We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to Japan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome to Japan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Duartion of stay: 7 nights

Pros:
# Decent location- literally 2m walk from Suitengumae on Hanzomon line, 5 min from airport bus station & <10 mins walk from Kayabacho
# Rooms are cozy (which is the case pretty much everywhere in Japan) but very functional
# Fairly courteous staff who spoke adequate English (its Japan after all)- they did go the extra mile in making reservations and ensuring we get around the neighbourhood with no fuss
# Complimentary breakfast which was a life saver for some of the early morning day trips
# Extremely fast wifi (although limited to lobby only)

Cons
# No English channels on TV which is shocking considering majority of guests were foreigners
# Check in is fairly late but then again this is the case pretty much everywhere in Japan

For 90-95 SGD a night, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Squirreloncrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    145
    75
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
99
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and even though the room was small it was comfortable for the price we paid. We would definitely go back because the hotel was close to the subway and bus to the airport. Breakfast was in the reception area and a bit cramped but the selection was adequate. The staff did not speak much english but were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just spent 3 nights and found this hotel was clean, comfortable and convient for us. The other reviews we accurate on room size. Included breakfast was adequate. We would definitely use this hotel again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 night in this hotel in January. We booked and prepaid in advance via Tingo.com and got a great rate - $68/night. The double room we got was tiny, but it does have a queen size bed, not a full size one like the other hotel we stayed at in Tokyo. Besides the bed, there is a small desk and a built in night stand, and really not much more room to maneuver around in. It takes some clever organization to get our luggages settled and out of the way. The bathroom is likewise small but does have separate controls for the sink/faucet vs the shower/bathtub so you can use both at the same time. The hallways outside the rooms are quite chilly given the central atrium is open to outside. Wifi is only available in the lobby which is an inconvenience. Water temperature in the shower seems to grow colder when you take a long shower. You do get free simple breakfast, buffet style. The room was quiet and I didn't have any problem with noise, given that I am a light sleeper.

The location is near a metro station - Suitengumae, which is not a major station, and the Family Mart is right outside the metro station. Take exit 2 when you get off the subway. The hotel is located in a quiet business district - not much to see in the immediate vicinity. Walk towards Suitengumae shrine area to get to more shops and eateries. The location is a bit far from Tokyo Station and Ginza which was my target area, but still totally walkable. We walked to those areas one day and took the subway back. We also walked back to the hotel from Tsukiji Fish Market. By the way, if you want to be one the early ones to watch the tuna auction at the fish market, you have to get there way early, around 5am, but subway doesn't start to run until 5:30am so you may have to take a taxi unless you live close enough to walk.

To get to Narita airport, NEX bus station is right down the street from the hotel. But call us cheap, we didn't feel like paying close to 3000 yen pp to take it. We hopped on the subway and took 2 stops to Otemachi station; and from there, it's easy to catch the Keisei limited express to the airport, which cost just over 1000 yen pp. I think it only took us a little over an hour to get to the airport. Transportation in Tokyo is so quick and easy! Why can't LA be like that?

Anyway, given the price, there really isn't anything we can complain about about this hotel. So I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFlyerAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel was located near to T-Cat. Just go across from T-cat into a small street with 7 Eleven at the corner and walk around 20 meters then turn left before the hotel sign. The hotel was on the right side. The room size was small and the bed was quite hard. The hotel was a little outdated but well maintained. Breakfast was provided but only bread, eggs and juice. No complain though as it was included in the hotel rate. The nearest subway was Suitengumae exit 2 but as it was a small station it only served Honzomon line. So, unlike other bigger stations like Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ginza etc which was served by many lines, everywhere you go you have to take Honzomon line to go back to Hotel. Beware of check out time. There will be extra charge for exceeding 11 am check out time. Btw, Tcat is Tokyo city air terminal. If you came from Narita or Haneda, you can just buy a bus ticket (Friendly Bus) at the airport and hop on to the bus and get to Tcat station in Hakozaki. The bus will also go to other hotels according to the schedule and destination. From Narita to Tcat will set you back 2900 Yen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globaltrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through Agoda at a very affordable price for a 3-nights stay. Check-in was smooth and hassle-free.

We booked two single bed rooms - enough for two persons per room. However, the single bed is a little small and it will be a little bit of a squeeze for two people. Go for the twin bed room if you need to. The windows were also nothing to shout about as there were no views to speak of. Everything else in the room was excellent. The bathroom was always kept very clean, and water pressure was good with hot water always readily available. Toiletries, towels, hangers and slippers were provided as well. Room was always made up every morning.

Free breakfast was provided every morning. Although the range of breakfast is really small (generally limited to bread, egg, juice/coffee/tea, soup), it is complimentary after all and a similar breakfast set outside will easily set you back by 500 yen. There is Wi-Fi provided, but only in the first floor lobby - you would need to request for a unique user-id/password from the reception. Staff were friendly, professional and polite, and were always ready to assist us with our requests.

Location is excellent, it is a 1-minute walk away from Suitengumae Metro station, and about 6-7 minute walk away from Ningyocho Metro station. There is also a 7-11 and FamilyMart just a block away from the hotel.

For the price, the location, services and amenities were excellent. I would recommend anyone else looking for comfortable and affordable accommodation in the area to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel was located very close to the Subway station and TCAT termnial so it facilitates travelling. Lots of convenience stores nearby.
The staff was also well versed in English and they were quite willing to provide additional information and went the extra mile to help me print out some discount vouchers that they know about for various attractions.
The rooms were only able to fit 2 big luggages at most.
Breakfast was reasonable and simple.
A small good convenient hotel.

Room Tip: From what understand, the rooms in the new block were better so try and request or book for it if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MingAderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kayabacho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#35 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hatchobori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki
Address: 20-10 Nihombashi Hakozakicho, Chuo-ku, Chuo 103-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing