We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location and value for money”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very good location: based right by the Kayabacho metro and a 10-15mins walk to the Tokyo metro and JR stations. A decent size small double room - compact but with all that is necessary; perfectly clean and the decor is fresh. There are laundromats and vending machines on certain floors. There is a complimentary breakfast that includes salad, a choice of drink and a choice of a croissant or break with boiled egg. Strong WiFi in rooms

Lots of eateries and supermarkets around

The only downside is the smell of cigarette smoke at the reception area and on some floors (room, however, was perfectly smoke-free)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    233
    74
    14
    4
See reviews for
43
116
98
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I didn't have a good impression of the hotel when we first walked into the lobby because it was filled with cigarette smoke from a cafe inside the hotel. Without hesitation, I told the staff about it - they explained about the cafe's smoking customers only. However, for the next 2 nights there, we did not experience the smoky lobby again. I thought this was an excellent gesture to show that they value customers' comfort during their stay. Moreover, the staff was extremely helpful despite their limited grasp of the English Language. We wanted to go to Izu but couldn't find relevant information on the Internet. We approached the reception and a kind gentleman, Mr Kobe, who was on evening/night shift generously helped us with gathering information about bus schedules (which are only found on the japanese website - no English version, which explained why we couldn't find relevant info about Izu on the Internet) from different places. He spent about 1-2 hours assisting us and even helped us plan our itinerary in Izu just so we wouldn't miss the buses (since there're limited buses) and get to places on time. I must say, in Japan, if you come across someone who doesn't extend a helping, the world would come to a standstill. We really enjoyed our stay here - it is extremely clean, people are helpful and we surely enjoy the hearty breakfast provided for each night of stay there. I would certainly stay here again. Plus the location is awesome! 2 minutes from the nearest station, Kayabacho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelawaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I didn't have a good impression of the hotel when we first walked into the lobby because it was filled with cigarette smoke from a cafe inside the hotel. Without hesitation, I told the staff about it - they explained about the cafe's smoking customers only. However, for the next 2 nights there, we did not experience the smoky lobby again. I thought this was an excellent gesture to show that they value customers' comfort during their stay. Moreover, the staff was extremely helpful despite their limited grasp of the English Language. We wanted to go to Izu but couldn't find relevant information on the Internet. We approached the reception and a kind gentleman, Mr Kobe, who was on evening/night shift generously helped us with gathering information about bus schedules (which are only found on the japanese website - no English version, which explained why we couldn't find relevant info about Izu on the Internet) from different places. He spent about 1-2 hours assisting us and even helped us plan our itinerary in Izu just so we wouldn't miss the buses (since there're limited buses) and get to places on time. I must say, in Japan, if you come across someone who doesn't extend a helping, the world would come to a standstill. We really enjoyed our stay here - it is extremely clean, people are helpful and we surely enjoy the hearty breakfast provided for each night of stay there. I would certainly stay here again. Plus the location is awesome! 2 minutes from the nearest station, Kayabacho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angelawaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here in October for 2 nights. This is essentially a budget hotel with the following pro's and con's

Pro's:
- Relatively low room rates,
- Very close to Kayabacho station which has 2 lines and hence easy to access rest of Tokyo.The metro station is merely a minute's walk from the hotel
- The wifi works well in the room which is very helpful in planning your day.The staff dont seem to be comfortable with English and hence the wifi helps determine whats in the neighborhood.

Con's
- The rooms are extremely cramped. About 90% of the room is occupied by a single cot and you will struggle to even walk around in the room.
- The breakfast is very very basic. Basically one toast and egg and one juice.
- Many of the rooms were vacant when I was staying in this hotel but they refused to accommodate my request for one hour extension on check-out. This seemed a bit unreasonable.

All in, this is a good budget option and value for money stay provided you dont have too many expectations and mainly seek cheaper room rate and good connectivity / location & metro station.

Room Tip: Try to see if you can get a room which faces the road. My room had a window but was facing another b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthik1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is located in a great spot. It is a well-priced hotel - the very reason we, as a small group, decided on it. The rooms are clean and well appointed. But be warned as a westerner, the size of the room is not what we expect and this can cause disappointment - only for a brief moment and then you can relax.

The bed was very comfortable, there is a bathroom (mmm, thimble sized... but very clean).
I was with my son and we shared the bed. It would have been better to get a room each and at this price, you can.

I ended up likening my stay to like being on a boat - really cute in fact.

The breakfast was more than adequate and a lovely blend of western and Japanese (there was boiled egg with slaw and croissant). The coffee also not too bad.

The main highlight is the staff's attentiveness. They really make you feel welcome and try and do everything they can to accommodate your needs. Beware: Hotels of this size have virtually no English spoken and so, if there are issues or you want something outside of the ordinary, it will be difficult to communicate.

Free wi-fi in the room is great and rooms have opening windows. That's fantastic when wanting to have some fresh air.

Getting there is not easy from the airport as the Narita Express does not go to the nearby station. We went to Tokyo Station and a cab was the best option with children attached to the equation. The cab cost us around AU$12.

We walked along the river the following morning - there's some lovely areas nearby to explore and you can catch Bus 22 to Tokyo Station, the Maranouche area and the Imperial Palace easily.

All up - a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrytheBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is I and my wife's first trip to Japan and we had little knowledge regarding what hotel to stay. After a bit of research on trip advisor, we found this Fresa hotel. The below is the pros and cons

Pro

- Close to kayabacho subway station (literally 30 seconds walk) and it means you are close to almost everywhere in Tokyo.

- The room we stayed have always been kept clean and tidy by the polite cleaners (always greet when they see you).

- It provides a lot of amenities only provided by more expensive hotel such as slippers, toothbrush (renew everyday), shaver, hairbrush at your room. The list continue to make up remover, different bath powders, hair gel, various of teas in front of the service counter at the lobby. They are ALL free of charge. So awesome....

- Staff are all very friendly and communicating with English is no issue at all.

- Free Wi-Fi and daily breakfast. The breakfast is served with small but sufficient quantity and the quality is the as good as any other standard Japanese Cafe.


Con

- The room can use a bit more power plugs/sockets. The room we stay only have 3 power plugs and it's not really enough for us to charge all the devices (2 smart phones, wifi hotspot device, external battery and digital camera) we need for next day.

- The room size is small but it's sufficient and expected.

- Breakfast finishes at 10:00 am sharp. For someone who enjoy lazy morning, the cut off time is kinda too early. But I would assume it's fine for most travellers and business man...

Overall, it's a great stay and to be honest, all the cons mentioned are just nitpicking. Fantastic little hotel at its price,very surprised that we got all these good service and quality at this little cost. Will definitely recommend to anyone who would like to stay in Tokyo.

5/5 indeed!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Modern, clean, with all necessary facilities.

Breakfast is small but tasty, you can choose from 2 sets.

15-minute walk from Tokyo station, next to subway and Tokyo Stock Exchange (admission is free, worth checking out).

NB: hotel was recently rebranded and is kind of hard to find on Google Maps. Also, there are multiple transliterations of district name. Search for it using exactly following address: "1 Chome-3-10 Nihonbashikayabacho Chuo, Tokyo"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Oleksiy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa  Inn Nihombashi Ningyocho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hatchobori
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Kyobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kayabacho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho

Property: Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Address: 1-3-10 Nihonbashi Kayabacho, Chuo 103-0025, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chuo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#15 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-open as Sotetsu Fresa Inn on 4/01/2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trest Hotel Chuo
Trest Hotel Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing