We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As others have noted, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Metropolitan Marunouchi at the tail end of an autumn foliage trip to Kyoto. I had previously stayed in the Shinagawa area for convenient access to the more manageable Shinagawa station, but wanted to try something different. The Metropolitan Marunouchi is first and foremost a business hotel, with plenty of men and women in suits coming and going through the lobby, but is nevertheless quite comfortable. Yes, the room is relatively small. I booked a nonsmoking queen, but was given a nonsmoking king room on the 29th floor with a direct room and bathroom view south over the tracks. Surprisingly, I heard very little train noise. I could hear a very distant, faint low-pitched hum, like you might hear from a refrigerator, AC unit, or heater down the hallway or in another room. The windows are double-paned, and do not open. The bathroom was strangely hot, until you opened the door to allow it to air out.

The room was perfect for one person, for a few days. It might be more challenging with more people or a large amount of luggage. For example, the closet is tiny. Perhaps one could fit a couple of coats and shirts, at best. That being said, the room was comfortable, and perfect for my needs. Access to Ginza, Akihabara, Ueno, and Asakusa was simple. I had breakfast outside the hotel - there are plenty of options in the train station basement and adjacent basements in connected office buildings, particularly the Gran Roof, which connects to the Yaesu side of Tokyo Station.

The hotel is located right outside the Nihonbashi exit of Tokyo Station, in the northeast corner, near the Shinkansen tracks. It occupies the top floors of the Sapia Tower office building. If you find yourself under the pretty dome of the north Marunouchi exit, you are in the wrong place. Go back towards Yaesu.

Room Tip: Unless you are very sensitive to noise, I don't think the trains will pose a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank electro35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 987 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi is located in a great location in central Tokyo, directly north of the Tokyo Train Station in the upper floors of the Sapia Tower. It is literally about 20-30 feet from the Nishibashi gate exit of the train station. It is located in front of the large bus stop and parking lot on the North end of the station and a few blocks east of the Imperial Palace.

To find the hotel from inside the train station, go to the Nishibashi gate exit near the Yaesu North gate. It took me a while to find this exit as I could not find a sign that would point me to the Yaesu North exit. I finally just drifted towards the Yaesu Central exit and then I started seeing signs for the Yaesu North exit (and then looked for the Nishibashi gate). The train station is huge so it took me a while to find the right exit. You can’t miss the Sapia Tower once you find the right door.

The hotel has larger rooms with great views of Tokyo and also has lower priced small rooms on the interior part of the hotel that do not have windows with outside views. These small rooms are called 'quietude' rooms as the rooms are not near any outside window and are quieter. I stayed in a small interior room and did not have any issues with it. The bathroom was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. I was by myself and did not have a lot of luggage. This would not have been a good spot if I was with my wife and we had our larger sized luggage.

The hotel staff was very professional and polite. They were also very friendly and helpful and were able to answer all my Tokyo Metro station questions. They also gave me a good map of the Tokyo Metro system. Every employee I met spoke excellent English. On the day I checked out they let me store my luggage behind the front desk as I finished touring Tokyo. Checking in and checking out was easy and it took no time at all. There was never a line and they always seemed to have four people working.

Overall I thought this hotel was nice and I really enjoyed my stay here. It is in a great central location and is also reasonably priced (especially if you stay in a small 'quietude' room).

Room Tip: Pick up an English language Metro Train station map at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have to admit that the hotel is more of a business hotel as it is located in a business district. However, the location is fantastic for tourists as well. Let me tell you why, if you are going to be taking the shinkansen or any train to other locations in Japan, it cannot get any better. We managed to get from the hotel lobby to the Shinkansen platform in 10 minutes. No need to lug your baggage to the subway or JR lines to transfer, imagine the bliss. Apart from that, a lot of the tourist sites are located in this part of Tokyo, like Tsukiji, Asakusa, Tokyo Skytree, Akihabara, are 5-15 mins train rides away and Ginza and the Imperial Palace is around 15 minutes walk away. If you are staying in Shinjuku area, it takes about 30 minutes train ride just to get to Asakusa. So I say the time you save pays off.

It may a little hard to find the hotel the first time around, as Tokyo station is humongous. Try to get hold of a Tokyo station map in the airport tourist information center or print off from the hotel's Japanese website before you leave. Just remember to exit to the Yaesu North side and look for the Nihonbashi exit, you will pass Daimaru. Once you exit, just head to the immediate building on the left.

The hotel staffs were very professional and polite. We went down to the lobby around 4am to try and get a taxi to Tsukiji, there were like 5 people at the lobby all wide awake and ready to serve. They dialed for a taxi and a staff took us down to the basement with a waiting taxi and bow to us until we were out of sight. Also do ask them for English maps and the Tokyo station map if you did not manage to get them. They also let us leave our luggage there for a few days as we traveled to other parts of Japan.

The room is small but most of hotel rooms in Japan are small, so it's a matter of getting used to it. However, the hotel provides disposable toothbrushes, combs, wash clothes, shavers etc and also pyjamas. They also provide this rehydration liquid that is suppose to help with dehydration, which was very interesting. Apart from that, they also provide 2 bottles of water.

There's plenty to eat around the Tokyo station area, there's Ramen Street on B1 level, some of the Ramen places close around 11pm if you are looking to have late dinner or supper. Alternatively, go check out the bentos in Daimaru (level B1). I was so happy to find a Maisen (famous pork tonkatsu) and Blacow (wagyu beef burger) take out counters in Daimaru, yes prices are a little on the high side but still cheaper than eating in the actual restaurant. There is also a Pierre Hermes macaron stand in Daimaru level 1, for the sweet tooth.

Lastly, book early. If you book 30 days in advance, you can get quite a good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msttp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is in a phenomenal location, directly across the street from Tokyo station. It appears to be sophisticated and posh from the outside, but the rooms are tiny. Further, the breakfast is terrible albeit there are several options right nearby. The staff is courteous and helpful. If you are in Tokyo for business and don't have to spend much time in the hotel, then this venue may suffice for easy accessibility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A good hotel in a very convenient location. However, the room I had was very SMALL with LIMITED storage space and not much area to move around. Also, when you have breakfast, plan on a 20 - 30 minute wait to be seated. As an individual business traveler, I always had a nice small table with great views for breakfast - but know it takes a while to be seated. The menue at the hotel (breakfast and room service - also appears to be very limited.

Room Tip: The lobby is on the 27th floor. When you enter the building on the 1st floor, you wouldn't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMRadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Fabulous location on top of Tokyo Station; terrific views from all rooms.
Handy for everything.
Excellent staff, efficient and polite. Rooms smallish but comfortable and well equipped. Fast wireless internet.
Only downside is poor breakfast arrangements - you will probably queue for up to 15mins - and very limited room service. If you want to eat, eat out or get takeaways, hundreds of restaurants and shops nearby. There is an Italian, Japanese, convenience store and Starbucks on level 3.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room overlooking the station - the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stay at this hotel for 5 night--November 7 to 1, 2013. As a foreigner in Tokyo on business, I was impressed with the English skills of all staff. he hotel lobby is very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and attentive. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and the meal was decent with typical hotel pricing. The waitstaff at the hotel restaurant were nice enough. The hotel rooms are tiny, but that is noted when you book a reservation on the site. This was not a surprise. What was a surprise is how simply filthy the carpet was in my hotel room. Stains of unknown galore. Had I not been required to stay at this hotel due to business travel, I would have stayed elsewhere. I did bring this up to the attention of the hotel, but nothing was done about it. Overall, I would rate this as an average hotel--a good lobby for show but less than amazing rooms. Also, there is no gym and that is a major disappointment.

Room Tip: Book away from the elevator. Check the cleanliness of your rooms ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Marunouchi Hotel
Marunouchi Hotel
#19 of 75 in Chiyoda
474 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi

Address: 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $227 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, located in central Tokyo, is surrounded by many appealing area attractions including the leafy and historic Imperial Palace and the Ginza shopping district. Additionally, the hotel's location in Marunouchi continues to offer new style, and the historical Nihonbashi area is widely beloved by edokko-Tokyo natives.Both business and leisure guests can take advantage of the hotel's convenient location adjacent to the Tokyo Station, providing the best access to transportation throughout Tokyo and Japan for your business and leisure travels.With high quality service, high grade interior and the latest facilities, this Tokyo budget hotel provides comfort that is one notch above the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing