stop in front of the hotel.
Less than 800m from the Imperial Palace, best if you like morning jog.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

Running around Imperial Palace is becoming popular among Japanese people.
My recommend is running at night, if you possible. Because we can look night seeing of many building. It is very nice I think.


We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews