We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Great Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had stayed at several Peninsula's on our trip (all first class), but much to our regret, not at this one. My rating is based on the fact that we approached the doorman at his one, walking up from the street and asked about getting a cab. He stopped what he was doing, summoned a cab and assisted us to get in despite the fact that we were obviously not guests. This typifies what we experienced at the other locations. First class experience. If I can afford the stay, I'll stay at these when available!

This location is across from the Palace grounds and about 1-2 miles from the Tokyo Tower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    341
    88
    22
    19
See reviews for
383
569
101
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Speaking of afternoon tea, a place that is famous for their iconic afternoon tea is none other than The Peninsula. A beautiful ritual steeped in tradition, afternoon tea is a signature feature at each Peninsula around the world.

Before the three-tier set is served, guests will be served a choice of tea or coffee. Most certainly, tea is highly recommended and the wide range here includes the classic tea selection featuring tea from the Peninsula hotel brand, herbal tea selection as well as Harney & Sons fine tea selection. Harney & Sons is an American craft tea brand since 1983 and I enjoyed their Green Tea with Thai flavours (the Thai ingredient seemed to be lemongrass)

Among the starters, the Shrimp and egg salad wrap was a moreish delight with spiced creamy mashed egg wrapped in a yellow crepe skin that surprisingly contained nostalgic taste of curry. I also like the Yuzu marinated salmon and white radish cocktail which resembled an refined pickled dish with bright sour flavours. Who says salmon must always go with cream cheese and dill? Lying besides the roasted bell pepper quiche is a Pink sandwich specially created for the Pink Breast Cancer Awareness campaign. The combination of corned beef, roasted beet and lemon cream is quite an adventurous idea that would realize its full potential if the beef had not been too sinewy.


As mentioned earlier, The Peninsula Tokyo shows its support for Breast Cancer Awareness Month every October by staging "Peninsula in Pink" as part of a group-wide campaign of the Peninsula Hotels to raise both awareness and funds. A percentage of the proceeds raised goes to local breast cancer-related charities.
In line with the theme of pink, the spread of desserts dominated by pink, white and red colors. Classic mousse cakes include the Raspberry and white chocolate mousse and La Foret noire (Blackforest cake) whose cherries were well soaked but not overly done to the extent of drenching the entire cake.

Most European cakes that contained citrus peels tend to be extra sweet because the peels are concentrated with sugar but not for this Grapefruit pound cake. The bitterness of the peels here was forthcoming, and thus it took me some time to get accustomed to the taste. Hence, I prefer the Rhubarb tart, which has an excellent pastry base that never fails to put a smile on my face.


But it was the homemade scones that I enjoyed bits by bits till the end of the course because they were simply terrific. Both the organic plain and raisin scones were those old-fashioned kinds with a sturdy wall that collapsed upon a bite. These were especially mesmerizing with the clotted cream and raspberry compote.

The Afternoon Tea menu changes every season and be sure to avoid weekends and national holidays unless you do not mind queuing with the Japanese ladies. The selection might not be the most extensive one but it sure leaves one full and satisfied. And with the beautiful live piano music playing in the background, one can easily forget about the time and the busy crowds outside in Ginza. Feel free to visit my blog for full post and pictures

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dairy_cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
264 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in The Peninsula after having spent my previous two trips in the closeby Imperial Hotel - both hotels are high class but the rooms at The Peninsula are much more spacious and luxurious. Also it feels like it is new (compared to the somewhat outdated Imperial). A really great room size with large separate dressing room and bathroom, floor to ceiling windows, large flatscreen with seating area, convenient 110 and 200 volt outlets, comfortable beds. Breakfast area in the lobby is convenient and never too busy. Service is in all areas excellent. I also enjoyed Peters Bar and restaurant on the 24th floor with stunning views of Tokyo. So definitely a hotel to return to, one of the best I stayed in for a long time.

From Narita airport easy to reach with the Limousine Bus service, reliable and relatively comfortable and at 3000 yen very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a top hotel in a top location, just west of Ginza. It sits on top of, and has a direct entrance from, the Hibiya Metro station. The hotel is five-star Asian modern, with very large rooms. The deluxe rooms have sitting areas, huge bathrooms and dressing rooms\closets. Everything is of the highest quality. The lights, A/C, curtains, etc., are electronically controlled. The service is ultra-gracious, even by Japanese standards. Everyone we saw working at the hotel was very friendly and very competent. This was our third stay at the hotel. All three visits have been of the same quality.

Room Tip: The hotel has three sides. The north side looks out over the Imperial gardens (they charge more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a hotel I would choose whenever I travel to Tokyo and thus I am already quite familiar with the hotel's great location, nice room size and layout, authentic coffee in the room, relaxing bathtub and spa option, delicious breakfast (order the French toasts!) and convenient travel network (Hibiya subway station is accessible through the hotel basement and only 15 minutes from Harajuku on the Chiyoda line, while Yurakucho station of the Yamate line is only 3 minutes away!)

What I didn't expect was the wonderful service that the staff was able to provide! Since there are four of us (all gals) in this group, needless to say we have quite a few boxes stuffed with omiyage (お土産). We had to call up housekeeping to give us some duct tape to seal them up. A very nice (and good looking!) gentleman came by our room with the full gear and sealed up our boxes so nicely that was totally beyond our expectation (please see attached picture). Really thumbs up for him!

Then when we had to leave the hotel to head to Haneda, the hotel concierge took note of our 17 pieces of luggage and arrange a jumbo taxi for us. They also utilized FOUR bell staff to load up the vehicle in no time even though it is by no means an easy task. We just all stood by, without lifting a finger, totally awed by the professionalism and hospitality of this place I would call home in Tokyo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Princess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having been to The Peninsula in Hong Kong for dinner and observing the hotel, it really made me want to stay in one of their properties. Sadly it didn't live up to expectations! The reception staff are unfriendly, not particularly helpful and stoney faced. The room itself was very nice and had every mod con that you would expect. The lobby is were you have breakfast and is an uncomfortable place to sit and eat. It can get cold if you are near the door and is a very busy thoroughfare so not condusive to having a relaxed meal. The breakfast staff were shambolic - lot's of them and nobody knowing who has done what. The food served at breakfast was disappointing to say the least - if you order a bakery basket you are given 1 slice of toast, 1 croissant and 1 danish pastry per person and the orange juice is not freshly squeezed. As you can imagine it's not cheap to eat there and it feels like they are economising on what should be a substantial meal for the money you pay. The spa has nice facilities but again hugely expensive and very average treatments. Mark Holguin and Ema2006 - I agree with you you both!

Room Tip: Good to get a room with a view over the Imperial Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Always outstanding and attentive service....
Visually a big and rather corporate bland hotel but the deluxe rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very advanced bathrooms, especially the Toto toilets
Good views from the 17th floor breakfast room and a good buffet breakfast, especially from the omelette chef. Good pastries but pancakes tasteless
The swimming pool, all windows and views in the Tower, was exellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing