We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The entrance to the Hanzomon metro line is right across the street.There are many
restaurants and a few Pastryshops in the neighborhood,next door is a Convenience
Store.At the #1 exit of the Hanzomon line there is a St-Marc Cafe,great for
Coffee and breakfast.The rooms are small and clean.Bathroom is great and so
is the service.Get a SUICA at the metro station,you can load it up and use it for transportation and also to pay at Convenience stores.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k9kuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 981 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

Whilst we spent a very good holiday in japan between the 18th and 28th March 2012, the hotel was basic and the very very small room even more basic.

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours or so before the AUTHORISED time that we could have the room, the hotel allowed us to book in but said we had to return after 3pm, even though the room was ready they stated we could not go to our room.

We were allowed to leave our bags so we went for a coffee, and returned to the hotel were we had to sit in the reception area until 3pm, although they knew who we were they did not tell us that we could go to our room we had to keep asking and getting refused.

After that the reception area were exceptionally helpful in doing internet searches for trips etc, the hotel is mainly used by Japanesse sports/Business people.

The bed is VERRRRRRRRRRRRRRYYYYYYYYYYYY small as is the TV with only one English channel and the room is extreamly basic. The bathroom was the opposite and was well maintained, with all toiletries replenished daily, so no need to take any with you the towels were again very small.

Apart from the hotel being in one of the very quite areas and we you need to use the underground daily which is very easy to use, suggest you get a weekly pass as this works out better.

The train from the airport we used the local one to Tokyo costs approx 1200 yen each and took an hour and a half then you changed at Tokyo for the Hammon line costs 160 yen, you do need change to do this.

Overall a good hotel with the room being small and basic but very reasonable priced and as we only used the room to sleep in this was not a major problem, with direct access to the metro 2 mins away, the General area is quite and in the evenings minimal restaurants are open. The breakfast costs were reduced from 1800 yen to 1200 yen but we were advised by another couple not to bother so we didn't use that facility.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As previous poster MirroRobin had mentioned below, we also got the cramped 2 person with the extra bed option. Only when we rechecked in again a few days later that we got the bigger corner room on the 6th floor. Bathroom was not cramped and there are ample toiletries for your needs. Service is excellent.

Pros:-
1) Monterey Hanzomon is located right opposite the Hanzomon station (Z05 Metro Hanzomon Line) so it serves as a good base for exploration. Hanzomon Line also leads to Shibuya and also easy access to Asakusa so it is a great line to be use.
2) Located right outside the hotel is an izakaya, small pharmacy, ramen shop (with picture and ticket) and my favourite, Family Mart (convenience store which opens 7am - 10pm). You can also have breakfast at the hotel.
3) The very affordable 1-day and 2-day Metro Open Ticket at 600 yen and 980 yen which can also be purchased had you come in from Narita Airport counter. If you buy it via the subway ticket machine, the same 1 day ticket will cost you 710 yen. In Japan, every yen counts.

Cons:-
1) 2 person room with an additional bed in it to become a very cramped 3 person room for 3 nights!
2) Getting here from Haneda airport by subway is a bit of hassle. You need to transfer 3 lines and the directions at Keikyu Kamata to get to Shinagawa is a bit confusing. When you reach Shinagawa just climb the stairs and head towards the JR sign, go the ticket counter and present your Keikyu tickets to buy your JR ticket.
a) Haneda to Keikyu Kamata (Keikyu Line)
b) Keikyu Kamata to Shinagawa (Keikyu Line)
c) Shinagawa to Shibuya (JR Line) - 160 yen
d) Shibuya to Hanzomon (Tokyo Metro) - 160 yen
3) Air conditioning is not switched on. You need to request the hotel desk for the aircon.

Fantastic location and great hotel with affordable price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Screw_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights; as mentioned by other reviewers, the location is excellent as a base to explore tokyo city with the metro right in front of the hotel. We can even come back after lunch and have a nice rest before going out again. Make sure you buy 1 or 2 day metro pass at the hotel reception, great value.

Compact but comfortable and clean rooms. The hotel seems to popular with locals especially groups of school children. Almost every morning we encounter them at the entrance with their bus waiting.

The only inconvenience is travelling between the hotel and the airport; as you will need plenty of time to travel with many interchange of metro and train stations carrying luggage up and down staircases. As we arrive late evening, we decided to stay at hotel near the airport instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat_Wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end. Overall the experience was very good. Located right next to the Hanzomon metro stop it was convenient to get to pretty any of the tourist attractions in the city within 20 minutes or so.

We booked a room for 3 persons for an average of €95 per night, which was extremely cheap compared to other hotels, especially given that it was cherry blossom season. Our first experience with the hotel was not very good though. We were initially given a room that was clearly a room for two persons maximum, but they still managed to barely fit in an extra bed. This left little to no space in the room to walk and you would literally have to jump over the bed in the middle of the room to get to the other side as it was blocking the whole width of the room. We were not very happy to say the least, since it was sold to us as a three person room. The next day we managed to fix this at the reception. They were very nice and understanding about it and all our luggage was moved to out new corner room, which was much bigger. Bathroom in both rooms was the same; small but adequate. Assuming that we would get the same room next time, we would definitely stay here again. Don't settle for the tiny room you will probably initially receive when you book a room for 3 adults.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both room 806 and 206, which were both quiet corner rooms and significantly bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirroRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed in two different hotels during a 8 day trip in Tokyo. Selected this hotel for the first 3 nights due to very good experience in their sister hotel in Kyoto. Declined the offer to upgrade for additional Yen1000 per night as wont stay in room except when sleeping. Bathroom is slightly bigger than those in business hotels. Location is excellent. There are post office, police stations,cheap noodle eatery (next door), convenient store, a not so big super market (just opened), coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants, etc nearby (all within 5 minutes walk). The streets are somewhat quiet at night but absolutely safe.
Will return to this hotel when in Tokyo in future

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limeh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here recently for a wedding (which was nearby). Very nice staff, breakfast was ample and tasty, clean rooms, quiet sleep - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annecy-Apartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,088 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 82 in Chiyoda
904 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#32 of 87 in Shinjuku
519 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Green Palace
Tokyo Green Palace
#31 of 82 in Chiyoda
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#22 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $68 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is inspired by the traditions and customs of Edo. Using traditional colors of Edo as a base, each room has a distinctive design representing the gaiety, glamour and vigor of old Tokyo. Meanwhile, the architecture and decor unite these traditions with modern building techniques. Located in the center of Tokyo, adjacent to Hanzomon Station, the hotel offers easy access around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing