We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-10 Nihonbashi Kakigara-cho, Chuo 103-0014 , Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No free shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

There are many Toyoko Inns in Tokyo to choose from. I did not know which to select but a review made on 27 Nov 2012 in Tripadvisor caught my eye as there is a free shuttle provided by the hotel to the Tokyo main train station.

When I arrived, the reception informed me that there is no such service. All guests have to find their own way to the hotel either by the subway or by taxi which cost 1000 Yen.

This means that between 27 Nov 2012 and April 2013 the free shuttle ceased.

As to the rooms.....like every Toyoko Inn the same furniture and toilet. Clean and well maintained. Breakfast is Japanese menu....simple but adequate.

English language is used minimal and sometimes it can be very frustrating as the reception do not seem to understand.

Room Tip: If non-smoking room is important to you, there are non=smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coarsegold
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Affordable for Tokyo, and only a couple of blocks from the subway. The room is very compact by Western standards, and the bed is really firm by Western standards, but - get used to it! Enjoy the Japanese version of a Western toilet (i.e. squirting front and back). Everything was perfectly clean and fresh. There is an on-site washer and dryer, reasonably priced, which we were happy to use. The desk staff spoke very little English, but we got by OK. The breakfast, which they described as "rice balls", was actually VERY tasty! Give it a try!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great hotel - they're very much standard hotel rooms, reassuringly identical whichever Toyoko Inn you stay at. And they're Western style, with a normal bed and a Western toilet (phew!).

A Japanese breakfast is included and there's a few pastry type things if you can't deal with the thought of rice for breakfast.

Comfy beds, quiet. Good location, close to the subway.

Staff are great and efficient. And the prices are very reasonable.

I'd thoroughly recommend this (and any Toyoko Inn) to anyone staying in Japan.

Also, a tip: sign up for the Toyoko Inn Club Card when you check in. It costs about 1000yen (approx 12 AUD) and gets you 10% off your room (I think... it may be 5%. Either way, you end up making your 1000yen back in a couple of nights). It's a good way to save money, especially if you're planning to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Affordable with breakfast included. Friendly, some English spoken but don't count on it for all employees. Free shuttle bus to and from Tokyo Station. Very clean and convenient and even though located on a busy street it was amazingly quiet. Drug store next door. I would recommend for visitors on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anndivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wife and I were there for 5 days/4 nights. Utilized the Tokyo subway for every excursion EXCEPT the Tsukiji fish market tuna auction. With easy access/walk to the S-line of Tokyo subway, and a "Suica" card for instant entry access, this was the most efficient method to see EVERYTHING in Tokyo we desired to see. On the morning we headed to the Tsukiji market at 0400, the S-line on Saturday was closed up at that time. Our plan B was a Taxi which took us to the front of the market.

The Toyoko Inn provided a good Japanese / Continential breakfest with Croissants, rolls, apple filled pastry,salad and sausage. American style coffee in addition to the self service expresso machine served our coffee needs.

Several evenings after a long day of sightseeing, we opt'd for a beer purchase at the local minute mart just 100 ft from the hotel door and due to the small size of the rooms, enjoyed the company of our party in the lobby where the two internet laptops are located.

The Inn has FREE schuttle service to the Tokyo terminal where 80% of the subway and 100% of the JR (Japan Rail) can be obtained. We utilized the schuttle on our last day in Tokyo to transport to Tokyo terminal to catch the Hakatari line to Kyoto. Schuttle runs approx every 30 minutes.

The rooms are small but clean and the hotel is located in a VERY quiet residential type section of Tokyo. There was a major (4 lane) road in front of the hotel but we did not hear/it did not bother us.

During the 5 day stay, we did not encounter the same front desk clerk. While each was as helpful as they possibly could be, the level of spoken and understood English went down as the stay progressed. We did NOT encounter ANY progblem with any staff, just some were more productive for us than others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in many Toyoko inn hotels in the greater Kanto area and I have to say that this particular Toyoko Inn has the best staff! The front desk clerks were very courteous and helpful; unlike a few other busier Toyoko Inn hotels' cold and borderline rude staff.
The best thing of all was the hidden gem of a neighborhood. Ningyocho is part of Nihonbashi. It's a very old town with small but beautiful temples/shrines hidden in alleyways and unexpected corners. It's recommended to walk around the neighborhood without any destination in mind and just soak up the tranquil atmosphere. I assure you that you'll find pleasant surprises along the way.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Neat and clean rooms, internet access, good breakfast! Its a nice hotel if on a business trip. Located near a train station and plenty of Indian/ continental/Japanese restaurants around.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Sujata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa  Inn Nihombashi Ningyocho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihon-bashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Nishitetsu Inn Nihonbashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Apa Hotel Ningyocho-Ekikita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho

Address: 1-10 Nihonbashi Kakigara-cho, Chuo 103-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chuo
#13 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Toyoko Inn Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Nihon-Bashi Ningyo-Cho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing