We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small (as expected) but very cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small (as expected) but very cosy”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked a normal room but it looks out onto a grey concrete wall so no view. I would pick a better room with some daylight. There is no on-site room service or restuarant but places nearby, and a couple of supermarkets. Breakfast is catared for and is very good - with a selection of Japanese and Western cuisine.
Use laundry service which was same day and excellent too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cue-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    547
    130
    18
    16
See reviews for
161
188
198
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my wife in May.

THE GOOD:

Good location. We came in via Tokyo Station and Narita and just took a short cab ride over to the hotel. Room was very clean and quiet during our stay.

THE BAD:

Room smelled of smoke during our stay and could never get it out. The bed and pillows were very hard, even by Japanese standards. The room was a bit small.



I would probably look for another hotel next time I come to Tokyo but stay wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is just opposite of the north entrance to the Hanzomon subway station, very convenient if you have luggage. Well connected to e.g. Omotesando and Shibuya, other destinations may require one change. The lobby is spacious and elegant. Reception was friendly and smooth, the staff speak English. The rooms are relatively large for a Tokyo hotel in this price range (the bathroom is the usual plastic cubicle, though). Internet via USB cable is free and fast.
I didn't try the breakfast and went to one of the small coffee shops nearby where you can get a quick breakfast (what I need) for 400 Yen. I used their laundry service, which worked very well. For what I paid (ca 80 Euro per night) the hotel represents excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for several times and loved my stay.
The room is quite small with a small closet.
Like most Tokyo hotels, it's clean and you get what you need.
The best is the free wifi.
The surrounding area is quiet but got several nice places to eat, small bar and a supermarket cross the street.
The metro station is also cross the street ( only took you 30 seconds).
Same metro line to Shibuya, another pros.

Room Tip: Choose twin bed room, don't choose double as the bed is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, sharing a double room in three. The only downside of our stay is that the room was, in fact, a bit too tiny for three people. Apart from that, we were very satisfied: our room was clean and with all the things you needed (even more than we could have thought); the bathroom was ordinary (even though the toilet was high-tech and very funny and comfortable). We managed to use Wi-fi nicely and freely and slept well. I found it very cheap considering the quality of the building, since it was good-loooking and modern.
Its position is just great: right in front of the Metro entrance, so it only took a cross of the road to get to the hotel in the evenings. Awesome! I seriously recommend this hotel, especially for the location (Chiyoda) right in the middle of Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Tokyo is a very expensive town and hotels are very expensive. This one was a very good option once is not so expensive and it's really near the center. Metro station is in front of the hotel. Room was small but nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here from the 9th April to the 23rd in a twin room (812) . Found room to be smaller than expected, but hey this is Japan. Room was spotless, beds exceptionally comfortable, bathroom good size and never ran out of hot water. My only complaints about the room is that it never got any sun so always seemed very dreary and was easily looked in by people from the neighbouring building, and forget wifi connection it just never worked in our room, we ended up getting a softbank. If you want wifi go downstairs to the lobby full strength always available there even locked away in the smoking area.

We found the staff to be always pleasant, polite and very helpful. Lobby area can get a little busy sometimes. Didn't have breakfast as there are several eating places around. Great family Mart and 7/11 with an ATM.Chemist next door which came in very useful. A few good eating places for the evenings, but must confess ate out in town most of the time. When returning to the hotel late at night found the area to be very safe, which is always a bonus for me.

The best thing about this hotel is it's locality, it really is a stones throw from the metro, as long as you get out at exit 5. The metro and train system here is fantastic, London Transport could learn quite a lot from Japan on how to run a decent transport service to their highly paying customers.

Would we stay here again? Yes Yes Yes but would request a room with a better view.

Room Tip: If you want wifi connection or a good view don't stay in room 812.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceladyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
850 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Akasaka / Roppongi
Toshi Center Hotel
Toshi Center Hotel
#24 of 74 in Chiyoda
374 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#22 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing