We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel excellent location”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Staying at the Ryumeikan for 10 nights. Booked months ago so was able to get the best rate on their website. The hotel itself is excellent value. Very comfortable 4 stars! A couple of aftershock happened in the first few days I got here. I was sitting near the lift waiting for the maid to finish cleaning the room when the 4.9 aftershock happened. Strangely I felt very safe. The whole building is built to sway gently. Within a few minutes a staff was running up the stairs to calm the guests. In terms of the location there are way too many choices of food around here. The best anago (sea eel) place is just around the corner not to mention the 'eating streets' inside Tokyo Station and around Tokio/Nihonbashi area. I've been here 4 nights and am still excited by the options. Transport wise too it couldn't get any better. The post office a couple doors down has ATM for foreign cards (hard to find in Tokyo). A convenient store is just downstairs too. The hotel also has coin laundry and drinks vending machines. The one small minor disadvantage is the expensive breakfast. I would have love to try it but then again other options are plenty.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YanYanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    375
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
249
509
163
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We started our honeymoon in Tokyo. Before i get into the detail of the room, i should explain that we were in the hotel when the earthquake struck. I've tried to remove this aspect from the review but in fact it did underline my view that the staff were professional - my only slight comcern was that amongst all of the staff, the level of English speaking and comprehension wasn't advanced enough to help me get the best out of the city. This came to a head a little in our time of crisis!

The hotel location is perfect. It's right outside Tokyo Station, which makes it ideal for anyone coming into the city from the airport. It also means that you're on the Yamanote Line, which we used to get around the city. The immediate vicinity is also home to a number of bars and restaurants, which is a bonus.

The hotel lobby is great and the rooms are equally pristine and well equipped. This is basically a business hotel but it feels like it has more character than most US hotel chains i've stayed in.

All in all a great choice, particularly for first time visitors who have a guidebook and a vague idea of what they'd like to do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Although I booked this hotel, I didn't get to stay here because my flight got cancelled due to the earthquake. They were incredibly nice (Mr Masaki) & cancelled my booking at the last minute without charging me a cancellation fee. Hope to stay here on my next trip to Tokyo.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

A short walk from Tokyo station and the Narita Express, we managed to find the hotel quite easily thanks to excellent directions supplied when we booked, even though we were tired after a long flight from NZ. We had booked a larger room, which was very spacious and immaculately kept. Robes and slippers were provided. The bathroom was an interesting and positive experience for novices to the refinements of Japanese toilets. We did not try the restaurant, and there was no bar as such, although there was a 'pub' on the ground floor of the building. Had I read the room instructions more carefully, I would have found that there was a vending machine to get a drink on another floor. There are plenty of restaurants close by, but ordering a meal tends to require a leap of faith as one is very definitely 'abroad' in Japan. There are coffee shops for breakfast just a few steps away. A very comfortable stay in a convenient location with excellent links to public transport. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This hotel is exetremely clean with fresh bathrobes and slippers every day. Could not fault the housekeeping and the bed and bedding are so very comfortable. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tokyo Station with Nihombashi underground station just around the corner, There is a restaurant on the top floor but it is very close to lots of small restaurants around the back streets which are interesting and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank essexgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Friends and I stayed at the Hotel Ryumeikan for the final 2 nights at the end of our trip to Japan.
Clean, comfortable and surprisingly spacious for a Japanese hotel, it was a great way to end the trip.
The hotel is directly opposite Tokyo train station, which makes it super handy for getting around Tokyo and seeing the sites. Comfortable beds and nice bathrooms too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemjem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

An excellent choice for location, style, comfort and Price! We stayed with our 1 year old and had a ball. Being so close to the station was god send after a long trip.

The staff at the front desk were a little cold but we there to spend time with them. The room was great.

We can highly recomend this hotel and we will be back next time we are in Tokyo. Just dont believe the staff when they say the washing machines adds the detergent itself. It doesn't!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowflakes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,152 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,013 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Property: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing