We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Transport Links, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location for Transport Links, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed one night in early June 2012 after flying in from New Zealand. As we were only in Tokyo for an overnight stay we wanted a hotel handy to a Narita Express/Shinkansen Station so this hotel was perfect. We found the hotel very easily by following instructions on their website -take the Yaesu North Exit and walk 'left' up the street. The hotel is on the other side of the road from the exit and has plenty of signage on top of the building and at street level.

We booked a Forus 'semi double' and there was plenty of room for our overnight stay. Very tidy room and we were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was, plenty of room to move and a decent sized bathroom with quirky 'porthole' window through to the sleeping area. Generous array of toiletries provided along with bottles of water which is a nice touch.

We arrived at 7pm at night and had dinner at a fantastic restaurant at Tokyo Station. Anyone who knows Japanese staions will know if you are close to a decent sized one you won't go hungry! Getting to our Shinkansen in the morning was a breeze after a quick check out and less than 5 minute walk down the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, RECEPTIONIST at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.
Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!
ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    364
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
241
493
155
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very clean hotel, steps away from main Tokyo Station.
Small room but fine for single business traveler without too much luggage. Larger rooms may be suited for 2 people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, RECEPTIONIST at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
Also thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!
ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. Upon arrival at this hotel, we were greeted by very friendly staff who spoke good english. The room size was quite good for Tokyo standards, the room was newly refurbished so it was very clean and modern, the bathroom was fantastic and it had a super toilet and the hotel very close to Tokyo station. If you follow the instructions on how to find the hotel, you will not have too many issues. Tokyo station is a very big station and can be very overwhelming. We found it difficult to get an American breakfast close to the hotel (hotel only serves Japanese breakfast) and the staff at the hotel were not able to help out too much. They gave me 2 cafe names but one was a cafe that allowed smoking and the other was Starbucks which does not really serve a great breakfast. This was a problem for us because we have a toddler that wants to eat toast and eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sticky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, RECEPTIONIST at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your comment.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We chose this hotel through trip advisor because we were coming in on an evening flight from KL and this place offers the convenience of walking straight off the Narita Express through Tokyo station to your hotel. I printed off the directions the hotel gives on their website which probably could be improved ,looking for an ivory coloured building wasn’t much help at night , however if you use their instructions cross the road on the zebra crossing turn left and follow the road for around 800mtrs its one of the last buildings on the street. You will probably see the Rose & Crown bar before you see the hotel sign as this is right next door.
We tried to book directly with the hotel however the website said that they had no rooms available so we booked a standard semi double room through Agoda. The room was small i.e. one person had to be on the beb to allow the other one to walk around , however on the plus side the bed was comfortable , the free toiletries the best we have ever used in a hotel and the rooms extremely quite. We didn’t hear any noise from the adjoining rooms or outside.
Because it’s in the business district & its proximity to the station and Daimaru there were plenty of options when it came to eating that didn’t break the bank. Another major benefit was that it’s only a couple of minutes walk from the Nihonbashi Metro station, walking distance to Ginza and the Imperial palace. All in all this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZTRAVELLERSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, RECEPTIONIST at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!
ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Super handy for onward travel from Tokyo. The directions from the train station were easy to follow.
The room was, as expected, on the small side but how much space does one person need for an overnight stay? The staff were delightfully friendly and the rooms had all you could need and more. I will absolutely be back when travelling through Tokyo again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.
We appreciate your kind comment.

Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!


ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Good points, walking distance to nearby Tokyo station so easy access to JR railways shinkansen and other trains, metro, and buses if using it as a base for visiting nearby cities. With the JR rail pass you can use the Yamanote line that circles Tokyo. You must be observant to spot the hotel sign since it’s more of an office building with hotel rooms starting about mid-building and lobby / restaurant on the top floor. To reach the hotel, enter a small elevator lobby just inside the main building entrance. Hotel is maybe 2-3 blocks north of the station above ground, but after a while in the area you realize that you can almost reach the hotel underground in the maze of shops, restaurants, below street level around Tokyo station.
Basic business-style rooms and no view unless you like looking at nearby office buildings. Single rooms are small with basic accommodation having no closet, but hangers on a hook for clothes. Below the hangers was a bench/single-drawer that had space for a small in-room safe. Nice touches are complimentary Tokyo mini-map (on the bed on check-in), daily bottled water, and room slippers. There’s also a “low-tech” foot massager for those long days of walking around Tokyo sightseeing. Room is equipped with a modular, compact bathroom with one of those technically-advanced Japanese toilets. The bathroom did have a strange feature – a large porthole window over the bed – maybe to watch TV (though the angle is difficult) since there's also a speaker system to hear the audio from inside the bathroom. The room compactness and porthole really made me think of a ships' cabin - Ahoy Matey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.

We appreciate your kind comment.

Thank you for introducing our hotel to your friends and families!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo!


ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This looks like a new hotel - it has no reception on the ground floor / street level - so, when you arrive with bags you have to take a lift to the top floor reception and a staff member will come down with a cart to help with your bags. We stayed 1 night on arrival in Tokyo having taken the limo bus from the airport and then 4 nights when we returned to Tokyo to leave Japan. The 1st night was in a junior suite which was very good but one side of the queen bed was hard up against the wall (which is common to all of their junior suite rooms) which is OK if you are a single or happy to climb over to find your side of the bed - which we aren’t! So, we upgraded to a full suite which was excellent. The room was large and during both visits the staff could not be more helpful.

Room Tip: Singles - the junior suites are great Couples - I recommend that unless you are happy to have one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank American-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル龍名館東京, Receptionist at Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel among many other hotels in Tokyo.

We appreciate your kind comment.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo someday in the future!


ARIGATO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Property: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing