We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay in a quite part of Tokyo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in a quite part of Tokyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

When arriving in Japan I'd decided to spend one night in Tokyo at a hostel before going south to Hiroshima. Through booking.com I came across this hostel that seemed to fit my purposes and have a decent location. Actually the location is quite good with proximity to both train (JR) and the Tokyo metro network so if one type of communication has any problems you can easily regroup to the other one.
This hostel has a very committed staff that is helpful and service minded, they were decorating the place for Halloween when I stayed there. The facilities are very good as well with a big common room where you could cook and meet fellow hostelers. I stayed in a capsule like bed in a dorm, that was some sort of an upgrade. That gives you some extra privacy if you want and a little more liberty on leaving stuff on the bed.

Room Tip: Go for the "capsule" type of bed if you like extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
33
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As the title states, it is just your average hostel.

The location is great and the cleanliness is good, but otherwise, there is not much to compliment on the hostel. I have been in better ones for the same price (or less). Then again, one must remember that there are not a lot of hostels to choose from in Tokyo.

I stayed in a twin private room and it was extremely cramped. The bunk bed took up the majority of the room, and with our luggages/backpacks, we literally only had less than 2 metres of walking space for two people. There was also a table and a chair in the room, so it left us with even less space for our belongings.

We felt relatively safe in the hostel considering how on each floor, you must enter a code in order to enter the hallway to the bathroom and rooms. The only problem is that if all the washrooms and showers are being used, you are forced to wait on your floor until they become available - unless you are lucky and get to slip in onto a floor when someone exits/enters it.

Final verdict: It is just your average hostel, but if you are on a budget, this hostel is the way to go. It is ranked #1 amongst the others in the city and there is a large kitchen and common room in the basement for people to hang out.

Room Tip: For those wanting a twin private room, ask if you can get one of the larger rooms. On the day we lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeongji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokkaido, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a pretty good hostel with a very convenient location. Just minutes away from two JR stations, and very accessible directly from the airport, it was an easy jump off point to anywhere in Tokyo proper. I stayed with another girl together in a private room which was small but had more than enough room for our bags, and a little desk with a lamp as well. The air conditioning was perfect and much needed in the summer heat.

The shared showers and bathrooms were alright. The showers were all stand-up showers, and I never had to wait. The common rooms were clean and comfortable, though located downstairs.

The only problem would be the noise. This is a pretty normal issue at hostels, but the stairs seemed incredibly loud. All night I could hear people stomping up and down stairs, and walking around on the floor above me. But if you've stayed at any other big hostels, you know the score.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The best of this hostel is location it's close to 2 JR station, One is Bakurocho it's just less than 5 minute walk form the exit, another is Asakusabashi just 5-10 minute walk. The bakurocho station is just 2 station next to Tokyo station for catch a shinkansen. It's good for traveler who use JR pass very highly recommendation but it's quite far from Tokyo Metro station. The room is small but comfort and clean like other Khaosan guesthouse. The basement common room is very large. Staff is good in english and very helpful. Overall it's very good for backpackers

Room Tip: Good for backpacker who use JR pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanitps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The shared bathroom is amazingly clean and so is the rest of the hostel. The twin rooms are quite small but you can manage. The location is great if you use the trains.

And of course, the best thing about this hostel is the basement: it is the common room, and there are alot of people you can hook up with for some days in Tokyo. It's a very social hostel.

Can't recommend any other hostel. This one is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff and a good location (15 min. from Akihabara district). The shared facilities were cleaned every day very thoughtfully. We felt very comfortable in the big kitchen and the living room, where you can cook your meals, watch TV and chill. Only our room was a small disappointment as it was extremely tiny (8 sq), with grey, sad walls. Nevertheless, I would choose the hostel again as the price is unbeatable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Viktoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are a backpacker and don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation and would like cover most of Tokyo with public transport. Then you try here. The staffs are helpful and friendly. They speak good English and try to ask them about events happening around. Strongly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Izac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
#15 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Original
Khaosan Tokyo Original
#23 of 56 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing