We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for access to Tokyo Stn/ Haneda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location is convenient if you are arriving or departing from Tokyo Stn or Haneda. No eating places in the immediate neighbourhood. We were a bit put off by a front desk person when we went to the hotel around 2 PM when she told us brusquely check in was at 3 PM. Nothing wrong with the statement except that this was Japan were courtesy levels are unmatched anywhere else. Secondly we DID NOT asked to be given access to the room, we only wanted to drop off our luggage. She, without prompting, did give us the room since it was ready. But first press impressions matter to tired Travellers . The rest of the stay was pleasant enough and we would go back if Shinjuku/ ikebukuro hotels were booked out, like they were during our year end visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 955 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is located in Hanzomon which is more business area. There is no shops that within walking distance.

The single room is very small but twin share room is decent.

The biggest problem is the air. The room is very stuffed as not fresh air feeding through the aircon. The temperature is not adjustable which is just too hot to handle.

A few of us got sick during the trip but couldn't get good rest in the room due to the stuffy air.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sisyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The staff are very good and generally speak enough English to get by. It is located on top of a train station. The triple room we stayed in was quite cramped though. Overall it was a great experience at a reasonable price. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdes252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel was located right across Exit 5 of the Hanzomon Metro station with a lift located beside the exit for ease of luggage transfer. This was my second stay with the hotel but I was disappointed with the condition of the room this time around. The walls next to the window in the room has a stain on it but overall the toilet and the bed were clean. I think it's time for the hotel to do some paint job. Also the hotel didn't provide any free bottled drinking water for guests which is a shame for the price paid (standard double room).
Other than that the service was great from the front desk and the housekeeping dept.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeiraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location across from the Hanzomon Metro station. Clean, smallish but comfortable rooms. Wi Fi was free but for some reason only accessible from the hallway not from the room. A razor and a toothbrush, and toiletries, slippers and pajamas were provided. A large soaking tub. Would stay again when in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I spent 3 nights in a single room that was clean and comfortable. The room was fairly small by American standards, just enough space for 1 person to sleep and change, nothing fancy but not depressing either. A nice bathroom with all of the amenities and, what I came to appreciate as, a decent sized bathtub. Again, very small by Amer. stds. but deep enough to sit submerged to the armpits, but I'm only 5'9". The rest of the hotel is true to the pictures, clean and not bad to look at, but not fancy. The staff were all very helpful and made it easy, and comfortable, to communicate in English. I'd skip the overpriced breakfast. The best part for me was the location, directly across from the Hanzomon Metro station. (Be mindful of which exit you need to use when you get off the train.) It is the 3rd stop from Tokyo Station, which I found to be much easier to manage than being near Shinjuku Sta. or Shibuya Sta. The one downer about the location is the metro exit that is directly across from the hotel only has stairs, no elevator. A real drag with luggage after a very long flight! Maybe there is someway to take an elevator up to the street at a different exit and then walk around to the hotel.

Room Tip: Free in-room Wifi, BBC News is the only English channel (good enough for me but worth noting because...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inquiry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Monterey Hanzomon for 6 nights and I have to say that it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is located just across the Hanzomon metro station (exit 5) really close to the Imperial Palace. There are so many convenient stores around the area. Two family marts, one 7/11 and plenty of restaurants and cafes to have lunch, dinner and maybe a drink. A night walk around Chiyoda park is a lovely experience as well. The room was clean and tidy with big comfortable double bed. The bathroom had a modern Japanese toilet and a big bathtub with every kind of amenities you would like to have. Overall the hotel is an affordable and reasonable choice for being right next to everything and have a great time in Japan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimChrisos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 75 in Chiyoda
872 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,027 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Green Palace
Tokyo Green Palace
#37 of 75 in Chiyoda
220 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
Toshi Center Hotel
Toshi Center Hotel
#26 of 75 in Chiyoda
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#22 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $68 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is inspired by the traditions and customs of Edo. Using traditional colors of Edo as a base, each room has a distinctive design representing the gaiety, glamour and vigor of old Tokyo. Meanwhile, the architecture and decor unite these traditions with modern building techniques. Located in the center of Tokyo, adjacent to Hanzomon Station, the hotel offers easy access around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Priceline, Orbitz, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing