We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toilet and shower in the room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
sumbawa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Toilet and shower in the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I was staying on april 2013 in cabin bed. The problem is the toilet and the shower room is very near with the bed. Some guest took shower and use hair dryer in the middle of the night. Super annoying. I can't complaint since i'm staying at dormitory. That's the risk that i have to take.
By the next day i checked out the hostel. immediately. Have to find another another hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank o2zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
33
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. value for money. helpful and friendly staff. Easy access to jr bakurocho station and asakusabashi station. I stay at 5th floor with no lift, have to carry my heavy luggage to 5th floor. Other than that everything is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisan5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A wonderful, friendly, inexpensive, safe, clean, place to stay in a great location. A metro station is just around the corner offering hourly limited express service to Narita International Airport. Within walking distance to The Imperial Palace, Tokyo train station, and Ginza. As well as the metro on your doorstep, there is a mainline JR train station a few minutes walk away. I will stay here again. Staff very helpful and full of information on the most cost effective way of exploring the city.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 20 cabin bed drom. Everyone was very considerate, and you can lock your cabin when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for four nights (three nights in the 10 bed mixed dorm room and one night in a deluxe cabin bed). The hostel was clean and the staff were very helpful. Each level of the hostel had quite modern shower and toilet facilities, with shampoo and soap provided.

There is a great communal area with modern kitchen and vending machines that sell cheap beer and drinks. The cabin beds are a great way to experience something akin to a capsule bed and provide you with a bit more privacy than you get in a dorm room. The dorm beds however were quite good as well with each bed having a curtain, bedlight and power socket.

The only downside of this place is that the staff and cleaners can be a little bit cliquey. They have foreigners staying here who clean the hostel in exchange for free accommodation. These people are nice however they seem to hold quite a few events/parties in the communal area that were not for guests, but used a lot of the space that was provided for guests to use. Otherwise we had a great time here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in a cabin room, at a good price of 2500 yen a night in Tokyo.
The room and bathroom were clean.
The hostel is close to several train stations, convenient to get to major attractions and
also to the airports. The staff members were very hepful in giving me directions to
local restaurants, post office, train stations, ....
Highly recommednded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Ninja twice on our trip - for the first few days after arriving in Japan, and then after we returned from our trip down south on the bullet train.

We tried out a double room, an 8 bed dorm and the 20 "cabin bed" dorm. They were all futon style, rooms were warm, and the other guests considerate. While I would usually avoid big dorms like the plague, the cabin beds are an experience to take away with you and I'd recommend! You also get the bonus of locking the cabin closed while you're out, so if secure storage facilities are a priority for you these are a great choice.

Everyone working at Ninja was so helpful to us - Mine lending her umbrella the day it was bucketing down, and all the public ones had gone already; and the others recommending festivals, walking routes, activities and transport routes. Also reuniting me with my brand new earring souvenir from New Zealand that I'd dropped in the common room :D

There is free tea (green and black) and coffee facilities, TV and vending machines in the common room. Wifi is available and fast throughout.

The location is good for JR and subway lines, walking to Kitchen town and Senso-ji via the Thunder Gate. There are lots of local eating places nearby, and even when they spoke very little English (and our Japanese is poor...) people were very welcoming, and had an English menu to hand.

Room Tip: The cabin bed room (20 bed dorm) for the ultimate hostel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iDLECHiLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I live in Osaka and go up to Tokyo quite a bit for a weekend away. I've stayed at this location a few times in both the dorm and their private rooms. The best thing about this hostel is it's proximity to both the metro and the JR lines. It's also walking distance to Tokyo's best beer bar, Popeye's.

The hostel itself is quite average for hostels in Japan, which I feel puts it a bit above average compared to hostels worldwide. The hostel provides a lot of information on events going on in Tokyo and information on both local and long distance transport.

The common room however has always been really quiet all times I've been there. It's in the basement so you don't get the traffic of people coming and going and stopping for a bit of a chat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
#15 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Original
Khaosan Tokyo Original
#23 of 56 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 56 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing