We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband was traveling for business and I decided to join him last minute. The rooms are quite large, there is a large dressing room, a living area with couch, and a wonderful bathroom with the precious Japanese toilets and double sinks.

The location is also quite convenient as you will be right by the Yurakucho station and walking distance to Ginza (an upscale neighborhood with lots of shopping and dining options) as well as Hibiya Park--a great place to go to escape the concrete jungle and enjoy some green space. I did not get a chance to use the pool at the hotel, but my husband's coworker was able to use it and claimed that it was incredible!

We were there for 2 nights, I would definitely go back in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamonoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our first time to Tokyo so we chose the hotel based on location and various reviews. We definitely were not disappointed. The rooms were awesome with walk in closet/dressing rooms and every electronic device you could think of and then some. The service was excellent from the front desk to the conceirge to housekeeping. If you needed something all you had to do was ask. You cannot beat the location which is right next to Ginza and best of all they have a subway station in the basement of hotel. Cannot say enough nice things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of Imperial Palace, a little more expensive but well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We used to have limited choices when it comes to very good international hotels (Imperial and Okura) in TOKYO. This one is a very welcomed addition to the category. Probably room is the best among those new comers (Ritz Carlton, Palace, etc). Lobby is small but service is always great. It has less business and more personal travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Granted it is not cheap but then again there are far more expensive 5 Star Hotels in Tokyo. The value for money here is second to none. The standard category room is a huge 55m2. The rooms are beautifully appointed, massive bathroom with double sink, walk-in wadrobe/dressing room, great in room coffee maker which is very important. Comfy bed. Hotel is in a great location next to Imperial Palace and walking distance to Ginza and Marounuchi areas so handy for shopping and Tokyo Train Station if you are catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train.The only negative about this property and everyone notices is the lobby. They serve breakfast and tea here during the day and guests must walk through it to access the check-in area and the lifts, there is no traditional lobby with seats per se. The brekafast was good but service was slow for a hotel of this standard. Other than that a wonderful property, probably in my top 10 worldwide.

Room Tip: An Imperial Palace View room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happynomad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The design of this hotel is beautiful. Every feature, from the reception areas, the pools to the guest rooms are all beautifully done. In particular our room was stylish, comfortable and had all the latest technology and gadgets (including a heated and automatic toilet seat!). The location was great. All the taxi drivers knew exactly where to find it and easily recognised the name, which made things so much easier with the language barrier. Concierge were very helpful with all bookings, and the hotel is perfectly located to explore Ginza by foot. The gym was small with some weights but they have a pair of trainers available in each size in case you've forgotten your own!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5StarJunkie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had stayed at several Peninsula's on our trip (all first class), but much to our regret, not at this one. My rating is based on the fact that we approached the doorman at his one, walking up from the street and asked about getting a cab. He stopped what he was doing, summoned a cab and assisted us to get in despite the fact that we were obviously not guests. This typifies what we experienced at the other locations. First class experience. If I can afford the stay, I'll stay at these when available!

This location is across from the Palace grounds and about 1-2 miles from the Tokyo Tower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Speaking of afternoon tea, a place that is famous for their iconic afternoon tea is none other than The Peninsula. A beautiful ritual steeped in tradition, afternoon tea is a signature feature at each Peninsula around the world.

Before the three-tier set is served, guests will be served a choice of tea or coffee. Most certainly, tea is highly recommended and the wide range here includes the classic tea selection featuring tea from the Peninsula hotel brand, herbal tea selection as well as Harney & Sons fine tea selection. Harney & Sons is an American craft tea brand since 1983 and I enjoyed their Green Tea with Thai flavours (the Thai ingredient seemed to be lemongrass)

Among the starters, the Shrimp and egg salad wrap was a moreish delight with spiced creamy mashed egg wrapped in a yellow crepe skin that surprisingly contained nostalgic taste of curry. I also like the Yuzu marinated salmon and white radish cocktail which resembled an refined pickled dish with bright sour flavours. Who says salmon must always go with cream cheese and dill? Lying besides the roasted bell pepper quiche is a Pink sandwich specially created for the Pink Breast Cancer Awareness campaign. The combination of corned beef, roasted beet and lemon cream is quite an adventurous idea that would realize its full potential if the beef had not been too sinewy.


As mentioned earlier, The Peninsula Tokyo shows its support for Breast Cancer Awareness Month every October by staging "Peninsula in Pink" as part of a group-wide campaign of the Peninsula Hotels to raise both awareness and funds. A percentage of the proceeds raised goes to local breast cancer-related charities.
In line with the theme of pink, the spread of desserts dominated by pink, white and red colors. Classic mousse cakes include the Raspberry and white chocolate mousse and La Foret noire (Blackforest cake) whose cherries were well soaked but not overly done to the extent of drenching the entire cake.

Most European cakes that contained citrus peels tend to be extra sweet because the peels are concentrated with sugar but not for this Grapefruit pound cake. The bitterness of the peels here was forthcoming, and thus it took me some time to get accustomed to the taste. Hence, I prefer the Rhubarb tart, which has an excellent pastry base that never fails to put a smile on my face.


But it was the homemade scones that I enjoyed bits by bits till the end of the course because they were simply terrific. Both the organic plain and raisin scones were those old-fashioned kinds with a sturdy wall that collapsed upon a bite. These were especially mesmerizing with the clotted cream and raspberry compote.

The Afternoon Tea menu changes every season and be sure to avoid weekends and national holidays unless you do not mind queuing with the Japanese ladies. The selection might not be the most extensive one but it sure leaves one full and satisfied. And with the beautiful live piano music playing in the background, one can easily forget about the time and the busy crowds outside in Ginza. Feel free to visit my blog for full post and pictures

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank dairy_cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,095 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 78 in Chiyoda
1,202 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $527 - $1,270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing