We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fantastic hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is one of my favourite hostels that I have stayed at. It is well located, just a 5 minute walk from the Asakusabashi station where you can access the Toei Asakusa line and the Chuo-Sobu JR line.

The staff were really friendly and answered all of my questions. I was staying in one of the large mixed dorms with the wooden capsule-style beds. These beds were really cosy and offered a nice bit of privacy as well as a place to lock your belongings. I was in Tokyo at one of the hottest times of the year, so most people slept with the capsule doors open as even though the room was air conditioned, it could get pretty hot inside the capsules.

The bathrooms were nice and clean, with good showers and those wonderful Japanese toilets with the controllers on the side.

The common room was really nice with free tea and coffee, a nice kitchen and a vending machine. I made lots of friends here, it's a really nice place to hang out.

My only gripe with this hostel was the lack of elevator. I was on the 5th floor and the steps were narrow and steep. Lugging my two large cases up those stairs was no easy task! Aside from the dreaded stairs, this was a fabulous hostel and a great place for solo travellers on a budget hoping to meet some travel companions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
33
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is near the Sobu line - Bakurocho station. It's easy to find if you are travelling by subway. Just take # 4 exit and go up on that area and you'll find C4. The washroom is clean even though it was shared. We stayed on 2Flr private room. The room itself it small since most rooms in Japan are quite small. Guests on this hostel may need to follow direction and rules as this is not a hotel to compare with. This is also close to Asakusa-bashi station where you can find some fast food if you are really looking for a cheap and affordable meal. The door on each floor has door access. The double decker bed were small so if you are looking for a wide space, better get a hotel. Though this fits on normal asian height. This is also close to tokyo station, just 2 stops from there. If you are also taking flights from/to Narita, this place is also good for you since Bakurocho station near this hostel have a subway line that will directly bring you to Narita airport, you just need to wait for the schedule of the train that will bring you Narita.

This hostel is ideal for traveller who are looking for cheap hostel. They serve free coffee and tea and they have common area to meet other foreigners. Laundry place is also near the hostel, just opposite the hostel, Khaosan Ninja offer a free laundy just in case you need to do the laundy. It's a machine operated that requies 400 yen for 30 mins washing and 100 yen for 10 min drying.

You can always ask something to the receptionist and they are helpful and friendly.

Downside of this hostel are no elevator, if you are bring much bigger luggage, it would be hard to carry it, good thing we stayed on 2Flr only. Also, most subway doesnt have much elavator or escalator at all level and exits, so get ready and equip yourself with lots of energy to carry all your stuff.

Again, this is not for tourist who love space and comforts. This is for budgetted traveller who are looking for space to sleep and leave the things and explore.

Room Tip: As much as possible, request for a room that is on lower floor since there is no elevator on this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteroyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have to post this again because Trip Advisor took it away:

We booked our stay at the Ninja Hostel, and after paying (they basically oblied us to pay before letting us see the rooms) we realiced that the room window was BROKEN and that it was ICE cold... to sum up my experience (because many horrible things happened) we had to go and look for another hostel to stay, and when we asked for our money back, the "manager" approached us together with two man and threatened us to leave the place.
It was very scary and we were treated like trash.
This place is our only dissapointment in Japan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Guadalupe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The place is ideal for backpackers who are young at heart :) For those who are looking for amenities you get in hotels and inns, this place is not for you... We were not able to make socials on other guests since we always left early morning to start our tour, yet it is a good place to meet a new friend and exchange cultures. If we go back to Tokyo, we will definitely stay here again. We stayed in their private room for 2 person and yes the window seems broken but that's fine since we paid a cheap accommodation and also the room have a/c & heater for you to adjust temp. Shower rooms and toilets are maintained clean however, if you'll see it untidy, blame it on other guests of course.

Room Tip: If you book your private room, you can ask them (via email) to place you on a little bigger room. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We booked here because it had the word Ninja in the title, which is very cool!

It is sleeping in boxes, which was a fairly unique experience!

Good location (especially for those travelling on the bullet train) and price for Tokyo, recommend it for anyone travelling in Japan on a budget

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHairyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

When arriving in Japan I'd decided to spend one night in Tokyo at a hostel before going south to Hiroshima. Through booking.com I came across this hostel that seemed to fit my purposes and have a decent location. Actually the location is quite good with proximity to both train (JR) and the Tokyo metro network so if one type of communication has any problems you can easily regroup to the other one.
This hostel has a very committed staff that is helpful and service minded, they were decorating the place for Halloween when I stayed there. The facilities are very good as well with a big common room where you could cook and meet fellow hostelers. I stayed in a capsule like bed in a dorm, that was some sort of an upgrade. That gives you some extra privacy if you want and a little more liberty on leaving stuff on the bed.

Room Tip: Go for the "capsule" type of bed if you like extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As the title states, it is just your average hostel.

The location is great and the cleanliness is good, but otherwise, there is not much to compliment on the hostel. I have been in better ones for the same price (or less). Then again, one must remember that there are not a lot of hostels to choose from in Tokyo.

I stayed in a twin private room and it was extremely cramped. The bunk bed took up the majority of the room, and with our luggages/backpacks, we literally only had less than 2 metres of walking space for two people. There was also a table and a chair in the room, so it left us with even less space for our belongings.

We felt relatively safe in the hostel considering how on each floor, you must enter a code in order to enter the hallway to the bathroom and rooms. The only problem is that if all the washrooms and showers are being used, you are forced to wait on your floor until they become available - unless you are lucky and get to slip in onto a floor when someone exits/enters it.

Final verdict: It is just your average hostel, but if you are on a budget, this hostel is the way to go. It is ranked #1 amongst the others in the city and there is a large kitchen and common room in the basement for people to hang out.

Room Tip: For those wanting a twin private room, ask if you can get one of the larger rooms. On the day we lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeongji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
#15 of 60 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 60 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing