We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi in Tokyo so far”

Umegaoka Sushino Midori Ginza
Ranked #8 of 7,913 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Tokyo so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We did lunch here on a weekday after reading the positive reviews. We arrived at 10:30am (they open at 11) and there was a few people already in line. The staff were friendly and brought us an english menu to choose from. The food came quickly and everything was fantasticly delicious. Some of the locals sitting nearby even chatted us up to practice their english and gave us some of their dish to try. We are going back later this week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharif_K_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    124
    29
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel near Midori and we almost went there every day to see if there's long line up. Since we have 2 children and they would not like to line up there for long time so we are disappointed few days in a row. There is no reservation at Midori. That's why you see long line up almost any time of the day. We finally went there one afternoon when they just open. It takes us 10 mins to get a table.
Waitress speaks well English. They do have English menu too. I ordered a special set cost 2100 yen. I think it is very good deal. Although it is not the best sushi I ever have ( I personally like restaurant around Tsukiji more) but you can't beat the price. It also include a miso soup, a crab meat salad and also a steam egg. I feel so full after it. Kids get egg sushi and cucumber roll and the size of the egg sushi is so big!
I think there is a reason why this restaurant is so popular (not just for tourist but mainly Japanese people too) because you really get more than the value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mochaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I go to Tokyo regularly for biz trips, and on my last trip we went for dinner here on our last night. Our local colleague made a reservation for us, which apparently had to be done 1 month before our visit already... A popular place, which you can immediately tell from the queue outside. We had a great meal, starting with all sorts of appetizers, followed by very fresh sashimi & sushi plates. Great quality; the tuna sushi was probably one of the best I ever tasted. Loved the place, friendly service & good atmosphere, maybe not for a romantic dinner, but perfect for a night out with friends or for a casual dinner with colleagues.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsBassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value in Ginza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went here twice actually during my trip to Japan. We were staying in Ginza and wanted a local place with awesome sushi. And we found it here. There can often be a long line (we waited an hour our second go around), but the service is impeccable (they brought us handwarmers outside). The fish is very fresh, and they do have some English menus. Nigiri, sashimi, and rolls were all very good.

And its all very VERY affordable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of the best and very affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

this is by far one of the best sushi restaurants ive dine in. first visit was in 2009 , then a few more times in 2011 and recently in august 2012. must try their o-toro sushi, engawa sushi, crab roe salad. value for money and super delicious..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushino Midori Ginza also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushino Midori Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing