We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, friendly, inexpensive stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A wonderful, friendly, inexpensive, safe, clean, place to stay in a great location. A metro station is just around the corner offering hourly limited express service to Narita International Airport. Within walking distance to The Imperial Palace, Tokyo train station, and Ginza. As well as the metro on your doorstep, there is a mainline JR train station a few minutes walk away. I will stay here again. Staff very helpful and full of information on the most cost effective way of exploring the city.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 20 cabin bed drom. Everyone was very considerate, and you can lock your cabin when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 198 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for four nights (three nights in the 10 bed mixed dorm room and one night in a deluxe cabin bed). The hostel was clean and the staff were very helpful. Each level of the hostel had quite modern shower and toilet facilities, with shampoo and soap provided.

There is a great communal area with modern kitchen and vending machines that sell cheap beer and drinks. The cabin beds are a great way to experience something akin to a capsule bed and provide you with a bit more privacy than you get in a dorm room. The dorm beds however were quite good as well with each bed having a curtain, bedlight and power socket.

The only downside of this place is that the staff and cleaners can be a little bit cliquey. They have foreigners staying here who clean the hostel in exchange for free accommodation. These people are nice however they seem to hold quite a few events/parties in the communal area that were not for guests, but used a lot of the space that was provided for guests to use. Otherwise we had a great time here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in a cabin room, at a good price of 2500 yen a night in Tokyo.
The room and bathroom were clean.
The hostel is close to several train stations, convenient to get to major attractions and
also to the airports. The staff members were very hepful in giving me directions to
local restaurants, post office, train stations, ....
Highly recommednded.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Ninja twice on our trip - for the first few days after arriving in Japan, and then after we returned from our trip down south on the bullet train.

We tried out a double room, an 8 bed dorm and the 20 "cabin bed" dorm. They were all futon style, rooms were warm, and the other guests considerate. While I would usually avoid big dorms like the plague, the cabin beds are an experience to take away with you and I'd recommend! You also get the bonus of locking the cabin closed while you're out, so if secure storage facilities are a priority for you these are a great choice.

Everyone working at Ninja was so helpful to us - Mine lending her umbrella the day it was bucketing down, and all the public ones had gone already; and the others recommending festivals, walking routes, activities and transport routes. Also reuniting me with my brand new earring souvenir from New Zealand that I'd dropped in the common room :D

There is free tea (green and black) and coffee facilities, TV and vending machines in the common room. Wifi is available and fast throughout.

The location is good for JR and subway lines, walking to Kitchen town and Senso-ji via the Thunder Gate. There are lots of local eating places nearby, and even when they spoke very little English (and our Japanese is poor...) people were very welcoming, and had an English menu to hand.

Room Tip: The cabin bed room (20 bed dorm) for the ultimate hostel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iDLECHiLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I live in Osaka and go up to Tokyo quite a bit for a weekend away. I've stayed at this location a few times in both the dorm and their private rooms. The best thing about this hostel is it's proximity to both the metro and the JR lines. It's also walking distance to Tokyo's best beer bar, Popeye's.

The hostel itself is quite average for hostels in Japan, which I feel puts it a bit above average compared to hostels worldwide. The hostel provides a lot of information on events going on in Tokyo and information on both local and long distance transport.

The common room however has always been really quiet all times I've been there. It's in the basement so you don't get the traffic of people coming and going and stopping for a bit of a chat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMiss29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Clean, neat and tidy backpackers. All bathrooms were spotless and convenient. Great location three minute walk from Bakurocho station and fabulously friendly staff. Comfortable common room and access to wi-fi which is super reliable. Dorm rooms surprisingly spacious given the photos. Higly recommended - would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pros:
Ninja's location is great; close to subways and only a fifteen minute walk to Akihabara,
Tokyo's tech and anime scene. Staff is friendly and helpful. The place is clean and the
bathrooms immaculate. Laundry is available across the street.

Cons:
Our four bed dorm smelled awful and when we asked a staff member to look into it for us,
she asked if we'd like to move. (Great, only for the next people to suffer from the smell.)
The mattresses are awful. Felt like sleeping on a wood plank. While guests are told
via signage to be quiet after eleven pm, each night people were blow drying their hair
after eleven at night and we could hear every bit. We hid the hair dryer : D

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't adjacent to the shared bathroom. You can hear anyone in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,352 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Planetyze Hostel
Planetyze Hostel
#14 of 25 in Chuo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#8 of 69 in Taito
227 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Grids Nihombashi East Hotel Plus Hostel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Wise Owl Hostels Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty lodging in Chuo
Price Range: $20 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing