We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel, great staff!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Mitsui Garden is located in a business district, but close walking distance to both the Ginza shopping area and Shimbashi station (which can connect you anywhere in the city and to Shinkansen trains). There is a great strip of restaurants about 5 minutes walk from the hotel as well. Front desk staff went above and beyond to help me ship a package home to the US. Providing a box and calling the Japan Post and FedEx offices for rates. Thanks for your help Hayashi! :) Convenient airport shuttle bus stops at the hotel to take you to Narita for the same price as the Narita Express without the hassle of changing trains. I suggest this.

The rooms had a spectacular view of Tokyo and parts of Tokyo bay. Accommodations were modern and comfortable. Keep in mind this is Japan, these rooms were on the smaller side but were still 'big' in my opinion, for a Japanese hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    572
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
196
545
142
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My favourite hotel when I go to Tokyo.

Fantastic location with a bus stop on the way to Narita Airport and at walking distance from Shimbashi station (big hub with trains to/from Haneda, Shinkansen, Tokyo Metro) and from Ginza.

Stunning views from all rooms, the hotel is modern and with stylish minimal fitting. Rooms are tiny, you hardly move yourself in a single room, but you have such a big window on Ginza that you cannot really suffer the limited space. Ok, price is high, but what else you can expect in central Tokyo?

No question about cleanliness. Service is good, normal for Japanese standard. Even if price for food is crazy, the Italian restaurant is good for dinner and especially breakfast. The light and the atmosfere of the restaurant in the morning is so nice and the food so good and well presented that is the best start for your day in Tokyo.

No fitness center and no swimming pool, the hotel is perfect anyway.

I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here just for 2 nights on the way back from Europe after receiving a recommendation from a friend and would definitely stay here again. The location is very central and you're just a short walk to the heart of Ginza or the fish markets.

The room was very good for Tokyo - it's not huge but it was very well laid out with room for everything. Air conditioning worked very well and the bathroom was actually much larger than expected with a very fancy electrochromatic screen for the shower so that you could choose between privacy or the view.

The staff were excellent and always very helpful. On checkout we found that there was a charge for the bar that wasn't ours and the staff found the original charge dockets and we could verify that it wasn't our signature or name. They could not apologise enough for the mistake which didn't trouble us as it was sorted out immediately anyway.

The Airport Limousine bus picks you up right outside for Narita airport but the bus from Haneda airport does not run directly to this hotel yet. The taxi from Haneda was only 10 000 yen anyway and it only took around 30 minutes so that was fine.

Just be aware that the reception for the hotel is on the 16th floor so you have to take the lift/elevator from the ground floor up to reception. There's only one choice in the lift anyway.

Also, we found that the taxi driver did not know the hotel so make sure you have the address and hotel name written down so you can show the driver.

When booking we couldn't get the right room combination (number of beds / non-smoking) on the website so I just emailed the hotel directly and this was a very efficient way to book.

Definitely recommend this hotel as it was very good value for the centre of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Superior rooms give a little more space so are probably worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Mitsui Garden Hotel is sleek. Its the biggest compliment I can pay to it. The small rooms have impressive views, the foyer is airy and open, and the location, five minutes (at most) from the heart of Ginza is wonderful.

However, while the hotel is attractive, this is far from a top tier hotel, and the service feels more like a three star hotel. I never really felt there was an obvious concierge service, and given the hugely varying quality of spoken English amongst the staff, I never really felt comfortable asking for restaurant or activity recommendations. I usually would at a similar quality hotel.

Of note, there were no English channels on the television.

The breakfast is solid, with tasty fresh salads and fruit. With that said, the hot options were fairly average (the bacon was 90% fat, and looked like it had been boiled), and juice and coffee are instant varieties.

Overall, this is a solid choice for Tokyo, particularly for shoppers and leisure travellers who want a central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here on a short layover on our Asia trip. I had booked a room with only one bed and when we arrived, they suggested that we upgrade to two beds. Neither one of us are tiny people and he didn't feel we would be comfortable. After seeing the bed, he was exactly right. They also gave us a good discount to upgrade. I don't know what size bed it was as they were larger than a twin bed in the US and smaller than a full size bed. We were definitely more comfortable. The beds were really comfortable with nice bedding.
We used the Airport Limousine service (out of Narita) as it picks up and drops off in front of the hotel. It worked very well. The limousine is actually a nice tour bus, but it was comfortable and they seemed very efficient at taking care of the luggage.
The room was large and had a great view of Tokyo. The bathroom had both a shower and a small tub. The toilet was one of the "fancy" ones that made noises when you sat down, the seat would warm up, it had a whole system of buttons that sprayed water in places (weird), and flushed itself. I had not experienced one like this before. We definitely got a lot of laughs over the strange toilet. They also had a really nice selection of higher end toiletries in the bathroom.
The room was spotless. They also provided 2 bottles of mineral water in the small refrig. The TV only had a few channels in English, but that was fine.
This is a great area to explore Tokyo. It is near many of the subway stations, it is an easy walk to a lot of great shopping and restaurants. It is also within walking distance to the fish market. The staff also was very helpful and they gave us a map for items around the hotel and marked things in English to help us find things. Everyone at the front desk also spoke English well enough to communicate without any real problems.
The hotel itself is a little hard to find at first. It has a small lobby area that you enter and go up to the 16th floor when you enter. (you can't get lost as that is the only choice you have in the elevator) That is really the main start of the hotel. In order to go up to the rooms, you need the key card. I thought that was a nice thing for security.
We did not eat at the restaurants. They looked nice, but the menu was expensive. So we chose to eat elsewhere.
The wireless internet worked great. You just have to ask the front desk for a password.
I feel like we couldn't have picked a better location and hotel. If we are ever back in Tokyo, this will be my first choice on a hotel to stay at. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Choose one with a big enough bed for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Biology-Teacher308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great rooms in a great location. Worth the price. Very pleasant lobby. Staff almost absent, apart from check-in and check out procedures. Indulge yourself in a larger sized bedroom, which stands apart from the regular Japanese standard.
Breakfastr is pleasnat and offers both Japanese and Western options. A good choice for sophisticated travelers

Room Tip: Worth the extra dollars spent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Modern hotel with lovely 16th floor lobby. Reliable but slow wireless Internet. Very clean with highly professional and efficient cleaning staff. Rooms are relatively small but in line with Tokyo standards.

Room tip: double room is more expensive than twin room but it is significantly smaller and the twin beds are each about 70% of the size of the double. In other words, double room not very worthwhile.

Staff were top notch. Professional and very helpful. Did not see concierge but this is inline with the business orientation of this hotel.

Location is pretty good as is short walk to Shimbashi station. Shiadome can be reached by foot bridge and this is nice place to eat or shop.

As with many Tokyo hotels. breakfast was not included and is priced at premium prices. I find this irritating and Europe is much more enlightened in this regard.

Fitness facilities also lacking.

Nonetheless, very good choice for business travelers.

Helpful?
2 Thank levtahor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,114 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Address: 8-13-1 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#3 Family Hotel in Chuo
#3 Business Hotel in Chuo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier is located in downtown Tokyo. With such an ideal location, this is your gateway to the financial centre of Japan. Leisure and business travellers alike can indulge in our 361 comfortable and spacious rooms. Whether dining in the Restaurant Sky or enjoying a drink in the Karin Lounge and Cocktail Bar, guests are assured amazing views of the city. Take advantage of our central location to visit local shops, art galleries and the Tsukiji Fish Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Chuo
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing