We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the third year running that we are staying at Hotel Ryumeikan on our annual trip to Tokyo. Hotel improves in their service quality every year. The triple room is great size for Tokyo and amenities & condition top notch. Very convenient by airport limousine to/fro Haneda and also Narita. Good eating places eg. izakaya near hotel and Tokyo station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummybearie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was another excellent hotel we stayed in during our 10 day tour of Japan.

Spotlessly clean , very quiet, friendly staff - a great view too from the hotels restaurant - right above the city skyline.

We only stayed here for one night but the location was perfect - literally across the road from Tokyo station - ideal for getting anywhere in and around Tokyo.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Florus semi double room was a great way to get over the jet lag from 9.5 hrs of flying, not to mention the airport wait at departure . A bit compact but not lacking in amenities except for closet and perhaps towel-hanging space. Location was great, although because our flight arrived so late at Haneda, we took the bus to the TCAT terminal (900 yen) and then a taxi to the hotel (around 1000 yen). If you have a lot of luggage and need to take the bus instead of train back to the airport, the bus pick up is a short walk to the left , right in front of the Hokkaido store, directly across Tokyo station.
The food was great if you like Japanese food, like we do. The buffet breakfast's western items included dry cereal , milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee and sausage. Toast or croissants would have been nice.
We will definitively return if staying in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Laundromat is on floors 6 and 12. Laundry detergent is automatically dispensed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muffin808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic for getting around the city. You can get from here to pretty much anywhere with real ease.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the Yaesu North entrance of Tokyo station. It's actually on the same road. Nihombashi subway station is around the corner, a 2-3 minute walk away.

Otemachi subway may look close on the map, but it's a good 20 minute walk. It's handy if you have to use it, but plan to get by without it if you can.

Even though the hotel is right in the city, next to the station. It's easily the quietest city hotel I've stayed in. The room doors are big heavy fire doors, but they soft close with literally no sound.

We didn't hear any noise from the street, even though there was construction work going on on the other side of the road from the hotel. The windows are obviously very well sound proofed.

Depending on which website you use to book, they describe the rooms differently which is a bit confusing. I was travelling with my wife and we booked a standard 'semi double' which on the Ryumeikan website is actually called a 'standard single'. Essentially this is a room with a normal double bed (for UK sizes) pushed against the wall.

The room was very small, there's only just enough room to open a large suitcase on the floor. There's no wardrobe, the only hanging space is a hook on the wall for a couple of coats and a few shirts maximum.

There's a fridge in the room that they stocked with bottles of water we used each day and were free of charge. There's a small convenience store right next to the hotel which is handy.

The array of toiletries provided in the bathroom was actually quite impressive. In amongst the collection were a hairbrush, toothbrush, shower cap, hair band, bath salts, shaving gel and moisturiser.

Little things that impressed me were the mirror in the bathroom was heated so it doesn't steam up. The shower gel and shampoo were topped up every day so they were always full. There were slippers and pyjamas provided. The toilet is a funky Japanese toilet with a heated seat and all the bidet features that appear to be standard in Japan. These are minor things, but I've paid a lot more for hotels in London and got nothing like the level of service this hotel provided.

Another example, when we arrived they gave us warm towels and a pocket map of Tokyo.

Additionally, we actually checked out of this hotel and back in again after staying in Kyoto for a few days. The hotel reception were more than happy to look after a case and bag of ours whilst we were away. This was free of charge and when we checked in the second time they'd already put our bags in our room. Another nice touch.

Overall I fully recommend this hotel. The location is truly excellent for getting around Tokyo, combined with the high level of service, it makes it really great value for money.

Room Tip: Different websites describe the rooms with different names. A 'standard single' room is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timberford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
龍名館, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your choice of our hotel among many hotels in Tokyo and stay with us.
Besides we appreciate spending your time to comment.


To be sure, the room is small for you, and you may have felt inconvenience.

However, we are trying to keep up the quality of our services not to cause you inconvenience.

We hope you stay with us next time.
ARIGATO!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in a double room which had a king size bed and a small sitting area. The bed was really firm which we prefer. Considering its location the room was also really quiet, even with construction work happening across the road. We couldn't hear any noises from outside or the neighbouring rooms. The bathroom facilities were comprehensive and really well kept with the typical Japanese toilet and a shower and bath. Air con and heating was easy to adjust.

We didn't have breakfast included, but thought we would try the hotel breakfast on the first day. It's pretty much Japanese fare only, and even though we were prepared to be adventurous, we just couldn't handle that sort of food to start the day, so went to some local cafes for a more Western option for the rest of our time.

The hotel is right next to the Nihombashi subway so it's very easy to access public transport.

**TIP** If you get dropped off by the airport limousine bus all you need to do is head left as you step off the bus straight down the road a couple of blocks. If you've been walking for more than five mins you've probably gone past it. The hotel is on the same side of the street as the bus drop off. We were given a map at the airport that showed something entirely different, so we spent a fair bit of time wandering around trying to get our bearings. If you look up as you're walking, you'll see the big R for Ryumeikan on the top of the hotel building before you get to the hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kateandross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

It takes within 3 minutes to get our hotel from Tokyo station.
There are so many spot to visit around our hotel - imperial palace, Ginza , Asakusa and so on.
And there are so many restaurant and convenience store around our hotel.

We offer japanese breakfast on the top floor.It is also popular with foreign guest.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Ryumeikan for 7 days - both in their Japanese Styled Junior Suite and Twin Room.
The Suite is fantastic, while the Twin Room was nothing much to shout about.
The suite came with free drinks (mini bar) and movies.
The Toilet amenities are more than generous, not forgetting the superb heated toilet seat, which really does help in the cold weather.
Breakfast was Japanese affair, which did help as we had many cafe breaks with western style meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RennieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

In the Japanese suit room, guest can drink in fridge and watch pay-per-view channel for free.
And can stay up to 4 person. This type of room is very popular with foreign guest.

Our breakfast is japanese buffet style.
And there are cafes around our hotel, you can take western style breakfast in there.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the reviews by Trip Advisor contributors and was delighted to find the hotel as nice as described.

The basic room that I booked through hotels.com with one double bed was very small with one place to put a suitcase and no closet. The window had a wide and long sill on which I put most of my folded clothes. Despite the lack of a closet and the compactness of the room, everything looked new, was immaculate, and felt very cosy. There was a small fridge, hairdryer, LCD TV (with only 2 English language channels -- CNN and BBC), and great ethernet and/or wifi connections at no cost. The outlets in the hotel fit standard 2-prong U.S. plugs (either the grounded kind or the old ones with 2 identical prongs). There is a decent desk with an office chair. The bathroom had a deep tub and an on-the-wall or hand-held shower with fabulous water pressure. The toilet had a heated seat and other nice options. The mirror over the sink had a defogger so that even when the room fogged up from a shower, a part of it was always clear. The amenities were abundant and nice -- robe, slippers (replenished when I took a pair to bring home), shoe brush, toothbrush, hairbrush, comb, razor, facial cleansers and moisturizers (no body lotion however), liquid shower soap, shampoo and conditioner.

Despite its downtown location, the room was very quiet with the windows closed. My room (1105) was right over the A/C/heating system and so it was very noisy when I opened the windows -- imagine that this would be true for the same and neighboring rooms on the 10 - 14th floors.

The hotel felt very safe as a key is required to get to the hotel floors (note that this is a business building with the hotel being on the upper floors). The reception is on the top floor (15) which is not immediately clear when you walk into the building. Walking in from the street, you need to turn left and go through another set of glass doors to the elevators and then go up to the 15th floor. There is a sign downstairs,but it's on an LED screen that rotates so that I saw nothing in English or indicating where the hotel was when I first walked in.

The staff were okay, but the ones I interacted with did not have great English and I don't speak Japanese. The advice they gave me on getting to Narita airport was confusing with one staff member recommending one bus company (the one right next to the hotel) and another saying definitely not to use that bus as it was complicated and required buying a ticket from a specific convenience store (apparently not the one nearby). (I'm adding some transportation tips under Tokyo Central Station).

As noted by others, the location of the hotel is very central. Tokyo is a town of distinct neighborhoods, and the Ryumeikan is in a very business-y area with Tokyo Station a block away. The area doesn't have a lot of character, but there are many restaurants nearby and the station has more restaurants as well as a department store, Daimaru, that has an expansive selection of prepared foods, including sushi, tempura, sweets, etc. on the lowest level. There is a "Family Mart" (convenience store) right next to the hotel and "Excelsior Cafe" is 2 doors down.

Were I to return to Tokyo, I would certainly consider staying here again; the reason I might not would be because I would like to be in another area with more little shops.

Room Tip: Room 1105 looked onto the mechanics of the hotel (AC/heating?) and the noise when the window was ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StarryNight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

It takes within 3 minutes to get our hotel from Tokyo station.
There are so many spot to visit around our hotel - imperial palace, Ginza , Asakusa and so on.
And talso restaurant and convenience store around our hotel.
We have so many variety of amenities in the room and we can rent plug for foreign guest.

We are very sorry regarding noise of heater and confusing regarding the way to Narita airport.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future.
ARIGATO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 79 in Chiyoda
2,077 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: $130 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing