We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and worth the visit”

Tsukiji Jogaii Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$289.03*
and up
Tokyo City Private Tour by Subway
Ranked #4 of 318 things to do in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and worth the visit”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited the Tsukiji Market early in the morning. We were able to walk through the market even though it was supposedly wasnt open for vistors until after 9 AM. You can walk through and nobody will bother you as long as you behave yourself. There is a wide variety of seafood available for sale and you will be amazed with what is edible.
We also stopped for Sushi. The queues were very long by 5:30 AM for the famous sushi places so we settled for the Donburi dished and they were very good.
Highly recommended for the food and photo opportunities.
The Tokyo Municipal Building was close by so this is a good opportunity to get two free sights in the same morning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank utsixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    529
    202
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“good eats”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Tsukiji Market is the outer market surrounding the Tsukiji Fish Market. You can find all kinds of wears, kitchen supplies, etc. The best part of the surrounding market is the food stalls. I tried all kinds of food and had the freshest sushi.. There is also a small Shinto shrine right outside of entrance to fish market

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best fish market in the world”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

And the reason some fish fished very far is not sold close to the fishing place. It is meant to be sold is directly sold here where it can fetch the highest price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jean-marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Massively interesting”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Maybe you just have to be interested in seafood ...?!
To see the absolute mass of fish & sea creatures is, on the one hand, fascinating, the spectacle of the human interactions etc...
On the other, I came away thinking that if all the fish is not sold, then what a colossal waste of sea life. So I was torn. I go to fish markets wherever I travel and this is the mother of them all.
Who am I to say, but seeing the waste, for me it was also the saddest.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank YR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It is my usual Saturday morning place to visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stay about 10 mins walk from this market. Whenever I am in Tokyo over the weekend, it has become my usual Saturday morning place of visit. Normally, I will start my morning by stopping at the first shop, first lane if you count from the Kachidoki Bridge to buy a seafood flavour fried tofu. It is a small square of tofu cost about 100 yen and taste really good. Then I will continue on to look for fresh vegetable and fresh seafood. The shops also sell good quality beef. There are many shops which offer food samples ranging from black beans, sashimi to cooked miso fish. If you would like to take home some cooked seafood, on 3rd lane, you will find a shop selling 4 packets of processed seafood snacks for 1000 yen. As they offer food sampling, it's a good way to try out before you buy. Their scallops are the best. You may also try the sushi at this market. There is also a ramen shop on 4th lane which is also the last lane with forever long queues by the local. Please do not join the queue as it is not worth it as you can find much better ramen at many places in Ueno, Shinjuku, Tokyo station, etc.. If you are into Japanese household items like delicate saucers, plates, etc, there are a few shops around. I prefer Iwama on the Level 3 of a building across the street. They carry nice ones but need to order and min order is 5 pieces each. Unless you are like me, willing to wait for 2 weeks and also stay in Tokyo, you may have to shop at the one just next to a Cafe called Coffee Head in between 2nd and 4th lane.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vwell_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsukiji Jogaii Market also viewed

 

Been to Tsukiji Jogaii Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing