We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was great, service cheerful (Saito san was brilliant) and room clean and modern. But a highlight for me was getting a real coffee at a cafe 10 metres from the hotel entrance. It's called Espressamente. The barista knew what a ristretto was and made a damn fine one. Illy beans.... Very authentic! A first for me in Japan.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank rosengrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a very convenient location, just outside Tokyo station, Yeasu north exit.
Rooms are clean, size in the average, if you get a room with windows opened to the exterior of the building, then it is very pleasant to work at your desk with that beautiful view.
Said this it would sound very good; just wait for your first breakfast. In the morning I had to always wait 10-15 minutes before being seated and, strange enough, entering the restaurant there were always many free tables (result of a typically very rigid attitude of many Japanese procedures); for the price I have paid this was simply unacceptable.
Finally, also in this hotel, no matter if you had a 15 hrs trip or not, check in only from 15:00....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximilianFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was very clean and modern. Staff was wonderful - very helpful with the business center and overall hospitality. Rooms are small but functional and very clean. Restaurant is very nice - service was slow - location is great and right next door to Tokyo station. I miss having a fitness center the one negtive for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel served my purpose of a business trip very well, and the main reason is its location. The places I needed to visit are all within a 10-20 min walk from this hotel, and even those slightly further away are either just a short taxi ride costing no more than 1000 Japanese Yen, or a few stations away on the convenient JR Yamanote line. If the places you need to visit for business are like mine, all within a walking distance from the Tokyo Station, then this hotel is for you.

The rates charged are not low, to be sure. But then again, Tokyo is a very expensive city by most standards. The room size I had was adequate, bordering on the small side as usual in this land-scarce city. Otherwise, all amenities are all there. The toilet is (super) clean as is expected of Japanese standards, and the big bed is comfortable. I had a corner room with a good view over the Tokyo skyline, so maybe it was after all worth it to pay a little extra for the space and view. Internet speed by plug-and-play was excellent, and the lighting in the room was well thought of. I especially like the automatic curtains -- convenient and also useful.

The location of this hotel, next to the historical, and newly renovated, Tokyo Station, also means that you get lots of eating options here, both expensive and cheap, and in between. Convenient stores are aplenty and there are also many coffee joints within a stone's throw from the hotel. There's even a huge departmental store with the usual branded stuff and all, and there are even some book shops and a supermarket. I think there really is nothing more a business traveller can ask for.

Service wise, I'd have to agree there's nothing to shout about. When I was there, Halloween was approaching so there was some decor to usher in the season. Some quirky and inane stuff was also hanging at the lift lobby to the hotel rooms; you have to be there to appreciate it and laugh at the Japanese sense of humour. Nobody helped me with my luggage (which I don't mind) and there was no great, extra effort to make my stay extra comfortable. But English is spoken here and check in and out were swift and nifty. I suppose it's not some 5-star, awe-inspiring outfit after all.

Come to this well-managed and clean and joyful hotel if you're looking for convenience and efficiency. If you want opulence and immaculate service, or even things to gasp about, I suppose the Metropolitan Marunouchi won't impress and only the likes of Park Hyatt, Imperial and Palace hotels will suit you.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and try the corner rooms, for the view if nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Difficult to fing a better situated hotel (perhaps the Marunouchi or the Tokyo station hotel).
you will enjoy the easy access to the train station and the metro network. Room are very clean and beds/mattresses are of very good quality. the low point: only one dinning option. No gym, no pool, but in room massage up to 2 am....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SGB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a very good business hotel. WiFi works instantly. Service is friendly and all are good english speakers. Rooms are a bit on the small side but fairly typical for Tokyo and the beds are very good. Every normal ammenity is present in the bathroom with especially deep soaking tubs a nice touch. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good, not great but good with the typical buffet perhaps a little bit less than some, but still very good. I would definitely stay here again if for only the location. You can easily walk underground from the Narita train at Tokyo Station to this hotel in five minutes. That alone makes this a great place to stay, right beside the newly renovated TKAt and right in the middle of everything from Ginza to coffee shops to the center of the business commnity.
ZB

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night there during a return to Tokyo. We were looking for a hotel close to Tokyo Station, as we were returning to Tokyo in the afternoon by train and taking an early Narita Express the next morning. It was very good for this purpose, with the only location drawback being that it is a bit hard to find - it is on the 27th floor of an office tower located near the north entrance, but not well marked. Rooms were very clean, although not very big. Nothing fancy about this place (other than the central atrium, which is impressive and adds a certain flair) - rooms are just slightly above Hampton Inn quality. The main drawback for us was the quality of service - they try very hard (give small gift on departure, with a note encouraging tripadvisor review and sent an email after stay soliciting feedback and a tripadvisor review ...), but one is left with an "amateur hour" feeling. The staff are all very friendly and polite, but not very experienced or polished. Any dealings with front desk staff for check-in and concierge-type inquiries made me feel that they were all students at a hospitality school - everything took longer than it should have, rather than call the restaurant with the number I gave, they insisted on finding it on the internet first (which they couldn't; they did reach it without problem when they called the number), they were giggling with each other. In its favour, the price is reasonable for the location, cleanliness and genuine attempts to provide high caliber service. Overall, an average experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumachLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Marunouchi Hotel
Marunouchi Hotel
#20 of 82 in Chiyoda
487 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,088 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi

Address: 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $213 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, located in central Tokyo, is surrounded by many appealing area attractions including the leafy and historic Imperial Palace and the Ginza shopping district. Additionally, the hotel's location in Marunouchi continues to offer new style, and the historical Nihonbashi area is widely beloved by edokko-Tokyo natives.Both business and leisure guests can take advantage of the hotel's convenient location adjacent to the Tokyo Station, providing the best access to transportation throughout Tokyo and Japan for your business and leisure travels.With high quality service, high grade interior and the latest facilities, this Tokyo budget hotel provides comfort that is one notch above the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing