We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is my mandatory course”

Gyukatsu Motomura Coredo Muromachi
Ranked #211 of 10,244 Restaurants in Chuo
Price range: $9 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinagawa / Gotanda
Description: Very popular "Gyukatsu" (beef cutlet) restaurant that now runs 6 branches in Tokyo (as of October 2016). Note that Shibuya branches are always very crowded and you should expect to wait for an hour or so, I'd suggest you get there 30-60 minutes prior or go to the other branches (less crowded). The beef cutlet is deep-fried outside very quickly, so it's fairly rare inside. It used to be more cooked and you were to eat it as is, but as they became popular among visitors from overseas, they started serving a stone grill along with the cutlet so that you can cook as you like. I imagine there was an increasing feedback from the customers that the meat was too rare. I actually liked more the way it used to be, but guess it's better now for non-Japanese customers. It's 1,300 JPY (130g of beef) and comes as a combo and the photo abve is 2,100 JPY combo (260g of beef). I'd say 130g would be enough for most people.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is my mandatory course to visit when I travel Tokyo. Crowded from 12:00-13:00 so you need to wait if you arrive at 12:00. (On weekday basis)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank hyemyungl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

Beef Katsu shop not to be missed. The concept is pretty simple, get a rare cooked beef Katsu, an individual hot plate and then you can cook it yourself.

The meat is tender and juicy and we had a wonderful time such that we came back twice (and returned again after a year on our next trip.

Pricing is cheap 1400 yen for 130g and 1700 yen for 200 g (pictured).

Note you do end up smelling after the visit so please make sure you’re not wearing your finest

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank theavidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Very small restaurant in the shopping mall-ish building and also very busy.
You need to order and pay first at entrance but staff seemed confused using iPad for casher so it took time. The gyu katsu was fine. But the really small side dish costs additional fee tho I didn’t need to pay for it in the other same restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank mountain25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gyukatsu Motomura Coredo Muromachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing