We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a deluxe room and the room was big. It had a walk in closet with changing area, bathroom with separate shower and bath tub, king bed, sitting area with love seat and coffee table and a dinette table and chairs on the side. They asked if we wanted a upgrade with a charge but we were glad that we declined it b/c the room is very big and comfortable from a U.S standard .


The location is in the high end area of Tokyo with access to great shopping and restaurants.

We ate out the whole time we were there so we didn't have time to experience their restaurants. The lobby can be a bit of a scene with ppl having high tea in the lobby as it is one the things to do at the Peninsula.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Peninsula Tokyo for 6 days. The room is excellent and well design, with a separate closet area. The location is very convenience with 3 minutes walking to ginza area.

Hotel staff are trying to offer the best service. The main drawback is the concierge service which is not really up to the standard in a city like tokyo, they do not seem to be very knowledgable and take them time to understand the customer requirements.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can't go wrong staying at Tokyo's Peninsula. The Hong Kong chain's service is world renowned, and once you've experienced it you will hesitate to call anything else "Five Star"! You will feel like a celebrity upon entering the lobby, when literally dozens of hotel employees bow and welcome you back. The cute-as-buttons bell hop women will run and get you towels and water after a morning jog around Imperial Park, right outside the hotel's front door. The answer to every request is always "certainly". Hotel rooms merge hi tech conveniences (remote control buttons for everything, outside temperature and humidity indicators, heated toilet seats) with understated Japanese esthetics (rough cypress wood doors, fresh fruit presented on traditional pottery). Our view from the 17th floor room practically allowed us to wave to the Emperor. Similar views from the expansive indoor pool, the top floor bar and restaurant, the Chinese restaurant on the second floor all inspired awe. When you finally decide, reluctantly, that you should leave the hotel and go explore Tokyo, things remain comfortable: there are three subway lines in the basement that will take you most places in central Tokyo within 30 minutes. Or you walk out the front door and find yourself in the shopping Meccas of Ginza and Marunouchi within minutes. Or you hop into a cab and, armed with impeccable directions from the best concierge team you will ever encounter, head to some magical ten seat restaurant you never thought you could get into. You shouldn't have hesitated asking though. The answer you got from the concierge was "certainly".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Dont go there even from far

People are rude
Uneficient
And ask u money for anything free in another place
They speak aérage English
And dont understand at all
Am use to stay in peninsula LA and hkg
Ils nothing compare

They just have a glamour name
And they killing this name every day

Just dont go

Japan is thé best city in thé world
Service is gréât even at market or cheap restaurant

At peninsula
They just dont care about customer and service

Money only it doesnt Work any more like this


Peninsula, do something before closing!!!!!

Room Tip: Good room only in pictures I payd for Thé best package And my room vue facing an office building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have run out of nice things to say about this wonderful hotel. But it struck me walking through the front door last week that maybe the best thing about it is the bell hops, who are amazingly cute and helpful in equal parts.

If we could just get off the Japanese thermos coffee with cold milk at breakfast . . .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Targetsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

There is a reason I have been really looking forward to going back to Tokyo for my 2nd visit, and that reason is the Peninsula Hotel. All I can say is that this hotel gets it all right, no exceptions.

The suite is fantastic, large and very clean. The bedroom has a humidity control, so nice to have, and the only time I have ever seen that feature in a hotel. The bathroom is like a work of art, the marble is custom cut to fit the shower and sink together, the finish work is the best I have ever seen.

Food is also excellent, both in room and at the restaurants. We dined at Peter, the French restaurant on the 24th floor. I did not see too many reviews of this restaurant, so I was a bit worried, but overall, it was excellent and the view is just amazing. The bar is fun, but they do allow smoking. Room service is the way it should be, all the plates are presented on our in-room table, all lined up exactly to face the same way. Quality was very good, if not expensive, which is no surprise.

Anyway, I can't wait to go back again. This hotel not only proves that a stay can be just about perfect, but gives me some hope that I am not alone in my expectations of what a 5-Star experience should really be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bring_earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a twin room and it was a great getaway from the humid streets of Tokyo. Excellent service, you could tell the staff were proud to work there. We received a complimentary upgrade at check-in and the staff were extremely helpful to book restaurants and plan our onward service. The rooms were cozy, well spaced with walking closet and big bathroom. Great spa with swimming pool, gym and a variety of saunas.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,114 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 118 in Minato
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 78 in Chiyoda
1,211 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $523 - $1,445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing