We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is very clean, the location is just cross the street from honzomon station entrance so you can get to where ever you want easilly
Nice and quite neighbourhood 24/7 super market are very close to the hotel
The room and bathroom were small but as we spent all our day outside it didnt bother us
I didnt try the restaurant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoZaid_3s4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    534
    129
    18
    16
See reviews for
159
181
193
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a short stay in Tokyo and the Monterey Hanzomon was a good choice for us. A good room, both western and Japanese breakfast, very close to the Imperial Palace and the Subway right across the street to take you everywhere. Nothing extra fancy, just a good hotel to spend the nights after sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was just a very fast trip. Two days in Tokyo from Europe. I was very tired.
The quality of sleeping OK, Excellent breakfast (a bit expensive, 1900 Y). Nice Quarter, Well conncted, through Hanzomon (z) line Hanzomon Stn.,exit 5. From Narita straighforward through the Hanzomon line.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettore m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice,clean hotel with a convenient location.
I guess the only minus is a very little sitting space at the reception. At the check out time there is not enough place for everyone to comfortably wait for your taxi,especially if you have an evening flight and check out is at 11:00 (which is also very early, 12:00 would be much better).
Also a restaurant in addition to breakfast (very good one) would be a great addition to the hotel services. Quite a number of Tokyo restaurants close somewhat early so it would be convenient to have a hotel restaurant/cafe serving hot meal in contrary to having to search for at least some place to eat in the hotel vicinity in the late evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darth_Alexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with the Monterey chain in Kyoto and Osaka so knew that the rooms were a good size by Japan terms. However this one was a little disappointing. Mainly it's location in a business district. However! We found it easy to get to Shibuya and Shinjuku and the Emperors Palace is within walking distance. The staff are a little straight faced and can be a bit stubborn when you ask for something but we have found that the Japanese like to stick to specific and exact times for checkin. We were initially given a smoking room which appeared to be on a smoking floor as you could smell it as you got off the lift (floor 10), and asked to be moved. At first they couldn't change the room and then miraculously they found one on the floor below which was much better. We would use Monterey hotels again but would check thoroughly where they are placed before booking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pros:
- Extremely close to the metro station (just across the street)

- Big rooms - compare to many hotels in Tokyo!

- Really great prices! one of the best value I could find

- Nicely decorated - for the price we paid the rooms are well-decorated and not dull.

Cons:
- The area is not so tourist friendly, seems to be a commercial district with lots of people bumping into you in the morning, lack of restaurants and things to do at night

- Staff is not that nice (we arrived dead tired as we were on a midnight flight, they refused to let us check in until exactly at 2pm! and even lots of people were checking in the morning when we first arrived)

- We requested a double bed, but they gave us a twin room, so not comfortable sleeping with my husband with two beds put together.

Remarks:
We lost our passports when we traveled to another place and the night we checked in again, the front desk staff heard our stories but did not inititally tried to help us with anything at all. We had to kept asking them to call the other hotel we stayed at to see if they found our passports (as the other hotel is not in the city, they don't speak any English).

They did not even try to help us to find a police, just gave us a map and asked to go ourselves. Luckily it's very close to the hotel. And even when we were in the police station, none of the police understood what we were saying, so we asked them to call to the hotel, the police said the staff did not tell us anything or help explained anything. We were there literally for one hour just to explain that we've lost our passports


It's a great hotel to stay at if you don't run into any problems like mine, but don't count on them helping you if you're in trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmiedustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The price of this middle-size hotel is incredibly affordable for downtown Tokyo. Centrally located and just across the exit of the metro station, it is perfect for business trips and short-stays. Nevertheless, the area is quiet at night with few convenient stores around. The busy commercial areas of Tokyo, like Shibuya or Shinjuku, are easily and quickly accessible by subway.

The rooms are rather smalls, but it is comparable to any hotel of this price in Tokyo. The bathroom is quite nice because it is not the standard Japanese modular unit. A lot of bathroom amenities were offered. It is clean except from some marks on the walls, probably made by the guests’ luggage.

Since it is a middle-size hotel, I didn’t see (and didn’t look for) any restaurant or breakfast. But who cares because there are plenty just outside.

I highly recommend this hotel for business trips or to visit Tokyo when not spending a lot of time inside the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#13 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#10 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#17 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#22 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing